We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Really Surpised Me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Long Island City
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This Really Surpised Me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

This hotel is what I would consider a "Diamond in the Rough"

I was very pleasantly surprised with all aspects of it. It's new, clean, had wonderful rooms, and a very helpful staff.

I read what others said about the location. A colleague of mine, lived there years ago and gave me first hand knowledge of the area. Basically, it's an older working class, and light industrial area. With that said, the area does show it's age. I found it to be perfectly safe, and didn't have any problems walking around the area.

The front desk staff was wonderful. They were always more than helpful in assisting me and answering my questions. The hotel is equipped with free wi-fi which is wonderful. There is a computer in the lobby for hotel guests.

The breakfast is nice, but basic. The area in which it is served is tiny. Always more people than area for them to eat. Many people just took what they could up to their rooms.

I must say I was blown away when I stepped into my room. The room was new, clean, and immaculate. The bathroom was equally amazing. The bathroom was done in marble and granite.

Now, the room was SMALL!!! I was traveling with a friend and we had a room with 2 beds. Everything in the room was modern and up to date. All the appliances worked well. The room wasn't tiny, but it was rather small.

The hotel is a short walk from the Queensboro Plaza subway station. It's a short ride into Manhattan.

From La Guardia airport, grab a taxi, it costs around $12-14. When checking out of the hotel, and asking the front desk personnel to call a cab for you. DO NOT LET THEM CALL YOU A LIMOUSINE SERVICE!!!! This was the only thing that I looked at negatively. I went to the front desk and asked them to call a cab for me. I knew the cost back to LGA would be around $12-14. The gentleman behind the counter called for me, then tells me that the cost would be $25.
I said "NO!!" "Why is the cost so high? and that it only costs $12 to get from the airport to the hotel." The guy behind the counter said that it wasn't "NYC Yellow Taxi". It was a Limo company. I just gave him a blank look & said.........."Call me a Yellow Taxi!!"

I booked the room through the Ramada website. Got an excellent rate, and took advantage of the 20% discount. All in all, from booking the room online to my checking out. It was a very pleasant experience. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acsfoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    375
    284
    95
    81
See reviews for
238
357
81
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

Our room was in 8th floor, clean, with nice view to Manhattan (building is 10 floors high so it is much higher then all other buildings around). Check-in and out without any problems, nice and quick. There is no restaurant in the hotel, you have to go few blocks to get some food from store, more blocks to find some restaurant. Room equipment is new, TV with plenty of channels for free, no paid hotel mode. Wi-fi is free, uncrypted, so not only notebooks but any palm devices works there without any problems.

Breakfast is served from 6 am which is good for early appointments/sightseeing in Manhattan, which is just few stations away by subway. Quality of breakfast is lower then in comparable hotels in Europe, as there is no restaurant and food is delivered from outside, you have to choose from variety of bagels, donuts, toast bread, butter, jam, and some cereals. You can drink cofee, tea, hot chocolate, and two tastes of juice. There are only 4 tables (16 seats) in the lobby where breakfast is served, which comparing to some 80 rooms seems to me not enough (however sunday at 6:15 and monday at about 7:30 was OK).

It is in proximity (5-7 blocks) of several subway lines, F going to both Manhattan and express to Union Turnpike/Kew Gardens, from where Q10 bus is going to JFK, so you can reach JFK by public transport under 1 hour.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

I am new in tripadvisor and this is my first review.
I think I had a good time in this hotel and I hope to come back soon.
Thanks a lot

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joemug66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

This hotel is new and rooms were clean but very small for 4 people!
Located about 10 minutes walk to Queenboro Plaza STN and very easy access to Times Square.
Most of the staff were very helpful and provided good service bar one lady employee who was very rude when we first arrived!
Breakfast was very basic and could do with improving and bringing a bit more variety. Continental breaskfast doesn't have to be bread and bananas everyday! They should try rotating the cereals, juices and other items. The toaster did not work very well so you had ques piling up in the breaskfast room/ waiting room/ reception area!!

Overall i would recommend as a good clean basic hotel but I would perhaps try somewhere else before returning here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightLights00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed for 9 days, great room, we were 8th floor manhattan view. Nice breakfast (on the room) with view on entire manhattan. We stayed at simular hotel around the corner last year, so knew what to expect from the neighbourhood. This was best value. Nice place to rest and have a break from the busy Manhattan! Only 10 minute walk to subways F, V, R, N, W & 7.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW JERSEY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

the hotel was very nice the staff members were very helpful the rooms were very nice the breakfast is wonderful the best hotel to live in if u ever come to nyc live at the ramada

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMOSES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my 7 years old son , hotel is new , normal Ramada service , clean rooms , helpful staff .
Manhattan can be reached with a short subway ride , Queensboro Plaza station is only five minutes from the hotel .
You can also walk to Manhattan over the Queensboro bridge , it takes about 40 minutes (easy walking) from the hotel .
We arrived at La Guardia airport and took a cab to the hotel , to our great surprise the fare was only 13 $ !!
On the way back we left from JFK airport so wee took the subway from the Queens Plaza subway station (10 minutes walk) to the Airtran station in Jamaica .
The neighbourhood is not very good it's partly residential and partly industrial , there is just a couple of deli shops , but we felt quite safe in the area also at night .
For the price we payd (about 70$) it was really good value !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlessioG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#23 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#20 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hotel
Super 8 Long Island City LGA Hot...
#27 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Long Island City

Property: Ramada Long Island City
Address: 3830 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing