We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kawa Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Kawa Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Liverpool, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I haven't had sushi in awhile and remembered that this place just opened not too long ago, so decided to try it out. Honestly, the location kind of sucks and I hope they are able to overcome that because it's a great place! The setup was nice and I liked the idea of having the two separate bar areas - one was more bar-like while the other was the sushi bar... and then tables lined the sides. The decor was trendy and to my liking for a sushi place. The food was fantastic and reasonably priced as well! My dining partner and I split a few specialty rolls and the chef came and brought one out on the house for us as well, which was a pleasant surprise! The server was very nice as well. The one critique I have is that the music didn't really match the decor - it sounded like classical music, which was a bit odd. It was just us and one other table, so we needed some background noise to liven the place up. Overall, it was great food and I will definitely be back in the future!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

I love kawa! Their sushi is always fresh and delicious. They have a lunch deal where you can get 2 sushi rolls, a salad and soup for 8.50. They also have a lunch box that is really really good. I like the fact that there is something for everyone. People who aren't sushi lovers have something to enjoy as well. The hibachi and the Tariaki are both spectacular.
My husband and I eat here regularly. I brought my parents here for lunch a few days ago. We ordered an aplitizer, my dad ordered scallop hibachi and my mom and I each ordered the sushi lunch. The bill came to 35.00 not bad at all considering the amount of food you get.
Go!!!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firesilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
355 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great Food; Great Service; Very Reasonable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This new restaurant, conveniently located in Hiawatha Plaza next to Aldo's, is a fine addition to the local fare. It is clean, and both the food and service are excellent. Open for lunch or dinner, the setting is simple and quiet - a good venue for a business lunch.

We shared the salmon entree and sashimi appetizer plate, using a Lifestyle Discount coupon. Very tasty! The only downside was the frozen packaged desserts, which we do not recommend..

A great treat and excellent value. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noisefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baldwinsville ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sushi is Delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is the 4th time we dined at KAWA, and each time it has been very enjoyable with fresh sushi, good service, and fair prices. The tuna martini is awesome, and I enjoy the mango on some of their rolls. They recently obtained their liquor license, and had a nice selection of wine. Seating is more private most other sushi places around town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chadandcatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Freshest tuna I've ever had; like melt-in-you-mouth; definitely high quality.

We have to get the Fried Seafood Roll every time. It is the cheapest roll on the menu and yet one of their best; a MUST for every visit. Very filling too; the 6 pcs are deceiving.

The sushi chef is so creative...FANTASTIC presentations!

Cons: It's a very small place
When you order a sushi "special" (usually for two or more), it comes out w. one bowl of soup and one salad. The salad, w. it's ginger dressing is amazing. The soup, and IDK what kind it is, is awful. It's the only thing they need to fix/change here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jncapobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kawa Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing