We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Grubby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Locust Valley
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty Grubby”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We needed a place to sleep as we were in the area for an event that had us busy all weekend. We booked this as it was close. It is your typical 1950's era motor lodge - very kitschy. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room....well for our $165+ a night, left a lot to be desired. It has a certain aroma that indicates years of humidity. The beds were so-so. The linens were pretty cheap. Bathroom was redone (thank goodness). Decent stand up shower.

Overall, the place could be priced cheaper for what it is...I probably wont go back as it was pretty tired overall. Great spot however across from beach.

Room Tip: Choose the east side as the west side overlooks the amusement park next door...did I forget to menti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montrealtraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    6
    11
    8
See reviews for
16
5
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a nice motel next to bayville adventure/scream park.
Thumbs up to the front desk!!! I requested (at the last minute) to have 2 separate reservations put next to each other. Not only was that done but he went out of his way to find me rooms with adjoining doors!!! Fantastic!!!!!
I came down in the middle the night to use the microwave with 4 kids in tow and a different man at front desk asked how I was enjoying my stay and if everything was ok. I love that!!!! CONSIDERATION!!!!
A nice motel for the price and location.
Beach across the street and a couple bars in the area for a night cap!!!

I WILL BE BACK!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

By Long Island, NY standards, this motel is in the "flea bag" category. By world standards, this motel is in the basic, no frills, thread bare, seen better days category....if there is such a category. The first room we were given had what appeared to be mold on the ceiling. We requested another room. It was very clean and large. We were two adults and two teenagers but we were not tripping over each other. One light was not working. The bathroom appeared to have been recently tiled in attractive light blue hues. Do not walk barefoot on the bathroom floor. The large tiles are slippery when wet. During the summer, do not try to cut costs by putting four people in one room. The body heat of four people in one room will completely diminish the barely noticeable effects of the air conditioner. The location of this motel is great...it is across the street from two local beaches on the Long Island Sound and it is next to a small amusement park. The Oyster Bay line of the Long Island Railroad is only a 10 minute drive away. That makes New York City accessible by train, although the departures and arrivals in Oyster Bay are sparse.

Room Tip: If you do not like your room, ask for another one. They are very accommodating people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8ful99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Locust Valley hotels

Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The rooms had splatters on every wall, then someone tried to paint the splatters. The beds were gross, too. The sheets must have been 1 thread count... terrible. No mattress pad and the sheets were on inside out. Stayed one night (because we got in late) and left the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Leslie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place but it was impossible. Run down. The only way I would stay here again is if it were the end of time and I had to break in to escape zombies. My greatest hope is for the current owners to sell it to someone who cares about keeping a property nice and wants to provide a nice motel experience. Over priced. Should be a 50 a night place. Maybe.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jphaymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We spent a night here visiting family last month. My husband had stayed here with his family the night before our wedding over 26 years ago! The hotel is located across from Stehli Beach where we enjoyed a brisk winter walk. The room was basic, but clean and came with a refrigerator (did not use, but it looked clean). The bathroom was clean with plenty of warm water and good shower pressure. Soap was provided but no shampoo.

The room did have a musty smell which we could not do anything about as we did not open the windows. The heat goes on with a fan, so the fan is either on or off. The owner was very nice and helped us get the heat going. We were warm with the heat on, but this is not really geared for an off season stay (for example, a comforter would have been welcome rather than a thin bedspread and blanket).

The motel was perfectly quiet - I'm not sure if it is quiet in the summer with the water park next door.

The motel is well-run and good value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fotocoquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The room is simple, but very clean and it provides everything you need. The TV has many canals, bathroom is very clean and big. The shower is firm. There is a perfectly working refrigerator at the room. With the ocean just outside, it is located on a perfect spot.The location is near a water-adventure park for kids, which was of course closed when we were there in November. And above all, the staff is very friendly. We drove around the area and found many little restaurants where we had breakfast or dinner. We will surely go back to this motel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locust Valley
2.8 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
5.1 mi away
East Norwich Inn
East Norwich Inn
#1 of 1 in East Norwich
94 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Roslyn Hotel
The Roslyn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roslyn
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Syosset by Choice Hotels
11.1 mi away
Chalet Inn & Suites
Chalet Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Centerport
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Motor Inn

Property: The Tides Motor Inn
Address: 2 Bayville Ave, Locust Valley, NY 11560-1237
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Locust Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Locust Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Tides Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Motor Hotel Locust Valley
Tides Hotel Locust Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing