We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, charming B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Lodi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful, charming B & B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a beautiful charming property in the heart of the Finger lakes wine region!
With views of the lake at sunset this place is hard to beat. Our room was loving maintained and the bed was one of those older tall beds.
The owner James was so helpful with recommendations and reservations at wineries and restaurants and a driver for the first day (so we could drink without worrying about driving!). James is also a very good cook! Our breakfast each morning was lovely.
In terms of location - it was walking distance to Dano's, a delicious German-inspired restaurant. We had a lovely meal the first night and returned the second night to pick up some home-made dips and antipasto to take back to eat on the deck of the B&B as the sun set over the lake. The Stoncat, nearby, was a great option for lunch! A perfect place for a wedding anniversary. Thanks James!

Dano’s (2 minutes away)

Room Tip: We stayed in Stela Suite - it was just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndakinkade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    22
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
162
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A small group of us booked this wonderful B&B for our annual get-together. Our rooms were very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The breakfasts were superbly prepared, with generous portions. The Inn is located close to several local wineries and restaurants. The view of Lake Seneca from their deck or their dining room is beautiful. We noticed that there are several large common rooms on the main floor, and a large changing room (quite suitable for a wedding party) upstairs. The service was warm and attentive. Quite an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewAdventurer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our recent two night stay at the Fox and Grapes was our first B&B experience. We weren't sure what to expect, but we wanted to spend a couple of days doing winery tours and figured the Fox and Grapes was ideally situated for that. We were warmly greeted by Lisa when we arrived, and she was very helpful in recommending several options for our evening meal, and also had some great information about the local wineries. The bed was very comfortable, and the room spotless. In the morning we were greeted by Blanche, a great cook and an absolutely remarkable person, and the other charming young couple who were staying the weekend as well. We left stuffed and had a great day touring wineries, even stopping at Taughannock Falls for a nostalgic visit (we had camped there back in the summer of '05). Blanche made sure that Sunday morning's breakfast was even better than Saturday's, and it was made extra special by being able to watch our Canadian hockey team win the Olympic gold medal. Because of prior commitments, and with not a little regret, we left for our home near Hamilton, Ontario right after breakfast. We'll be back-if only for several more of Blanche's fantastic breakfasts!

Peter & Cathy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I am going to say a lot of nice things about the Fox & Grapes B & B, such that you might wonder why not a five star rating. It's all a matter of room choice (i.e. mattress), because everything else about the place was wonderful. Our room, the Watson, was nicely appointed and clean; but the mattress was a little less than pleasant. Other mattresses in the B & B suggest a better level of comfort is to be had (e.g. the king in the Ophelia actually was tried for future possibilities, and I suspect the same could be said for the Thaddeus, as it also has a king brass bed with mattress). Now that I have dispensed with my objection, I will turn to the reasons why people come back to this place and first timers enjoy it. First of all, I cannot complain about the overall deal. Being a supporter of a central NY public classical FM station, I found that my membership included all kinds of deals for restaurants, lodgings, entertainments, & museums. The Fox & Grapes was in for this year. They were already on reduced rates for January, and the deal included the second night free. Given the general airiness of the B & B and some nice antiquities, you would have to be a condescending fool not to appreciate the appointments and value the rooms represent. Opulent no, nice yes! The help staff is two, an outgoing "Friday" with general chores and Blanche, a great cook whose knowledge about food, particularly her recipes for people with allergies and intestinal disorders that are just fine for people who do not have these problems. I can see a scenario where a condiment-addicted foodie might call some of her cooking under-seasoned (for these people I recommend an adroit use of the hand and wrist with salt and pepper shakers). Her Saturday breakfast featured a delicious corn bread with her own home-grown raspberries, frozen fruit from her garden that tasted better than what passes for fresh today and is unsprayed (Jim: I hope you read what I just wrote). The quiche main course for Saturday breakfast was great. Sunday was an unusual and deliciously satisfying take on french toast. Overall, portions were decent, and I cannot imagine any person walking away from the table with an under-exercised stomach, this from a man with a pretty hefty appetite. On Saturday morning, we woke up to about 5-6 inches of snow. Our house gal, without being asked, went out with broom to knock the snow off all the vehicles of the guests. Nice! With its central location just south of Lodi, it is minutes away from decent wineries like Lamoreaux and Red Newt and a cutoff road that takes you over to the west side of Cayuga Lake. With a better mattress, I would have rated it 5 stars. I think that other rooms have them, so we would want to return here, if only to upgrade the rating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

While the house and bedroom were all very nice the Breakfast portion left much to be desired.

We stayed for two nights and both mornings we had to ask for items during breakfast such as butter for the one piece of toast we were given, salt and pepper, and even juice. The breakfast it's self was not worth $5.00 in my opinion.

The first morning we had a very small bowl of Blueberry's and Strawberrys, one piece of Quiche, a piece of toast, along with juice and coffee. While eating breakfast the staff fixed their own breakfast of scambled eggs, bacon and toast and proceed to eat their breakfast in front of us. 1. Where was our bacon? 2. Why where they eating their breakfast along with the guests?

The second morning we had the same small bowl of Blueberry's and Strawberrys, Baked Stuffed French Toast, along with juice and coffee. There were muffins brought in for us but only 8 muffins for 10 people so my wife and I had to share a muffin while those that were there early were able to have a whole muffine each.

A week later I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express at a much cheaper rate and the breakfast they served consisted of banana's, apple's, 3 different muffins, bagels, toast, pancakes, waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits with sausage gravy, cereal, milk, juice, coffee and much more. While this was not prepared by a "chef" it was all very good and we had many more options to choose from.

We have stayed at many other Bed and Breakfast's and their breakfast's were 100 times better than what we received at The Fox & Grapes.

I would not recommend staying here simply due to the very poor breakfast received.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinwsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkasie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at The Fox and the Grapes B&B for our Deck the Halls Wine tour! The rooms were large, comfortable, and spotless! The great room with the roaring fireplace was perfect for a cold winter night. Beautiful views of the lake. Our breakfast was lovely, and we even took home some new recipes. We will only stay here the next time we go on a wine tour!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzylovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife Lisa and I stayed at the FOX AND THE GRAPES the weekend before Thanksgiving. It was our second trip there. We had the best time. We actually got to know the other guests while we were there and spent the evenings watching movies with the "strangers." It turned out to be one of the best weekends we have ever had. I have already contacted everyone staying at the house with us and we are planning to all come again next winter and hopefully rent the entire house for the murder mystery weekend. The Bed and Breakfast was the perfect weekend with great food and the perfect atmosphere. Thank you so much for another great weekend and we are looking forward to our next stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lodi
21.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
12.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
5.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
3.8 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9496 State Route 414, Lodi, NY 14860-9638
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Lodi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lodi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fox and Grapes,where 1885 Victorian charm combines with Lake Country Cottage. We provide an adults only atmosphere, an amazing view of Seneca Lake, warm hospitality and good things to eat. Minutes from wineries and restaurants like Silver Thread Vineyards and Wagner's, Dano's, Suzanne's and the Stonecat Cafe. 1/2 Hour to Ithaca, 15 minutes to Watkins Glen and 1/2 hour from Geneva. Whether you want a romantic get-a-away or a place to simply "get away", the Fox and Grapes is the perfect place to begin and end your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And The Grapes Bed & Breakfast
The Fox & The Grapes Hotel Lodi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing