We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice I've ever made”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My family stayed here for one night on our way home from our vacation. The front desk staff were excellent, more than happy to please and took care of all of my requests. Unfortunately you can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear and no matter how excellent the staff is they cannot do anything about the dated rooms and decor. If you want to stay in a hotel with a bathroom that is half the size of a small walk-in closet then this is the hotel for you. If you want a room with a musty smell then this is the hotel for you. If you want a good night's sleep in a decent size room with a decent size bathroom then stay somewhere else. There is no way that this hotel should be categorized as a 3-star hotel when other hotels at the same star level are that much more superior. At a rate close to $200.00 per night + tax the value is just not there. Our rate did include breakfast, however, the hotel was only prepared to give me a $20.00 credit until I informed them that when I booked on Expedia the rate included a full breakfast and not a partial credit. Fortunately they did not argue and the breakfast was quite good - but once again the restaurant and lounge area is due for a complete makeover. Next time I find myself in the Syracuse area and most hotels are booked I will try to find a better option for my family because this hotel just isn't up to par.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1_Father_of_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah T, Manager at Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

1_Father_of_3

We were sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. We value our guests feedback and always use it to help better our hotel going forward. We do have a competitive rate within our market, if a special event such as the State Fair, or something going on at the University can cause our rates to go up, while in slower seasons our rates do drop.

We were glad to hear that our staff impressed you, and hope that you enjoyed your vacation. Thank you again for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

I thought this was one of the nicest Holiday Inns that I have stayed at. The room was spotless when we got there and was cleaned everyday to a very high standard. Had breakfast most days in the hotel. The continental was very good value with fruit, cereal, yoghurt etc.
All of the staff were very helpful and friendly and even opened the pool up at 7:00 am so that a guest could have her daily swim. The front desk staff helped us with some trip and dining destinations to Finger Lakes. Along with the other reviewers I found the bathroom small but it was fine for the two of us. Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arrondee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah T, Manager at Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

arrondee1

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We loved hearing how much you enjoyed your visit and that our staff made you feel welcome. We strive to give our guests a relaxing and comfortable experience at right from the start. We hope to see you again if you find yourself traveling back in Syracuse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was here on a business meeting and a mini-weekend vacation.I can tell you that the accommodations where up to standards, and the staff was up to par, and attuned to your needs and concerns.I am writing as a traveler and not a representative of the hotel. i had no time to take in the local sights,which I am told where many. The food in the restaurant was very good, as where the servers, I would plan to stay here again, if business takes me here again. Very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pok-around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah T, Manager at Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

pok-around

Thank you so much for letting us know how we are doing, its always amazing to hear from our guests that we are meeting and exceeding expectations. We hope that should you find yourself back in our area you get a chance to enjoy some of the local sites like our Destiny USA Mall, or the nearby Onondaga Lake Park, and if you don't have a care our shuttle would be happy to take you to both locations for free. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here only one night and had a decent enough night's stay with the exception of the bathroom. Someone's hair was all over our tub and sink. It was sincerely a disgusting experience. Clearly no one had wiped down the floor of the bathroom either. Full of hair. Housekeeping knocked at 7:50 AM ....Despite our do not disturb sign. Won't stay here again. It's a glorified conference center with too quick a turnover and clearly not enough supervision of the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah T, Manager at Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Sue Ann M

We are sorry to hear that your experience during your recent stay was not up to par. We take pride in being a clean, comfortable, and relaxing hotel and regret not being able to make this happen. We value your feedback and plan to address this with our staff, anytime you check in to our hotel and encounter a problem please let us know and we will do everything we can to correct it and get you back on track to being in a comfortable environment. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what happened, and hope that you may reconsider and come back and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The bedroom itself was spacious and tastefully decorated. A lounge-chair, desk, bureau, and refrigerator were all in the room. The shower was strong. On the negative side, the internet in the room was weak. The bathroom was small, with the sink, toilet, and shower all in one space. The mattress tufts could be felt through the thin pad, so the bed felt lumpy to me. I wanted to use the ice-machine, but it was not well marked and I had to hunt. Breakfast was not included, while it often is in comparable hotels. I thought the room was overpriced for just an overnight stay (when you are not using pool and other facilities).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah T, Manager at Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Liseuc

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel completely satisfied with every aspect of your stay, Anytime you experience a problem we want to hear about it, its our job to make sure your time spent at our property is relaxing and comfortable. We are available 24/7 to assist you with problems, and if we cant help we will do our best to find an alternative solution for you.

We do understand that many hotels offer a complimentary breakfast, as a full service Holiday Inn we are proud to offer our guest a more intimate relaxing breakfast with a large variety of off menu items, and whenever looking to stay with us inquire about adding breakfast to your room, it costs an extra $10.00 but is good for up to $20.00 spent in our restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the tenth straight year during the big car show at the Fairgrounds. The motel has recently been renovated and upgraded. The folks who work there are more than cordial. Our room was missing a fridge and they placed one ASAP. The tub drain was sluggish and was fixed immediately. Overall, a very pleasant 5 days. We'll be back next year. :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 7JNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah T, Manager at Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

7JNJ

Its great to hear that even though you experienced a few hiccups during your stay our staff was able to correct them quickly and efficiently. We love hearing you continue to enjoy your stays with us, and cant wait to have everyone back again for next years Syracuse Nationals. If you receive an additional survey in your email about your experience with us, we hope you can take a few moments to let us know about all the details and how we are doing. Thank you again for leaving your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were here attending a banquet; seems to be a very busy place right off the highway. Rooms are just as pictured, very typical in size and decor for this class of hotel. Bathrooms as others have noted, are cramped - so much so that the toilet is installed at an angle to allow for the door to swing closed. Bed was comfortable enough, but I believe they place a nice plastic pad under the sheets, which makes the bed feel hot. Oh, and if you want a queen, ask for it. We had 2 full beds and they are pretty small for a couple! AC was probably better than normal (and this is one of my pet peeves in hotels) - a newer machine, and not very loud. Pros: Big parking area, free WiFi, handsome if small lounge area, efficient service, close to Destiny. Also, look at the pillowcases on your bed - they are marked hard and firm; this was a nice touch. Cons: not very attractive indoor pool, not much in the way of perks (ie, no fridge, no free continental breakfast). It was fine for what it was.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bookistan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah T, Manager at Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Bookistan5

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, we value all of our guests feedback both good and bad, and use it to help our property grow to better assist all of our guests. You gave such helpful information about what our hotel has to offer. We hope that if you travel back our way you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
1.2 mi away
Maplewood Suites Extended Stay - Syracuse/Airport
0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Syracuse/Liverpool
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Syracuse/Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse Destiny USA
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Liverpool-Syracuse Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel

Address: 441 Electronics Pkwy, Liverpool, Salina, NY 13088-6001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Salina > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel has completed a beautiful renovation and expansion. We have upgraded all of our event space and public areas with a new and contemporary facade; renovation and expansion of the restaurant and bar, and a complete remodel of all guestrooms. Conveniently located across the street from the NYS Thruway (I-90) toll booth and 5 minutes from I-81 in Syracuse, The Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool is a perfect choice. Need a hotel for a game at Syracuse University's Carrier Dome? Holiday Inn Syracuse Airport Hotel is located minutes from Syracuse University and the Carrier Dome. What a great hotel for a sports team or tournament! Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel boasts 180 two double bedded guestrooms located minutes from the Cicero Twin Ice Rinks, Syracuse Indoor Soccer Center, NYS Fairgrounds, the War Memorial, and the Oncenter. Teams will enjoy our indoor heated pool and bus parking. Want to stay in a hotel near the Syracuse Airport (SYR)? The Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel has a free 24 hour airport shuttle to Syracuse's Hancock International Airport. Going shopping in Syracuse? The Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel has a free shuttle to Carousel Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Syracuse/Liverpool Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing