We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed for 6 days in March 2014. Hotel is very close to Subway and Manhattan. The King Suite room was clean and spacious. Breakfast includes eggs, sausage, waffle maker, bagels, donuts...The price you pay is much lesser than in Manhattan. We would book it again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianneG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed stay. Our city view room (811) was very spacious and clean. Good facilities in the room, a fridge microwave and coffee maker. Although we had our own itinerary when we did need to speak to staff they were very friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff were also very nice and friendly.

Although there is no "secure" luggage storage when checking out earlier in the day, we left ours all day with no problems at all.

Can't comment on the breakfast as we ate out whilst on our trips.

The hotel location although it seems a bit run down was perfectly safe and was in a fantastic position for several subway stops. Gas station next door was useful for snacks & drinks. (Although don't expect any sort of customer service here!).

Overall a brilliant stay and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary_993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed for one night in March. We previously stayed at this hotel because it is located near the subway and very close to Manhattan and Astoria, where we have relatives.
The service is OK, but try not to get situated on the first floor, especially near the breakfast room. As we were there only 1 night, it was not a big issue, but there is considerable noise from about 5 am on. Also, try to get positioned at the back side of the hotel to avoid street noise. The breakfast was adequate, but never enough places to sit for the crowd that accumulates. It seems to be a favored hotel for foreign visitors and that is quite nice.
The price and location are the big plus factors!

Room Tip: do not get on first floor and back rooms away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trevelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great location, five minutes walk to three subway stations. Lots of nice eateries around, as well as a laundromat and pharmacy. The hotel is ok but there are a few issues. We were on the seventh floor right next to their laundry which went 24/7, and we had the cleaners yelling at eachother up and down the hall outside our room throughout the day, which was really annoying! We had Stained sheets and smelly stained towels on occassion. The cleaning could be A LOT better. We actually had our toilet block up and over flow on our last night, so I asked if they could come mop the floor. They used towels and didnt mop, I had to ask again and they still didnt mop. Needs work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sh7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a 'desi' hotel owned, managed and run by desis for those who know what is a desi. And this reflects all around in the service and attitude. For some strange reason, desis do not smile, are not warm, do not open up and not very service oriented. So, you will get a lukewarm welcome at the front desk, half hearted responses to your questions, unhelpful attitude and less than perfect cleanliness.

My room was relatively very spacious. I believe I got upgraded, but no one told me this. Bathroom too was a very good size. However it overlooked a taxi dump with some street noise filtering in. Each time someone used the toilet up or down the line, there was a smoke alarm kind of a siren blaring from the bathroom, specially starting early in the morning. If you are trying to get over your jetlag, you are out of luck as I was.

You are also out of luck with the pathetic breakfast dished out here. As you enter the dining area you are welcomed by a huge garbage pail staring at you. Very soon you realize this is for all the uneaten, inedible food and all the Styrofoam that will be thrown out by everyone. There is no one to help you or clean, so you have to do it all yourself, including helping yourself to colored waters laden with sugar that is supposed to be juice! The only redeeming factor was the fine Maxwell House coffee. Everything else was worse than industrial quality food.

There is no safe box in the rooms, and very few in the front desk. I could not get one. There is no storage for luggage. I wanted to leave a bag for a return visit, and was point blank told either leave it in the lobby unattended and unsafe, or take it with you.

On the plus side, the location is not bad. The immediate area is a bit gruffy and the closest subway (2 blocks away) is dirty, filthy and crowded, but you can be in Manhattan in 10 mins. And you would pay less than half for a comparable hotel in Manhattan.

A better option is the fresh and new Holiday Inn a couple of blocks away. No desis there!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Location... good
Service...Staff Defiantly lacked hospitality.
Cleanliness ....hair all over the floors. Mold in the shower. the bathroom smelled of cigarette smoke (for being a non-smoking room). The bath towels, stunk and had gobs of hair on them. The sheets on the one bed had dried blood on them. The curtains were broke and didn't shut tight. And there were dried white stains on the walls.
My husband took one bite of the breakfast in the morning and spit it back out.
Would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone... Defiantly won't be returning our selves!
You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erika_laudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. We also apologize for our staff and the way they treated you , we understand that is not how a guest should be treated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend. The king suite room was clean and quiet. The front desk was helpful and courteous. The breakfast was adequate...eggs, sausage, waffle maker. Very easy access to subway. Nice store next door. Will stay here again!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#32 of 34 in Long Island City
854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#19 of 34 in Long Island City
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#31 of 34 in Long Island City
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 34 in Long Island City
1,789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 34 in Long Island City
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#15 of 34 in Long Island City
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Address: 4034 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range: £68 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing