We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handi-helpers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shamus Restaurant

Shamus Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Lockport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Handi-helpers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We found a very accommodating host in Shamus! Although they weren't wheelchair accessible they were certainly wheelchair friendly; a pair of strapping young lads came out the front and lifted wheelchair with occupant up the steps into the house and the friendly hostess moved the dining furniture around for us.

We had a very tasty and varied selection ala carte (Fish - Petit steak - Cobb salad) luncheon. We will certainly re-visit this Irish themed restaurant

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    37
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Amherst, New York, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Service is always great here. The owner is very accomodating and always checks to see how your dinner was. The menu is extensive and the food is always good. Shamus is a cozy atmosphere inside of a old and charming house. I love eating on the nice outdoor patio in the summer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 746Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, Missouri
Level Contributor
226 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice spot but hardly pure Irish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Good service, friendly atmosphere is stand-alone old brickhomevwithwalls exposed. Food good. Convenient with charming courtyardoutsidedining. Basic American fare-not Irish-priced right.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

One of the best meals I've ever had! I had the salmon with smashed potatoes with peppers and green onions and coleslaw made with fennel, celery and apple. The slaw had a very light, vinegar dressing with tarragon. crunchy, delicious. The day was perfect and we sat outside in the garden patio.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taterqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The duck was fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The decor and atmosphere give it an understated old-fashioned homey feel. I had the Long Island Duck, which was outstanding and better than I've ever had back home on Long Island. The prices were very reasonable for the quality and portions of food. I would definitely recommend if you are looking for a nice relaxing dinner after a day experiencing the Erie Canal or the local wine trail.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UpstateDownstate73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shamus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing