We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an escape! Hospitality Plus!”

Seneca Lakeside Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lodi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seneca Lakeside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Lodi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I want to live here!
My wife and I just returned from an extended weekend on Seneca Lake and stayed at the Seneca Lake BnB in Lodi. You couldn't ask for a better hostess and host. They make you feel like family immediatley. The views are stunning the location secluded and the breakfasts were to die for!
Located right in the middle of Seneca wine country was an added bonus for this trip.
We'll be back for sure.
Thanks again to Zeta and her husband

Room Tip: Extremely clean, warm and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbitner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

After driving down a tree-lined dirt road, you come upon the most perfect place to stay in the Finger Lakes--The Seneca Lakeside B & B. It is a beautiful home, perched 40 feet above the lake, with lots of windows and water features at the front entrance. The O’Neil home is immaculate and our bed was comfy. Across the hall was a private bath, where you can store all your personal toiletry items. No other homes are visible from their property. There is a huge deck on the second floor overlooking the lake. Behind the home is a grassy yard with lawn furniture for napping or curling up with a favorite book. There are steps leading down to the private dock, where one can take out their kayaks. The dock is a great place to have cocktails and view a gorgeous sunset.

Barry and Sena are perfect hosts. Barry loves to converse with his guests and is a wealth of information on just about everything. Sena is a great cook and is warm and accommodating.

From what we gathered, touring during the week is a more relaxing atmosphere at the Finger Lakes, no crowds and few cars on the roads. Restaurants in the area open only on certain days, as do the wineries and microbreweries. Two good, near-by restaurants are the Stonecat and Dana’s. Wineries close mostly at 5:00 pm so plan accordingly. If you want more excitement, like listening to loud rock bands and mingling in crowds go on the weekends.

There are great hiking opportunities if you want to get away from all the wine-tasting. Hiking the gorge at Watkins Glen and Taughannock Falls is highly recommended and a short ride from the Seneca Lakeside. For a change of pace, visit Cornel University in Ithaca at the tip of Cayuga Lake. On the way, stop at Kelly’s for lunch to dine on their deck over looking the water and watch kayaks floating along. Thereafter visit Cornel’s Plantation herb gardens and arboretum. If it is before 5:00 PM, go to the 5th floor of the Art Museum for a fantastic view of Ithaca and Cayuga Lake. If you have another day to spend at Ithaca, stroll through the Commons and catch a bite to eat after viewing Ithaca Falls and then take a short drive to Butternut Falls, just south of Ithaca where you can go swimming in a natural pool filled by the falls. Another side trip worth taking is traveling westward over to Keuka Lake, where you will find beautiful countryside and charming quaint towns. BTW, the view atop of Bully Hill Winery is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mats336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Zena and Barry could not be more kind, thoughtful hosts at their lovely lakeside home. From the moment I inquired about the stay, the response was warm, and professional. Zena is a great cook and hostess, with scrumptious breakfasts, catering to individual dietary needs and tastes. She also constantly reminded me to let her take care of things when I tried to help clear the dishes. "This is Your vacation." She and Barry also had a ton of great ideas on restaurants, places to go, things to see, wineries, bike routes, etc. They know just about everybody in the region. Barry is a wealth of knowledge about everything from crops to politics. As this was our first time to the area, it was great to be able to learn from them.


The place is secluded down a 1 mile dirt road- would definitely recommend arriving in the daylight. The rooms have a great view and are decorated in a country style. Attractive, pleasant, not luxurious. The private bathrooms, while modern and large, were not en suite. The one upstairs room has no other rooms nearby, but the two downstairs rooms were adjacent, so one needs to wear a robe to go from bedroom to bathroom. The towels were plush, and the shower was very nice.

We especially enjoyed borrowing the kayaks and hanging out on the dock.

We will plan on returning again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyJPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We've been going to Finger Lakes with friends for the past 10 years, and for the past three have stayed at the Seneca Lakeside B&B. We look forward to this trip every year thanks to our very special hosts, Barry and Zeta, who make us feel like we are coming home to visit family, rather than just staying in a B&B.

The beautiful, tranquil setting takes a backseat only to Zeta's breakfasts! The B&B is spacious, beautifully appointed, and has every amenity a traveller could ever want.

We look forward to many more years of our October long weekend in the Finger Lakes at the Seneca Lakeside B&B!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_and_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend while attending a friend's wedding, and two mutual friends also spent the weekend. The whole O'Neill family was very kind and welcoming, the rooms were very comfortable, and the view was almost as astounding as the homemade breakfasts! An extremely nice place to stay, and at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latimer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We recently returned from a long weekend tour of beautiful Senca Lake and the numerous vineyards and wineries that dot its shores. Perhaps one of the most memorable parts of our weekend was Seneca Lakeside Bed and Breakfast, situated near Lodi. Arriving at the B & B is very much like being transported to another world. Rich and lush foliage line the roadside as you wind your way to Barry and Zeta's gorgeous contemporary home overlooking the lake. The home itself is beautiful. Rich woods and ample windows provide a bird's eye view of the lake. There are plenty of open spaces for curling up to read, play a game, or just relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. We enjoyed the dock where, aside from one rainy night, we were able to watch the sun set. Although we were pressed for time (many wineries to see!) and did not get a chance to utilize them, there were kayacks available for use to explore the lake. Barry and Zeta make excellent hosts--warm, conversational, and welcoming. We enjoyed getting a chance to chat with both as they were able to offer insight into some excellent dining spots, wineries, and places of interest. Breaksfasts were hearty, casual, and delicious--just perfect for a day of exploring. We highly recommend Seneca Lakeside as a perfect get-away. Add in some vino and you have the recipe for a delightful escape. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbmickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

It was our first trip to the Finger Lakes. Before leaving home, my wife and I tried to make reservations for six nights in another B&B in the area but they were fully booked and recommended we check with the nearby Seneca Lakeside Bed and Breakfast. Wow, were we ever so delighted. I don’t know when we have had a more outstanding referral. The Seneca Lakeside Bed and Breakfast is fantastic. Innkeepers Zeta and Barry O’Neill operate the bed and breakfast with such warmth and passion that you feel like you are staying with best friends. The rooms are spacious and immaculate with private bathrooms and very comfortable beds. And the breakfasts were just fabulous. We stayed six nights and had a different delicious freshly cooked breakfast each morning consisting of assorted hot entrees, fruit juices, fresh fruit, meat, potatoes, breads, pastries, and coffees to include delightful conversation with both the innkeepers and other guests. The B&B is in a fabulous location amidst many wineries (even a microbrewery), excellent restaurants and beautiful vistas of Lake Seneca. It’s also a great location for making day trips. Their deck with its view of the lake is a great place to unwind in late afternoon before dinner with wine, cheese and assorted olives. Zeta and Barry even have a private dock and beach in which to kick back or take a dip if so inclined. We travel throughout America and Europe and stay in B&Bs, agritourismos, and local native-run inns wherever available. The Seneca Lakeside Bed and Breakfast ranks right up at the top with the best of them. I would be remiss If I didn't finalize this review by telling you what a previous guest wrote in the Seneca Lakeside B&B guestbook. They wrote: “Please adopt me!” That sums it up perfectly.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWithZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Seneca Lakeside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Lakeside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9048 Barbara Dr, Lodi, NY 14860-9677
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Lodi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lodi
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing