We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oy, such a sandwich”
Review of Lido Kosher Deli

Lido Kosher Deli
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oy, such a sandwich”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a "real" Kosher deli with a beach near by. Consistently some of the best pastrami I've ever had. Not fancy, but portions are a nice size and the pickles and slaw are great. Great chopped liver! If you want fancy or hip this is not the place for you............but if you want ot eat

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bkazeburk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    40
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just like your bubala used to make”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This kosher deli was recommended by friends who enjoy a crisp pickle and mustard on their potato knish. But I'm a Brooklyn "girl" and one of the other diner's parents grew up on the lower East side. The chicken matzoh ball soup lacked salt and the matzoh ball was heavy! The stuffed cabbage was dense (you decide if that's how you like it!) and served luke-warm. The "piled-high" deli sandwiches were indeed too big for one meal but they could easily be shared (without extra charge) or the left-over taken home. But on the sandwich of pastrami, corned beef, and tongue, the beef tongue was cold while the other two meats were hot. Still, with the added cole slaw, it was yummy. And the franks had all the right amount of snap!
So, the food was average but you could easily give the place an extra star for atmosphere and the deli case is a wonder for the "yiddisher" eye!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KCB5122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“On a scale of 1-10...its an 11!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I get the pastrami and tounge every time. Its the real deal. Huge sandwich. Love it. For the sole person who rated them a 1...who orders eggs at a jewish deli??? Thats like ordering tofu at Peter Lugers. Get a clue. Go back to Alabama. For those who appreciate the greatness of an authentic Jewish deli...you will love this no frills awesome spot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFB1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Soup, salad and sandwich is the way to go!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Second time better than first. I had written a review of Lido Deli that was very negative after having a terrible cooked dinner. I returned begrudgingly since a friend had a craving for pickles. Well it turns out that salads and sandwiches are excellent!! BUT I still do not recommend cooked food.

The coleslaw at the table was not too creamy, the pickles were great and the waiter attentive. My friend was extremely pleased with her chicken salad. Another person in our group ordered a sandwich with luncheon meat. The sandwich was delicious and so overstuffed that half was brought home for lunch the following day. I had a nice veggie soup with a pleasant house salad. Excellent lunch.

Although I would never order a cooked dinner again, lunch is a safe bet.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank treking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

when someone from out of town comes to us we must go to the lido deli. when we travel to friends we must bring the lido deli to them

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdsoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lido Kosher Deli also viewed

Long Beach, Long Island
Long Beach, Long Island
 
Long Beach, Long Island
 
Long Beach, Long Island
Long Beach, Long Island
 

Been to Lido Kosher Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing