We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got the smallest room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Got the smallest room”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Nice and clean rooms. The stuff was very nice and you have a nice view to manhattan. Our room was VERY small (I know NYC has small rooms in general, but I know, that there exist bigger ones). But that was ok for us, because we were there for just one night. Breakfast can be taken there but is definately not necessary. The price for such a close hotel to Manhattan is worth and cheap. So thumbs up, even if I wished to get a little bigger room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy2W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Tommy,

Thank you for your recent review. I know we have rooms that are smaller in size but they have fantastic views which makes up for the space. Next time you stay with us we will certainly find something more suitable. We appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest and being very close to Manhattan is a thumbs up because you don't have to pay Manhattan Prices.

Travel Safely and again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    360
    78
    33
    20
See reviews for
215
295
78
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed at the HI Long Island City for 5 nights to celebrate my partners birthday in New York. The whole experience staying at the hotel was first class, great service, great people and great ambassadors for IHG. We were fortunate to be given an upgrade to a suite with amazing views over the city. The rooms were immaculately cleaned every day, light, bright and airy. The Brazilian BBQ buffet in the evenings was great value and would recommend a nice bottle of Malbec to wash it down. The hotel is very close to the subway station making it very convenient to commute in and out of Manhattan. If we ever return to NYC then without a doubt stay their again. Well done to all the hotel team!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for being such a great guest! I cannot wait to share this my team. The expression "Hidden Gem" doesn't get old with us. I'm delighted that you and your partner had a memorable experience! Rio Grande Restaurant is the great place for value and fare. We cannot be happier that you found our property.....

Travel Safely..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were staying in the area and used the Holiday Inn's restaurant facilities twice-the property was clean,staff were friendly,professional and helpful-the food(and drink) were especially good-we definitely received value for what we paid-very pleasant in every way-most enjoyable

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for using the facilities and glad to hear you had a nice experience at Rio Grande Restaurant. You said it, VALUE. All I can say is you never will leave hungry. Please visit us soon!

Thank you for stopping by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley View, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel as one of the choices listed to stay for a wedding. The room (KING) was wonderful, the Brazilian restaurant was great with live music. The staff was excellent- answered our questions regarding getting to Times Square via subway, and also for catching a a cab to the Brooklyn Bridge. which both were within a couple blocks walking distance. The hotel was very close to the wedding venue. Breakfast buffet was good, and also the front desk staff let us leave our suitcases at the hotel while we did some sightseeing before a evening flight home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReginaGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Regina,

Thank you for being our guest! I see you found the property and services idea for your trip to NYC. I will certainly pass on your feedback to our staff and Restaurant. The team here works very hard to ensure everyone has a wonderful experience. We hope to see you back next time.

All the best and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn L.I. City hotel for a wedding over Labor Day. It's a good value hotel with easy access to Midtown Manhattan via the N Q R subway at Queensboro Plaza. Our room was impeccably clean, and the bathroom was small but very nice. The staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful.

A couple complaints:

1. It was a very warm weekend and our A/C would turn off even when we were present in the room. This meant that it got up to 78°F overnight, which is too hot for me. An "engineer" is required to come to your room and disable this feature—the front desk can't help you. Coincidentally, the engineer was not on duty that night.

I appreciate the effort to "go green," but this is not the way to do it! It really compromised sleep quality. A guest should be able to easily and intuitively set the thermostat to a comfortable temp and have it remain there.

2. The pillows are small squares. I prefer a normal sized pillow.

I would probably opt to stay in a Manhattan hotel for a normal visit, but this is an option well worth considering for value and cleanliness in Queens.

Room Tip: In summer months, make sure you request that the energy saver on the A/C be disabled. If you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and concerns regarding your stay with us last week. I do apologize for the comfort of the A/C and thank you for alerting viewers to request a setting change when they stay with us. We are trying to be more energy conscious. This is a very good TIP for travelers and offering this information at check in time will save time.

I do apologize about pillow size, the Holiday Inn Standard of Pillow is changing in the coming year which will be more like a standard size set. We have additional pillows upon request though our service department, I apologize again.

We appreciate the opportunity once again and please note, we are still the best option for value and convenience when coming to NYC. If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at rbianchi@himanview.com.

We do hope you enjoyed the wedding!

Many Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my 11 year old daughter in June,I just want to say THANK YOU! for great service and excellent acommodations. The room was clean and quiet, the staff was polite and helpful. This hotel is conveniently located 2 short blocks from the subway station line N-Q.
They have king and 2 double beds rooms and a business center. Exceptional customer service, good quality. I will definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Tammy,

THANK YOU! for being our guest and for your thoughtful feedback! We are delighted your stay with your daughter was comfortable and convenient. We certainly hope to see you next time. Travel Safely!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
289 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel as i was visiting the US open. The hotel is in a developing area of Queens. Easy to walk to several subway lines and very safe. The staff were super helpful.i would definitely stay here again

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JaneMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Top Contributor and Wonderful Guest,

Thank you for visiting us! The US Open is a great time of year and hopefully you'll be back when the put a roof over the stadium in the future. The area is safe and the available outlets via the train lines are many. Bloomingdales is (how should I say from previous guest review)"a stone throw away". I will certainly let the superb staff know as well about your kind comments. See you next year...

Travel Safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#5 of 31 in Long Island City
590 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,090 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 468 in New York City
9,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#199 of 468 in New York City
695 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Property: Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Address: 3905 29th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View New York/Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing