We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it Best Hotel in Long Beach!”
Review of Allegria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allegria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Awesome hotel! Felt like I was in South Beach! Loved the rooftop pool and the and the service they provide with the cabana boys on the beach. The best bartenders and wait staff ever! Danielle was my favorite! They do everthing possible to make your stay comfortable and the Manager even charged my blackberry for me when I forgot my charger! I LOVE THIS PLACE!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank cclove11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

959 - 965 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

For a second summer in a row we stayed at the hotel and were not able to enjoy the simple amenity of a room with a working air conditioning. On Friday the temperature (w/ heat index) hit 113°F and only found some sort of “relief” with 3 fans inside the room. Not kidding! The staff and the service are acceptable but they have to fix the AC problem at once. Bad service, bad reputation. You’re paying top cash not to be able to enjoy the comfort of your room. The restaurant staff basically was able to accommodate my dietary restriction due to my chronic illness and, I appreciated that very much. However, they’re understaffed and thus the service is at times slow. The area beach is great and you can really enjoy it as it was right in your backyard.

It irked me that after 4 calls and the engineer coming to the room to fix the AC we were no able to have one, only one night out of our 4 nights-stay sleeping in a comfortable cool room. The AC will be fixed to go down (again) in a matter of an hour. They should wake up and spend money to replace the whole AC system. …. Wishful thinking will not help their reputation.

Room Tip: When making the reservation, do ask/request for ocean view. It’s very enjoyable to open the curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRBDEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I can't begin to tell you how unprofessional the "children" that they have running the hotel were, how the food was so so, room cleaned shodilly, lied about having my male companion having to have a sports jacket for dinner and when we showed up, people wearing shorts. no air conditioning although hot and muggy outside, and when went to breakfast, windows closed and was told too breezy and there was not even a wish of a breeze outside.Consierge failed to send reservation to restaurant. No face clothes or hand towels in room, and when room cleaned, ice bucket not emptied, dirty glasses not removed. Breakfast served stale challah bread and when requested fresh bread, was told that it had been bought the day before.This hotel was over rated all the way, and will never return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank jcd0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Spent one evening here this past weekend, meant to be a relaxing night out of the city. Somehow these guys managed to make even a weekend at the beach a stressful event. Room was fine, actually pretty nice. But that's about where it ends.

I've stayed at plenty of bad hotels over the years, and have experienced my fair share of poor service, but this place takes the cake. They managed to get just about everything wrong, and really seemed quite unconcerned about it. In fact, I overheard a manager telling someone that if they had a good stay they should write about it on TripAdvisor, because people are constantly writing bad things about them there. Perhaps instead of asking people to write good reviews, they should just focus on the content of the bad ones and try improving.

Prime example: after a very poor experience at the restaurant on Saturday night - very mediocre yet overpriced food and an embarrassingly inattentive staff - my wife and I decided to leave an order on our door for breakfast room-service the following morning. When we woke up, about a half hour after the time we requested the food delivery, I checked the room door to find our door-tag menu had never even been collected. After four (4!) calls to the front desk, I was finally put in touch with someone in the restaurant who said "oh, sorry". I asked to speak with the restaurant manager, who explained that a lot of room service tags were missed the night before, and asked if I would still like to order breakfast. These people just don't get it, and I suspect that after being in business this long they never will.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mikeybe717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hotel is beautiful but has several huge flaws-the biggest one being that the poor sound isolation coupled with the noise level makes it impossible to get a good night's sleep. We had requested a quiet room since we're traveling w a 2 year old. We were given a room on the 3rd floor which turned out to be directly above the bar and close to the elevators. The room was vibrating with sound-we requested to be moved. The only room they could offer was a downgrade to a smaller room w/o beach view. We needed sleep so we took it. At midnight the guests next door got home-loud and drunk, and started a party. Doors slamming, people shouting. Security was up 3 times before it got quieter. There were several big parties of young people that shared one room and partied all night during the weekend. We live in Manhattan and have a high tolerance for noise-but this was unbearable.
Another issue is that the pool area and pool are very small. Almost 1/2 the area is reserved for cabanas that cost $100 per day. The weekend we were there all the cabanas were empty, while guests were turned away bcs there were no available chairs by the pool. It's an odd choice for a "high end" hotel to try to make a few hundred dollars extra thru these cabana rentals while failing to provide an important service for their guests.
The food at the restaurant is good-but service is slow and the hostesses are a grim bunch. Waiters are friendly but it's understaffed so basic services like salt, bread and water refills are tough to get. Not a good thing when you're paying $18 for an appetizer and $36 for an entree. We saw a family waiting for breakfast for 45 minutes.
The rooms are very well designed-bathrooms are great and beds are comfortable.
I would not bother paying extra for the "beach view"-it overlooks a parking lot and is right next to the elevators which makes the noise level even worse. The ocean view rooms are a better choice if you're willing to pay the upcharge. We had previously stayed in the ocean front suite (#702) and loved it-the room was spacious, lovely and QUIET since it was the last room in the corner.
Overall the place is very understaffed and they struggle to provide basic services that are expected when you're paying $500/night. It's clear that the staff gets lots of complains and is worn down. All 3 people checking out next to us complained about noise and other issues.
I really wished this hotel was better-we've been looking for a beach get away from the city and were hoping this would be it.

Room Tip: best: suite 702. worse: anything close to elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mnt10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Very nice hotel...rooms are not huge but very adequate and comfortable. Bathrooms are a bit small but ok.
Staff are very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband, 1 year old daughter and I planned to spend a day over July Fourth weekend and had called multiple times to arrange lounges by the pool. We were told just to arrive early and it would be fine. We called and tweeted multiple times just to make sure. We did and then were then turned away and told the hotel was full. We drove all the way from Brooklyn. We have emailed multiple times to find out what happened and haven't gotten any responses. We are so disappointed.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
5  Thank greenie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Long Beach
145 reviews
9.8 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#1 of 4 in Garden City
630 reviews
20.4 mi away
OHEKA CASTLE Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Rockville Centre
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton R...
#1 of 4 in Rockville Centre
612 reviews
14.4 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
5 mi away
Rockville Centre Inn
Rockville Centre Inn
#3 of 4 in Rockville Centre
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegria Hotel

Address: 80 W Broadway, Long Beach, NY 11561-4036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range: £139 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegria Hotel is Long Island's Only Luxury Oceanfront Hotel where the Hampton's meets Manhattan. Slumber in elegance in our 143 rooms and suites and discover impeccable accommodations with personalized service. Dine at our the Atlantica Restaurant and indulge in gourmet cuisine or experience the L'onda Lounge and enjoy a cocktail while over looking the Atlantic Ocean. There is always plenty to do, whether talking a stroll on the iconic long beach boardwalk or surfing with skudin surf; there is always fun under the sun. The Allegria Hotel also features a variety of chic event spaces perfect for meetings, private events or the wedding of your dreams. Experience first hand the Allegria Lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Allegria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegria Hotel Long Beach, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing