We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Service and Great Food”
Review of Kawa Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Kawa Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superior Service and Great Food”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Tucked away next to Aldi's in Hiawatha Plaza is not the best location in the world, but they have done a great job standing out with two other restaurants nearby. Now, you have the choice of Japanese, Thai or Italian fare within a few hundred feet. You can park (free parking) and then decide.

From our experience, you will get the best value at Kawa. They serve excellent dinners and sushi - but you will need to quietly bring your own alcoholic beverages, 'cause they don't have their liquor license. That doesn't bother us - in fact it's a great plus!

Eat at the table or the sushi bar - and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Good Sushi”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We went to Kawa shortly after they opened in May 2013. It was so new that you could still smell the scent from the construction that had been done, but nothing too serious. It was early so there was only one other table of people being served. The sushi was excellent. We had a coupon that they were running for their special for just opening so our bill was great. As with any sushi, it can be expensive depending on what and how much you order. Very good though!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
374 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Quiet and Friendly - with Very Good Food”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Ample portions accompanied by friendly service and quiet, nicely appointed surroundings combine to make Kawa a great place for a casual dinner or business lunch. There is a good selection of Sushi available, as well as a complete dinner menu. The chicken was delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noisefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I haven't had sushi in awhile and remembered that this place just opened not too long ago, so decided to try it out. Honestly, the location kind of sucks and I hope they are able to overcome that because it's a great place! The setup was nice and I liked the idea of having the two separate bar areas - one was more bar-like while the other was the sushi bar... and then tables lined the sides. The decor was trendy and to my liking for a sushi place. The food was fantastic and reasonably priced as well! My dining partner and I split a few specialty rolls and the chef came and brought one out on the house for us as well, which was a pleasant surprise! The server was very nice as well. The one critique I have is that the music didn't really match the decor - it sounded like classical music, which was a bit odd. It was just us and one other table, so we needed some background noise to liven the place up. Overall, it was great food and I will definitely be back in the future!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

I love kawa! Their sushi is always fresh and delicious. They have a lunch deal where you can get 2 sushi rolls, a salad and soup for 8.50. They also have a lunch box that is really really good. I like the fact that there is something for everyone. People who aren't sushi lovers have something to enjoy as well. The hibachi and the Tariaki are both spectacular.
My husband and I eat here regularly. I brought my parents here for lunch a few days ago. We ordered an aplitizer, my dad ordered scallop hibachi and my mom and I each ordered the sushi lunch. The bill came to 35.00 not bad at all considering the amount of food you get.
Go!!!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firesilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kawa Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 
Liverpool, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing