We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience ”
Review of Allegria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Allegria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience ”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Rude and clueless staff, loud hallways, bad room set ups, and things in the room don't work. You might as well sleep on the beach --you'll save lots of money. This is a hotel to be avoided. Even after they say they understand the problem and will address it they don't

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank cstohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    190
    128
    143
    202
See reviews for
250
333
46
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for our 5 year anniversary. We were looking so forward to our stay at this top notch hotel, that we heard amazing reviews about. Let me first say, yes it is beautiful inside and very modern. Everything went pretty smooth until we realized our air conditioner in our room on the 6th floor was broken and we were sweating. the door opens to the outdoors, but with NO screen, so u cant keep it open for too long because of bugs. We decided we wanted room service, so we called the in room dining phone number about 5 times with no answer. so we tried the front desk phone number which took about 3 times calling them, before they answered. the woman at the front desk took our order. an hour later, no room service yet? we call the front desk back and once again they dont answer until about our tenth time calling. the man says "oh we were trying to call you because we only have one order of the chicken tenders you wanted, we cant give u two orders of them, do you want something else instead? so your order is partially ready". First of all they did NOT try calling us, because we were sitting in our room next to the phone, the entire time! and your gonna tell me now ( an hour after i placed the order) that you dont even have what i ordered?! we tell him no just bring the one order because we are starving..well the order showed up over an hour after we originally placed it and it wasnt even RIGHT! this was ridiculous and not supposed to happen at a hotel like this!! weve been to foreign countries and have ordered room service, that came in half the time this did and never had to call the front desk more than once before they answered. we are very very displeased with the Alegria's customer service and we will NOT be returning. I bet we would have better customer service if we stayed at the holiday inn!!! Alegria is way too overrated...not to mention the hot, sticky room and the flies in the lights above the shower!! dont get sucked into staying at this "classy, beautiful, OVERPRICED hotel (for the sevice you get) !!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DyandNick38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

Roosevelt, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I wrote Nasser an email that apparently he has chosen to ignore. In it, we documented some of the disappointing things that happened with many of our guests' rooms during our son’s wedding. Our in-laws had no air conditioning after changing rooms three times, as well as with our son's room had no hot water on his wedding night, and an overflowing toilet and tub. In addition, we experienced such inept service at the dinner- so much so that your own restaurant manager apologized and told us that your staff did not deliver. That was an understatement!!!!!!

Despite our best of intentions, the hotel still fell very short. There was not a time when we were in the elevator that people- ours and other parties and individuals- were not complaining about their rooms, air conditioning not working, toilets overflowing, water constantly running, and the overall poor service that was being experienced.... it was not a pleasant surrounding for us or our guests.

Clearly, the hotel has serious engineering problems that are not being properly addressed.

Another disheartening part is that the staff members themselves know that the hotel is not up to par. It must be difficult for them to have to sell it on false pretenses. So many of the staff are nice, young people but they have to take the brunt of all of the complaints. It felt as if there was "no one there" in senior management for the weekend who could and did handle and resolve these things well.

In fact, when we came back at 2:30 am, there were multiple people hanging out of rooms on the top floors, yelling obscenities- and your people were clueless inside. We, among others, had them call security to find out that there were drugs and other issues in this room, where noise went on well into the wee hours of the morning.

How could we relax when this all was going on - and to think that we had many guests who, along with us, spent almost $20,000 this weekend-for such a horrible experience!

As a business person, I have traveled the world to stay in both high level hotels and smaller places, but we have never encountered the false arrogance and insensitivity to a customer such as what we have felt at the Allegria.

It is one of our "hometown" hotels, and we wanted to see the Allegria succeed. In order to do so, many more changes need to take place, and even then, with the nonchalant attitude portrayed by Nasser and other staff members, it is hard to believe that things will ever become better.

We are really sorry to have to let you know how utterly disgusted and disappointed we were with the overall Allegria experience. As one of our close friends said to us upon checking out Sunday morning, this is a "fake hotel" - they have the veneer and no substance inside -just like a Hollywood set.

The integrity and the business principles of the staff was compromised with the hotel's inability to deliver, and we can honestly not recommend your hotel to our many other friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Magdy_Rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allegria H, Manager at Allegria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We would like to apologize for the upsetting experience you encountered when staying at our hotel recently. The Allegria Hotel always welcomes and takes guest feedback seriously and strives to respond to every guest and address their comments to provide superior customer service. Unfortunately we were unaware of this e-mail, however if you would kindly provide us with your contact information, it would be our pleasure to reach out to you and discuss how we may be at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Our company recently held a business meeting at this property and it was the perfect venue for that session. While the hotel has full services, it did not have the distractions that a resort hotel would have available and forced our group to concentrate on the reason for the meetings. Hotel staff were cordial, bell men always ready to greet you at the front door. Restaurants and catering was handled well, evening cocktail reception was well appointed with variety of appetizers of all types. While some in our group were not fans of the buffet dinner on one evening, the sit down dinner in the restaurant the 2nd night was well handled and food good.
The rooms are very European, minimalist but comfortable, although the pillows were not. Would be nice to have a choice of down or alternate to what is provided, however I did not inquire. There could be a little better attention to housekeeping, as my TV didn't work (perhaps checking the batteries periodically would avoid this), and my toilet didn't refill properly without some adjustments. Overall a good location on the Long Beach Boardwalk and was a good choice for the business meeting venue.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

me and my daughter spent mothers day here and it was very nice. There was a large bridal party there and that was overwhelming. The evalators are very slow so we spent a lot of time waiting on it. The door man was more like security and looked us over each time we came in. We order delivery one night and the delivery lady (an older asian lady) was made to feel really bad. The room service is way over priced. After ordering a $18 dollar burger I got a big glob of ground beef which was burned on the outside and red on the inside...yuck( I ordered well done not cow d----) I called frontdesk and they took it off our bill but i went hungery that night. The rooftop pool was closed and the bar upstairs was closed for the wedding party. the gift shop was closed but had a nice wedding dress in the window. all in all the hotel was nice and the beach was great. Make sure you know if you getting a beach view because our room was facing other rooms and I could see directly in to several rooms. I closed our drapes. This hotel is more for couples or for weddings. The best thing was I was with my daughter so it didnt matter. Forgot to say we were on the 6th floor and the walls are paper thin....I heard people partying and yelling in the halls all night.

Room Tip: ask for a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angel05240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I come to this hotel at least once a month. I love the hotel. It is on the boardwalk and the rooms are very nice and modern. The staff are amazing. But my best staff is Max our shuttle driver. He drives our crew back and forth from the hotel to jfk with such a great personality and a super smile that keeps on going since we first met him a year ago he never gets tired from us or our heavy luggage and he is always nice providing us with wifi and a super safe ride. He is the best driver and is very committed to his job thanks Max for all that you have done for us its very appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasmenmandella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

i was a guest at the allegria hotel last month, a very beautiful well designed establishment. But behind the doors was what you could've imagined. The general manager walks around like money is his main concern he didnt bother to greet anyone nor extend his hospitality, security was a joke although there wAS this one part5icular young lady i meet in the lobby a security guard she greeted and had this very inviting aura about her. Long but short story your not paying hard earned money for a great memorable experience better yet ur paying for any team member in managment to even look your way, from the cater manager single handly disreguarding you only worry about if his event is running smoothly, head of security team very impersonal and rude never agina i'd take my business next way to hilton where the service is imcomparable i joppe this message gets across to many viewers who are considering this venue i was here visiting from jersey to attend a wedding.although i know once this is posted they'll disreguard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allegria H, Manager at Allegria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I would like to apologize for your recent experience at The Allegria Hotel. It has always been my main concern to provide each guest with service that is second to none and it is clear that you did not receive the standard of excellence The Allegria Hotel continuously strives for.

I was truly disappointed when I heard that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I apologize for the staff not meeting your expectations. Please know that we will try harder to ensure that our staff provides flawless service to our guests in the future. I invite you to kindly provide us with your contact information as it would be our pleasure to further discuss how we may be at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Long Beach
133 reviews
9.8 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
518 reviews
14.4 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Rockville Centre
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton R...
#1 of 4 in Rockville Centre
517 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Mill River Manor
Best Western Mill River Manor
#2 of 4 in Rockville Centre
583 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ramada Rockville Centre
Ramada Rockville Centre
#4 of 4 in Rockville Centre
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegria Hotel

Property: Allegria Hotel
Address: 80 W Broadway, Long Beach, NY 11561-4036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegria Hotel is Long Island's Only Luxury Oceanfront Hotel where the Hampton's meets Manhattan. Slumber in elegance in our 143 rooms and suites and discover impeccable accommodations with personalized service. Dine at our the Atlantica Restaurant and indulge in gourmet cuisine or experience the L'onda Lounge and enjoy a cocktail while over looking the Atlantic Ocean. There is always plenty to do, whether talking a stroll on the iconic long beach boardwalk or surfing with skudin surf; there is always fun under the sun. The Allegria Hotel also features a variety of chic event spaces perfect for meetings, private events or the wedding of your dreams. Experience first hand the Allegria Lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Allegria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegria Hotel Long Beach, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing