We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Cheaper than Manhattan for a short subway ride!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Long Island City
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We arrived in at Newark airport and took the train/subway to 39th Avenue subway station which can be accessed from the N or Q lines. This took about an hour. The process is easy to navigate if you are familiar with the London train and tube network. The subway takes about 12 minutes from 39th Avenue. Another option is to go from Queensboro Plaza where you can the 7 train (not sure if quicker to Times Square?).

We arrived before check-in time but the friendly girl on reception said this was fine. The room was great. The view of the Manhattan skyline was spectacular. Two very comfy double beds with loads of pillows. Ideal for crashing out on after a busy day exploring this fantastic city. The free wi-fi was super fast although sometimes it didn't work when we came back late at night. The room got cleaned everyday (new sheets and towels) and this was done to a high standard.

The area was quiet but I never felt in danger at any time. If you are worried then you take a taxi from Manhattan which will costly roughly $15. On the walk to 39th Av. station there is a useful grocery store and a diner (didn't visit this).

The breakfast situation isn't ideal but wasn't a major problem. If you went between the hours of 8-10 then it will be busy and it will be difficult to get a table. Most mornings we took a tray from our room and took the breakfast back to the room with us.

Generally a great hotel if you are looking for a cheaper option which isn't too far from the main attractions.

Room Tip: We were in room 605! Anything high up facing Manhattan will give you a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Anna450
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I visited this hotel June of 2012. I actually flew into New Jersey and caught the train here. The property is close to a subway station. I'd say no longer than a 10 minute walk. Not a lot as far as restaurants and stores around, but the subway station was just a couple stations away from Manhattan and Times Square. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, no complaints there. The room furniture was up to date and they also have flat screen tv's, a microwave, and small fridge. I was very pleased overall. I also saved a ton of money staying here instead of Downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msj302010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Room was adequate . Clean, refrig, coffee pot . Free breakfast was all you needed. Coffe, eggs, sausage (weekends) bagels rolls toast juice milk 3 cereals. Easy walk to subway . Very quiet. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Not a luxury hotel but we stayed for 5 nites comfortable and safe and were less then 1/2 hour from every tourist site in New York City . We will stay here again next time we come

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffkoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Hemos escogido este hotel principalmente por el precio, muchisimo mas barato que en Manhattan y con lo básico para una estancia confortable. El hotel está a menos de 10 minutos del metro, que te pone en otros 10 minutos en el centro (Times Square). El desayuno siempre va incluido (es de cortesía), la cama cómoda y grande. La habitación limpia y suficientemente grande como para no agobiarte.
Es verdad que los recepcionistas no te sonríen, pero son serviciales y te ayudan. El sistema de calefacción en la habitación estaba muy alto y si lo bajabas hacia mucho ruido. Hasta pasados varios días no le pillé el truco.
El sitio de desayuno es pequeño, pero si no tienes sitio (algo que evitas si desayunas antes de las 9) puedes optar por esperar 5 minutos, ya que la gente desayuna rápido, o bien subirte el desayuno a tu habitación.
En general, muy satisfechos con la relación calidad-precio. De hecho, estaba lleno de alemanes, y eso significa algo! ;)

We chose this hotel mainly for the price, much cheaper than Manhattan ones, and with the basic things to make your stay comfortable. It is less than 10 min walking from the subway, that drives you to the centre (Times Square) in other 10 min. Breakfast is always included (complimentary), beds are big and comfy enough, and the room is big enough sonas not to make you feel oppressed.
It is true that people in reception don't smile a lot, but they were quite helpful when needed. The heating was too high and when I tried to get it down the conditioner made a horrible noise. I could manage it after a few days.
Breakfast is in the lobby and there is no much room on it (just 4 tables), but if you don't have any place to sit, you can opt to wait for 5 min (people don't stay for long) or bring breakfast to your room. Anyway, you can avoid this problem by coming for breakfast before 9.
In general, we are quite satisfied by the quality-price relation. Actually, it was full of Germans, what must mean something. ;)
A suggestion: nobody seems to use the fitness room, you could transform it into a dining room for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Luis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My wife and I booked into Ramada Long Island City for a couple nights before our flight back home to Australia. I was mortified to see the size of the room considering it was ADA compliant. I could barely get my wheelchair to the bed, had one near miss and nearly ended up on the floor. Again... another ADA bathroom which had a shower over bath tub.. still don't get that!!! Staff werent so friendly as we would expect. We asked them to book us a wheelchair taxi, they had no idea how to do so.. so we had to transfer me and the wheelchair into one of their contracted private cabs. Next time we are in New York, will spend a little bit more and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you need a wheelchair accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Tashna M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#27 of 33 in Long Island City
1,848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#19 of 33 in Long Island City
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#14 of 33 in Long Island City
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Four Points by Sheraton Long Isl...
#22 of 33 in Long Island City
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Long Island City

Address: 3830 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range: £83 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing