We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value for money”
Reviewed 12 January 2010

I have to start by stating the obvious that some other travellers seem to have missed - This is a budget hotel. A budget hotel with probably the easiest links into Manhattan - New York City. It is a lot cheaper than staying in the city itself and does exactly what it says on the tin.
It is not a high class hotel, it is a cheaper alternative. However, my experience was as follows.
Hotel Reception Staff were very helpful and polite and got us checked straight into our rooms even though we arrived at 12pm noon.
Room was on the smaller side but clean and fairly modern. Bathroom was very spacious and maybe a bit bigger than it needed to be!
Like other reviewees, we also had problems with the heating, it seems the thermostat didn't work so you either had the heating on or off! It has to be said though, even with the heating off the room held temperatures of 70-72 which I think is perfect so it wasn't a problem for us.
Subway is just down the street, a two minute walk. Not much around the hotel though as it is in the middle of a residential area. There is however a Deli and a grocery store within walking distance from the hotel.
We ate in the hotel on the first night and was very impressed with the price, service and quality of food, actually alot better than we though it would be!
Check out is 12pm instead of 11am which gives you that little bit extra time on your final morning.
All in all, for the money it is very good. If you want the Ritz, then stay in Manhattan and pay 50% more, if you want value for money with easy travel to Manhattan, you can't go far wrong with this hotel.
And by the way, if you have never been to New York, you will absolutely LOVE IT!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addictedtofood82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    357
    78
    33
    20
See reviews for
214
294
77
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed here for 8 nights over Christmas and it was perfect. Great location, the subway is a 2 minute walk away and it takes 15 minutes to get to Times Square. The room was big, very modern, clean and had a huge super comfortable bed and a massive TV. We had no problem with the heat we just switched it off at night. We ate in the restaurant once and the steaks were perefctly cooked and the waiter was very friendly and helpful. We also ordered breakfast in bed once and again this was really good.

If you are looking for a modern comfortable hotel and don't mind a short subway journey to get into town then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Booked through Priceline- package deal with airfare. Very good price for the package, but we were given a very small room with no view, of course. This would have been ok since we did not spend any time in the room other than to sleep, however, the cleanliness of the room was questionable. When we checked in, there was a long, dark hair on the sheet next to the pillow, and there were 2 small dark stains on the fitted sheet near the pillow. It appeared that it may have been blood stains that did not wash out. They were about the size of pencil erasers. There were signs of mildew on the shower caulk, and the air vent was very dusty if you looked up in it. I found this disappointing for a new hotel. When we checked in and entered our room, it was 90 degrees when we walked in. I turned the heat off before we went left for the day, and then back on before bed. I set it to 68 degrees, however, I woke up hot in the middle of the night, and the room was 84 degrees. I actully had to crack the window in the middle of a snow storm in order to make the room comfortable.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and answered any questions we asked. The hotel was very convenient to the subway.

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
Thank MelissaG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

My company has a corporate discount, so they tend to put their employees up at this property. It is not bad for the price, the room I was large and well appointed. They were having problems with the heat when I was there, I just turned it off. The service in the restaurant was very attentive.

It is an OK place to if you have a reason to stay at a Holiday Inn. I have also stayed at the Verve, and feel it is a better value with the plentiful parking and free breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChitownMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

i travel frequently for work and all i can say is be careful of this bargain. the furniture was all beaten up and the room temperature at night went up to 82 degrees, the only help the hotel staff would offer is to open the window. its the middle of the winter and that brings the temperature in the room down to the low 60's. and with the window open you hear trains running all night. i will never stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgia0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Excellent stay.

Rooms are immaculate. Double size walk in shower. Superb comfy bed. Huge flat screen tv with 40+ stations. 2 minute walk to subway. 15 minutes ride to times square.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Pauline_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l.a. ca
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2009

If your looking for the steal of the holidays and you are a person who likes to experience a bit of the local sites, this is it. Save on your room stay and enjoy the extra cash on your trip. You don't even spend much time in the hotel. If you are in the room more than just for sleep then you are wasting the oppertunity to fully experience NYC. The staff is kind and very helpful, you can ask them for info and they will take the time to situate you. If you can get the rooms with the city view, we were on the 11th floor and it was great to be outside the city and actually "see" the city of Manhattan. The rooms are spacious,clean and modern. Beds are very comfortable, especially after all the walking you will do. Don't be worried to show up before check-in time, they will accomadate you tag your bags and let you be on your way and return later to check in. The R/W train is one block away and its cycling almost every 5-8 minutes into Manhattan and it only takes about 10-15 min. to get to Rockafeller center. If you are looking for good homely cooking and cheap price try the little deli/cafe that is at the corner right before you go up the stairs to the subway TRY IT GO IN!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vallesc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#5 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,987 reviews
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Property: Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Address: 3905 29th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View New York/Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing