We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were not lucky to find much !”

Socrates Sculpture Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Bronx, Queens and Brooklyn Bus Tour with Lunch Upgrade
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can admire the changing exhibits, or the spectacular view of Manhattan in this park.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
168 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Were not lucky to find much !”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This park is for creativity and particularly for outdoor art! We visited on Aug. 14 and were bit unlucky to find nothing at the time. Yet were compensated with some river side views!

The park can have really interesting art but one needs to find about the activity calender and things happening in the park!

In all a good concept !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank vipul61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    22
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Somewhat Off The Beaten Track...”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

...but I'd suggest that you head out to Astoria, Queens. It is a 15 minute walk from the subway station. The large park is on the edge of the water and admission is free. Each summer (from what I understand) artists are given fellowships to create outdoor art. They change with every season so you have to do some research as to what is on offer.

It may not be everyone's cup of tea, but I like the concert. Give an artist some money. Set them free in a park to create an installation simply for your pleasure and mine. I suspect that few cities other than New York could make this sort of concept work.

Added bonus: you're only one block from the Noguchi Museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Canadatom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you like abstract art, go”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you like abstract art then you will like the Socrates Sculpture Park. This park was created on an old land fill and I think has used the space available nicely. The park rotates a few different artists and exhibits a few times a year. Depending on the rotation you might really like or not like the exhibits. I find most of them interesting but there are a few I do not understand. Added benefit of the park is that you are along the water and you have a view of Manhattan. If you have some free time and like art then go, if not I do not think it is a major landmark to see when visiting NYC.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Desperate for free?”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

If you really need to waste an hour and not spend a penny, check it out, but don't expect to use a bathroom. The porta-potties are completing intolerable and I'm a camper. Some of the art is cool but the place is not maintained. Not impressed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JadaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“outdoor art and beauty when you need it”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

socrates sculpture park is one of the hidden jewels of Astoria, I have been going there for about 20 years. always inspiring, beautiful and unexpected. they have changed throughout the years adding events, movie screenings, children's events, yoga even.... love the dogs..... and the fishermen too that you may find under the shade fishing in the river. i miss the amazing tea cup sculpture that used to be in the river. as the tide went up and down you would see the tea cups emerge or become hidden. i loved it. you can relax, get some sun in the summer or build snowmen in the winter. love it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank erika w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Socrates Sculpture Park also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to Socrates Sculpture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing