We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of Sorrento's

Sorrento's
Ranked #3 of 122 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

The service was great. The pizza was perfect and the Salad was absolutely fantastic. Only down side was I could not tip on a credit card. Odd. Great atmosphere They also had meat, bread and a Deli. The sandwiches looked great as well. Will let you know next week. I plan to go a couple times.

Helpful?
Thank Jcook66775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lido Beach, New York
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Stronger That The Storm”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This restaurant was highly damaged in Superstorm Sandy of October 29, 2012 but it is finally back after nearly a year, and serving up its historically terrific foods, with a few added items. The owner, Anthony, shared with us 6 diners that he had to pay for nearly all of the repairs (several feet of water) with much of his own savings, neglecting repairs to his own home. The new look is clean, bright, inviting, and with added items for purchase, in addition to its restaurant offerings. The huge, 2' long, brick-oven fired, thin crust pizza is "decorated" just enough with grilled vegetables so as not to detract from the cheese and great crustiness. The salad (one main type is made and it is worth the solo act!) is piled high on a sharing plate and chock-filled with mushrooms, sweet red peppers, tomatoes, olives, fresh mozzarella and several types of greens. The butcher side of the space, manned by Anthony's father who calls everyone "Beautiful", has wonderfully prepared and stuffed meats; there is also a fresh Italian bread section, boxed pastas, and a variety of fresh cheeses and deli products. As before, bring your own "fermented grapes", as it were; Anthony will gladly supply you with a corkscrew and wine glasses. Linger awhile, appreciate the amazing love and effort that has gone into this previously-flooded dining establishment, and, linger long enough, and Anthony will bring you free cappuccino, Italian cookies, and, during apple-picking season, fresh-picked apples with a small slice of hard cheese to complement the fruit. Yum!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clubess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Is The Pizza Made of Gold?”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Went to Sorrento's this afternoon for pizza. Was told it would take 20 minutes. Fine. We sat outside and drank some ice tea. One hour later, we still did not have our pizza. I asked the people at the counter what was happening. They told me our pizza was in line. In line? They expected it to be about another 45 minutes. Excuse me, but almost two hours for a pizza? No way. I paid for the iced tea and left. Is this the way to retain customers, especially a first-timer?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tiny place, huge meal!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A friend recommended Sorrento's and bragged it had the "best pizza ever!" We had to see for ourselves. Be warned, Sorrento's is tiny! No more than a store front on Park Avenue in Long Beach, we almost passed it. The day we went, there were tables outside and they were cooking sausage, pepper and onion kebobs on a grill for the beach town patrons. We headed inside for the pizza. The place is tiny and cannot accommodate more than maybe 25 people at tables, but this does not dampen the spirit or quell the appetites of the people who often wait a full hour for one pie.

Being unsure, we ordered a small pie ($11.99) and a calzone with ham ($8.99). What we didn't know was that the small pie literally fills the brick oven, wooden pizza paddle in a perfect rectangle. It's just like the pizza in Italy. The pizza maker (a nice guy from Brazil, believe it or not)delivers the paddle to your table and you eat off of it.

The pizza crust is thin and tastes amazing! The brick oven aroma lingers over the delicious sauce, fresh (yes, fresh) mozzarella and sprigs of fresh basil. Amazing! The pizza is cut in 8 square pieces. We got half plain (for me!) and 1/2 with meatball crumbles and onion. From the first bite to the last, you will think you are in pizza heaven. The pizza maker is meticulous and pays such beautiful attention to detail and quality - they are not concerned about volume here as the oven can only fit one pizza at a time. Each pizza is treated as a special order and it tastes like it!

The calzone was the same, maybe a little thicker crust, folded over fresh ricotta and mozzarella and baked to the goldest of browns. It was too much food for us, but they happily boxed the calzone and my husband ate half the next day for lunch and loved it!

The couple next to us shared a salad that looked fantastic. It was piled high with greens and had fresh mozzarella, mushrooms, tomatoes, olives, etc. and a light vinagrette. We will def order that next time.

Drinks are self-serve out of a standard deli refrigerator and the selection is nothing memorable - the usual sodas and ice teas. When you stand on line to place your order, you are in front of a counter full of fresh baked treats, - Italian style. They had pignoli cookies, tri-color cookies, napoleans, tiramisu, etc. Sorrento's also houses an Italian deli with lots of imported items and an old-fashioned butcher shop.

I so wanted to give Sorrento's a rating of "Excellent," but because the eating area is so small, I just can't. We will go to Sorrento's again - often - but I think we will do take out. Please note: as we were leaving (we got there early - about 3:30 on a Sunday) a gentleman was ordering a pie to take out. He was told there was a two hour wait. He said he was happy to wait!!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to Sorrento's - it's definitely worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karenlyn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“PIZZA IS BETTER THAN ITALY...almost”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

When I eat a pizza at Sorrento's, I feel like I am back in Italy. The quality is top notch and very atypical for an American pizza place. I highly recommend the pizza with olives and proscuitto. The only reason there are not five stars is that it is a bit disconcerting to get a table and sit down and get served there. However, it is worth every bit of discomfort getting settled and certainly worth the wait!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrento's also viewed

Long Beach, Long Island
Long Beach, Long Island
 
Long Beach, Long Island
Long Beach, Long Island
 

Been to Sorrento's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing