We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but will consider other options next time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We chose this hotel because of its cheap rate and close proximity to Manhattan. We booked a two queen bed room and when we checked in found out that these rooms do not have a view of Manhattan. Apparently only some one bedded rooms have views, so be careful when making your booking if you want a view of the skyline. The hotel is not as new as some of the other hotels in the vicinity. While our room was mostly clean, we did find all sorts of hair on the mattress protector upon close inspection. Not very good first impression! Towels are very rough. Not enough vanity space in the bathroom. Wifi and breakfast included. Breakfast was typical hotel chain food. Breakfast area was filthy with only one of the two pancake machines working properly. Hotel was noticeably very hot too. They must have switched on the general heating at full blast. We had to open our room windows and that was not enough to cool the room so we switched on the air-conditioner......all this in winter.
The hotel is very close to La Guardia. We took a bus from La Guardia to Astoria Ditmars metro station and then hop on the metro to Queensboro Plaza metro station. Walk one and a half block to the hotel. If you have lots of luggages or heavy bags, then you might find entering and exiting this station hard because of a couple of flights of stairs. This station will get you into Manhattan in no time and at night the walk back to the hotel is a bit dark and quiet but we felt quite safe. The best thing is the petrol station right next to the hotel which is great for picking up water, milk or all sorts of snacks.
This hotel is great for location and price only but not sure if we will stay again or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luv2trav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,822)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is such a steal...I really don't understand why anyone would stay in Manhattan. 5 minutes to the Subway, 4 short hops later and your in midtown. A room with a city view is extremely cheap. The beds were insanely comfortable in my opinion. I never felt unsafe walking back to the hotel from the subway even though we got back around 2 am some nights. The breakfast was the standard hot breakfast but awesome to save more money. We got to the hotel at like 10:30 and got to check in on the spot. It was just awesome...we'll be staying in Long Island City again on our next visit. The money saved got us another broadway show!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Geissap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed 1 night for a wedding downtown. Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the subway station and 10 minutes commute. Be warned, there are only 7 free parking spots for the property. Pullout futon was a PLUS. Very good customer service at the reception desk. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Very Limited parking space. No free shuttle to LGA Free continental breakfast included
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FatherofIssac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I have stayed here many times now and indeed it has become my go-to place to stay when in New York solo, which is pretty often in my case. The main attractions are pricing and location. There are a whole slew of new hotels in this area and this is consistently among the cheapest. I regularly pay less than $100 a night which is a great deal in NYC. Then the location... very close and easy walk to Queensboro Plaza subway which is one stop into Manhattan. Also Crescent St leads right onto the Queensboro bridge into the city. You can walk into Manhattan easily too over the bridge. Next door to a 24 hour gas station to pick up essentials and makes getting a cab easy!

The rooms themselves are OK, nothing special but guess to be expected. Towels are pretty rough and ready, decor is same as any Country Inn & Suites so not very inspiring or modern. But beds are clean and comfy and you get a decent flat screen TV. One thing I find bizarre is there is no safe in any of the rooms.

Popped my head into breakfast once and it looked pretty grim so skipped it.

But overall if you are looking for a place to sleep that is clean, comfortable, cheap and with easy access to Manhattan then this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms face the city with great views
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolinaToTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Booked this hotel solely on price. Turns out, the location is ideal for zipping into Manhattan by cab, since the street the hotel is on, leads to a ramp to the Queensboro bridge. Zero waiting for cabs! Subway is also within a short walk.

The hotel itself was ok. Cheap construction, hollow metal doors, noisy. Sandpaper towels. Pluses? Beds were comfortable and sheets were clean. Microwave and mini-fridge in room, and a 24 hour gas station with every conceivable thing right next door! No kidding! They had some of the best baklava I've ever had. In a gas station!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank termnalvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I had a great experience in this Hotel, my last vacations in 2011. The rooms were provided with a coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave and big enough size for a vacations trip. Comfortable and clean Queen beds and a free breakfast until 10:00 a.m. with wafles, yogourt, fruits and bagels. Really close to a subway station, to reach Times Square in 15 minutes.

I would not recommend the gas station next to the Hotel, beacause it wasn't very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed in the Country Inn again this December. First 2 nights in a king room, with a bed big enough to fit 3 people....later, I was joined by a friend and we shared a one bedroom suite, which was quite comfortable.
The sofa bed was good enough for me. I took the matrass off and put it on the floor for one night, but there was a big difference between the half that has been used as a couch to the part that is the back rest. Also, the matrass was pretty heavy and difficult to lift. So I ended up simply sleeping on the couch and slept well most nights.

At one point our toilet was blocked (my travel mate, not me ^_^).
we couldn't resolve the problem ourself, so phoned the desk and someone came by within 10 minutes to fis it.

Subway connection to Manhattan is super, breakfast was adequate, staff not overly friendly but did anwer to our greetings.

all in all, another satisfying stay...my friend has already booked the hotel for her next trip in March. I would not hesitate to commend this as a modest but adequate hotel. No frills, but affordable within easy reach of all the action.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the first floor....right next to the breakfast room...would not recommend...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#29 of 33 in Long Island City
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#8 of 33 in Long Island City
1,732 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 33 in Long Island City
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Address: 4034 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range: £69 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing