We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freshly painted and clean but definitely NOT recommended” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maplewood Suites Extended Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maplewood Suites Extended Stay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Freshly painted and clean but definitely NOT recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Pros: clean and newly painted
Cons:
Lighting was horrible. Had to take the shades of all three lamps to have enough light to read by. No overhead lighting. One switch in bathroom operated everything - overhead light, fan, and mirror lighting.
Bed was ok, but the linens were the old velour blanket with sheets that have been around a long time. Bath towels would be ok for a child, but certainly not for an adult. Pillows were like cement.
Heating/Cooling No matter what it was set on - did its own thing.
Small bathroom where the door practically hit the toilet. Tub didn't drain.
Room was large - looked like it was missing furniture. No chair to sit on other than a desk chair.

Saved the best for last:
At 3 a.m. the fire alarm went off. We stayed outside for 30 min and then the guests were allowed into the lobby. No fire thankfully, but the firefighter said it was just dust in the alarm system. This indicates poor maintenance - something the hotel does have control over. It's not like someone pulled an alarm. When we finally got back to our room our key wouldn't work, nor several others on the floor so we had to go back to the lobby to get new keys. I realize that there was only one poor employee handling the desk but there was absolutely no information given out. When we checked out I would have expected everyone to receive an apology - not a word.

And this is a "boutique" hotel? Give me a break!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    117
    42
    32
    30
See reviews for
257
107
32
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Although Syracuse wasn't our original destination, plans changed and we decided to stay here a couple of nights. We were travelling with our disabled adult son but the accessible room at the Maplewood Inn has only one bed so we took a standard double room. It was plenty roomy enough for a wheelchair although the washroom wasn't really accessible but we managed. Very comfortable room and staff were very accommodating. On-site restaurant was very good and the waiter was exceptionally helpful in suggesting points of interest.

Room Tip: Only Business Class rooms have a fridge and microwave and they normally charge an extra $10 a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gat590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geralyn S, Front Office Manager at Maplewood Suites Extended Stay, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for a great review and rest assured that your suggestion will be forwarded to the right people. Although your original plans was not to stay at The Maplewood Inn, we are glad that you chose our property and enjoy our facility.

We hope that the next time you will be in the Liverpool NY area you will plan to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Geralyn Strail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern, NY
Level Contributor
264 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Staying at the Maplewood Inn was a last minute decision. We had a family medical emergency that brought us to Syracuse and St. Joesph's Medical Center. After debating a long drive home, we decided to stay at Maplewood. It was a good decision. Rooms were clean, modern and very spacious. The staff was very friendly and were great at orienting us to the property. Breakfast in the morning was a nice touch too and pretty good as far as continental breakfasts go. The location was a good one. Easy on and off I-81. We will definitely stay here again. Might even spend the night in Syr during the xmas shopping season!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canela42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geralyn S, Front Office Manager at Maplewood Suites Extended Stay, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Unforttunately what brought you to the area is not so good, we appreciate that you taken time time to review our property and also we are glad that in this difficult situation you had comfortable stay with us.

We hope that we see you back in our hotel, Black Friday is just around the corner. And please ask our Front Desk Agents for great packages that you can choose from Carousel Mall Shopping Package that includes room accommodation, $25 GC and shuttle to and from the hotel. Also we have aBreak Time package that includes accommodation, pizza and soda andif you need a great weekeend a Massage Package is also great.

So we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Geralyn Strail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Good location between mall and university. Decent and comfortable room. The atmosphere isn't the best - not a real "Inn" or "spa" as they sell it - more of a basic Holiday Inn or similar.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mws80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I will definitely choose to stay at the Maplewood Inn again. It is very clean and the beds/pillows are comfortable. There is excellent wireless internet access as well, so bring your laptop (although there IS use of a computer/printer in the main lobby). I stayed here for 6 nights with my mom while in the States for a doctor's appt, and the staff was excellent in finding us a room when our stay was unexpectantly extended. They offered a very good patient rate as well.
The continental breakfast offered a lot of choice (hot/cold cereal, bagels, english muffins, juice, coffee/tea, yogurt, fruit, pastries/muffins and who can forget the delicious ham and egg mcmuffins!
My mom had a massage by Elan and said that it was a great massage and very convenient as it is located right on the second floor.
Choose the Maplewood Inn for your next stay in Syracuse!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 237 which is VERY spacious. Also, if you are there for a doctor's appt, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhoWantsToTakeaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geralyn S, Front Office Manager at Maplewood Suites Extended Stay, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for a great review and we are glad to hear that you and your family had enjoy your stay.

We look forward of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Geralyn Strail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

The hotel holds a very nice restaurant and if you want a massage, there's one on property also! Great prices and packages available. The hotel restaurant, Carnegie Cafe had a great atomisphere and they had a live band playing. The band was great as well as the drinks and food. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 315Cay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geralyn S, Front Office Manager at Maplewood Suites Extended Stay, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thanks for a great review, hope next time you avail out great package suck the Massage Getaway Package, where in you get a great accomodation, a massage either 60 mins for one person or (2) 30 mins massage for 2 people and complimentary breakfast.

We look forward of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Geralyn Strail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were traveling to Niagara Falls and got a late start from CT. We stopped at Ithaca and had a nice dinner, but were getting tired. So I called up my sister and asked her to book us a hotel via Hotwire. We paid about $99.00. We were kind of excited by the name, being the Maplewood Inn. We were expecting something romantic and charming, but basically got a Holiday Inn. There is no view and the huge parking lot is right in front of the hotel--we had an amazing asphalt view! And it is right next to a highway--great if you were a trucker, but not so great if you want a romantic hideaway. But the place appeared to be renovated and was in good condition. The rooms were nice and the continental breakfast exceeded our expectations (we expected donuts and coffee, but they had bagels, microwaveable breakfast sandwiches and more).

I would have given it four stars except for two things. First, at checkout there was a $2.50 charge for the pool and towel use associated with the pool. We never used the pool. And we were assuming that when we booked through Hotwire everything is paid for upfront. (Admittedly, my sister made the reservation, but this seems unreasonable, even though it is a small amount). The other thing is that the staff was not friendly and at times, yes, even rude.

But our stay was comfortable and if the price is right, we would come again.

Room Tip: Hotwire got us a clean and updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WT2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Syracuse/Liverpool
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Syracuse North (Airport Area)
3.2 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
3.4 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maplewood Suites Extended Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplewood Suites Extended Stay

Property: Maplewood Suites Extended Stay
Address: 400 7th North St, Liverpool, NY 13088-6626 (Formerly The Maplewood Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maplewood Suites Extended Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maplewood Suites Extended Stay is by design your home while you are visiting Syracuse. The hotel offers kitchenettes in all guestrooms, complimentary hot breakfast, wireless Internet everywhere, and after a long day you can cool off in the brand new indoor pool. Be sure to check out the state of the art fitness center featuring treadmills, elliptical machines, free weights and more. At the crossroads of the New York State Thruway and Route 81, you are available to escape with ease and travel to the West towards Niagara Falls, or towards the East to New York City. North from this location is Watertown and Fort Drum, while you can travel South to Ithaca and Binghamton. We are just minutes from Syracuse Hancock International Airport, Destiny USA Shopping Center and the New York State Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maplewood Suites Extended Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maplewood Hotel Liverpool
Maplewood Hotel Lily Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing