We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairfield Inn Syracuse, N.Y.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Liverpool
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fairfield Inn Syracuse, N.Y.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Fairfield Inn, in Clay, was a great experience. The whole staff was very friendly, helpful, and a pleasure to deal with, from the GM to the housekeepers. They were extremely accommodating and close to so many places. About 10 min from airport, 15 min from the downtown mall as well as so many places to eat within 2 min from the hotel. Although this is an older hotel the staff and General Manager really make up for it. A wonderful place to stay. I will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: For me the king with a sofa is the best choice. Although that is the only room I have stayed in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole D, Manager at Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the 5 Star review. It is wonderful to receive such positive and encouraging comments from our guests. We strive to give our very best customer service and make sure that all our guests are happy during their time with us and that their expectations are met. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you come back to visit the area.
Have a great day!
Nicole Dodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    39
    34
    17
    4
See reviews for
58
28
5
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stratford
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

A bit pricey for the condition of the place, although clean. Definitely needs updating. No amenities in the room (no fridge or microwave). No gym. Definitely the forgotten step-child of the Marriott chain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole D, Manager at Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your past stay. We value all opinions be it positive or negative. We are glad to hear that you felt we were a clean property. We take great pride in making sure that we offer fresh, clean rooms to our guests. Our apologies that we do not have many of the amenties that other properties do. What we don't have we make up with our excellence in customer service. We strive to make sure all of our guests have a positive experience when staying with us here at the Fairfield Inn Clay/Syracuse.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a great day!
Nicole Dodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is NOT intended for the business traveler, and I would STRONGLY recommend that ALL travelers stay elsewhere.

The double front doors are both heavy and do not open automatically, making it difficult to enter with a laptop and suitcase. After struggling at the entrance, there was no one at the counter to greet me. It was around 4:15 PM, but no one came to help me. I could hear people talking in the back, but it took several minutes and me yelling, "HELLO?" into the back for someone to come and assist me.

Then, they had my name on a light up board near the desk, announcing to everyone that I was staying in the hotel that night. As a woman, traveling alone, I asked that they please do not publicize my name or information. This is not standard Marriott procedure and made me very uncomfortable.

As if the welcome (or lack thereof) wasn't bad enough, the room was disgusting and uncomfortable. The Wifi didn't work well, the TV had limited channels, and worst of all- there was a 1" gap under the door. This allowed EVERY SINGLE SOUND in the hallway to come into the room. When people came up and down the stairs at night, or children ran back and forth to the pool, yelling, it was as if it was right there in the room with me. I did NOT sleep well for work the next day.

Now, if my experience wasn't bad enough, I wrote in to Marriott afterwards to let them know about this experience. As a Platinum Rewards member, I've come to expect more from this company during my frequent stays. Typically, they are more than happy to make up for any problems during a stay.

THE WORST PART IS THEIR RESOLUTION OF THE PROBLEM! Marriott forwarded my email to their manager, the very same one who was hiding in the back when I first arrived! She wrote back and LIED about how they came out to help me right away!! Her letter said that she was in the back office working when I arrived, and since they have monitors that show when a guest has arrived, she came out as soon as she saw me in the monitor. But this simply isn't true! If anyone took the time to actually review the cameras, they would see me looking around the lobby for quite some time before starting to shout into the back where I heard voices. I can't believe the manager would straight out LIE to a customer to make herself look better.

Then, she made up excuses for the front door and the gap under the doors, saying that they have no control over many of the condition issues that I mentioned, because the hotel is 15 years old and was built in this "manor". Obviously, the hotel is built in a bad "MANOR" that isn't accommodating to your guests.

I informed them of problems, and they only make excuses instead of attempting to correct the disappointing situations. If they sincerely took pride in making sure their guests are happy and comfortable, how about updating the "MANOR" of the hotel so that it is like all other Marriotts out there? Automatic doors aren't space-age, they're expected. A worker to check you in and a quiet place to sleep aren't unrealistic expectations, it's what we pay for when booking a hotel room.

AVOID THIS OUTDATED HOTEL WITH RUDE, LYING STAFF! There are plenty of other great ones nearby, save yourself the hassle and get a good night's rest elsewhere.

Green Features: They didn't do anything to be more environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole D, Manager at Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
A note of THANKS for allowing us to serve as your host during your recent visit. Your feed back on our service and property is valuable to us and we do welcome all constructive comments concerning your stay.

Our apologies that you felt your stay was not what you expected. We hope that you will return to allow us the opportunity to make sure that you have a welcoming and pleasant stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here on our way to Rochester. The hotel was nice, clean and the staff was very friendly. Snacks when we arrived... coffee, tea and hot chocolate available all day and night and a decent breakfast in the morning. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole D, Manager at Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your 5 Star rating for your recent stay with us here at Fairfield Inn Clay/Syracuse. We truly appreciate your wonderful comments that you posted. We are pleased to hear that your time with us was a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the future. Have a great day!
Nicole Dodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is not the best Fairfield Inn we've stayed at in terms of room renovations but it was clean and comfortable. The best thing about this property is no doubt the staff, they are so friendly and it reminds you of being at a family member's home! Check in was easy and there was free coffee/tea 24 hours. The breakfast was fresh but it really bothers me that these hotels continue to use Styrofoam and plastics for breakfast. It seems we should know better about taking care of the environment by now. The Marriott brand has a commitment to the environment and everyone knows that these items end up in landfills and their productions harms our water ways and the air we breathe!

Room Tip: This is a quiet area, most of the noise would come from the hallways as the doors are not very sound...
See more room tips
Green Features: Just terrible for Fairfield Inn across this country and other hotels to be using plastic and Styrofoam every day for their breakfast. I think at least a customer could have a choice?
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tirpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole D, Manager at Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your past stay here with us. It is wonderful to hear the positive feedback regarding our staff. They take great pride in their jobs and do their very best to make sure all of our guests feel welcome and at home when staying with us. We hope that you will continue to come stay with us when you are in the Syracuse area. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a great day!
Cordially,
Nicole Dodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at the Fairfield on my way home from Ottawa to Hamilton, on... property was easy to find, very clean and check in staff super friendly and helpful... room as spacious, clean and bed very comfortable... breakfast was excellent... and there was ample space to sit and enjoy it... again staff very accommodating and always clearing dishes and cups non-thinking guests left on the tables... trash containers were clearly marked for all to see and yet some people just could not pick up their plates and dump them.. but staff was right there to make things right... I was able to get a cup of tea late at night... a huge plus... !! I do groups...and am a travel professional...I would not hesitate to send one of my groups to this hotel, or for that matter any of my guests... it does live up to the Marriott brand expectations...something I depend on in my business...we also used the pool...it was nice...too bad it did not have a hot tub...as my husband's aching bones could have used that...but the pool was well maintained, the water a comfortable temperature...another huge bonus...you did not have to "break the ice" to get into the water as you do at some hotels...and the front desk was generous with pool towels...all in all a great stay and welcome extension for a short holiday we were taking before the New Year...!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole D, Manager at Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted for your recent stay with us here at the Fairfield Inn Clay/Syracuse. We take great pride in providing a welcoming & positive stay for our guests. I am pleased to hear that you felt everything was up to your expectations. We enjoy receiving all comments which allow us to utilze them as training tools to better future stays for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again for your future travel needs.
Have a great day!
Nicole Dodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I usually stay at Hilton Group hotels, but the local Hampton Inn was full, so tried the Fairfield. First Marriott I've stayed in, and likely the last, based on this experience. Staff were friendly, but the hotel seemed dated, cramped, lacking some expected comforts, and dirty. It's not as if the price was low - I paid $118. The previous night I'd paid $122 at a nearby Hampton Inn, and paid $116 at a Hilton Garden the following night. There was no comparison! The Fairfield was not good value. Start with the entrance - no automatic door, just a single manual one you have to negotiate with your luggage. Lobby area is tiny. Just one elevator, leading to long delays (especially when housekeeping is using it). Room was musty and carpet stained and dirty. Bathroom supplies were sparse (no moisturizer and single-ply toilet paper!). Breakfast bar was OK, but fewer options than Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bankerboy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole D, Manager at Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
A note of THANKS for allowing us to serve as your host during your recent visit. Your feed back on our service and property is valuable to us and we do welcome all constructive comments concerning your stay. If we can possibly do something better we want to hear about it with the intent to retain your business and recommendations.
We hope that you will return to allow us the opportunity to make sure that you have a welcoming and pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Have a great day.
Nicole Dodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Syracuse Clay
Hampton Inn Syracuse Clay
#2 of 12 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
7.4 mi away
Maplewood Suites Extended Stay
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Liverpool-Syracuse Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Syracuse/Liverpool
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Syracuse/Liverpool
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Syracuse North - Airport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay

Property: Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay
Address: 3979 State Route 31, Liverpool, NY 13090-1311 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Syracuse Liverpool/Clay)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Syracuse Clay Hotel Liverpool
Fairfield Inn Liverpool
Fairfield Liverpool
Liverpool Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing