We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We slept 2 nights in the hotel. Very good to reacg from jfk airport. Only 30 minutes with the cab and around 45 dollar. Prices in the hotel were good. Rooms not that big, but our view from room 1007 was priceless. Downtown manhattan was great to see. Breakfast very simple, but way to small for all guest. The elevators were very slow and just 2 for the whole building is not enough. Beds were really good, aswell as the bathroom and it was very clean. Not noisy at all. Subway is only a 5 minute walk to take line F. Within 10 minutes you are everywhere. Wifi s really good and fast, even on the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devriesmartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 1,847 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here last week,
The hotel was so close yo the subway (queensbridge) its a bit of nowhere,
Limited choice of restaurant near by, luckily we found a very nice food truck around the corner of the subway station. If I remember his food truck name I will give him 5 stars for his food quality, taste, and costumer service! I really like his fish and rice whilst my sisters like his chicken briyani!

The hotel itself have nothing special, nice breakfast, but when we have to leave our baggage after check-out they asked us to pay $1 per luggage, so far this is the only hotel that ask us to do so.

The room is clean as its just been renovated, the bed was really comfy!
The wifi strength was very weak, we stayed on level 8 and we can't use the wifi at all!

Room Tip: Free wifi is not available on level 8 and above due to a very weak wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel and staff were awesome. Everyone was friendly, very helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better stay. However, this hotel is located in a very sketchy neighborhood and it is a 1.5 block walk to the nearest subway station. There is an elevated police sub station between the hotel and subway which made me feel better. To be fair we never felt unsafe, but it was bitterly cold and not many people out and about either. It's a shame because the hotel is so nice. But unfortunately I could never stay here again because of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kellylep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

If you're looking to stay fairly close to the big city attractions without paying the big city price, this is the hotel for you. We landed this hotel for $83 on Hotwire, which is a pretty amazing deal for NYC during the holiday season. If you're driving, street parking in the neighborhood is free (though not necessarily plentiful.) Be sure to keep your parallel parking skills sharp. You might also have to move your car in the morning to comply with city parking regulations. We managed to find a spot two doors down from the hotel and were able to keep the car there for the duration of our one night stay. The hotel itself has a small lot which costs $25 per night. It might be worth paying if you wish to avoid the hassle of finding a street space. As with most NYC hotels, you will not need to use your car. It's just a one block walk to the subway. You'll be in midtown Manhattan in less than 15 minutes. You'll be spending almost all of your time in Manhattan because the neighborhood surrounding the hotel is largely industrial and residential. There are only a handful of businesses catering largely to the residents of the nearby housing projects. Safety is not a major concern as the hotel has 24-hour security and there is a police outpost right up the street. The rooms themselves are clean, comfortable and spacious by NYC standards. The walls, however, are quite thin. We heard everything that was happening in the room next door as well as the hallway outside the room. And since the hotel faces a fairly busy street with 24-hour bus service, there is traffic noise to go along with it. Budget travelers will appreciate the free breakfast. Health conscious travelers will not. As others have noted in their reviews, the free grub is heavy on carbs and light on protein. Plus, the breakfast room is too small for the number of people who take advantage of it. We ended up taking our food down to the lobby because there was no other place to sit. Overall, the Best Western Plaza Hotel LIC is a solid choice if you're looking for an inexpensive place to stay just outside of Manhattan. It won't work so well for people who want to be within walking distance of great shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apagano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is a good option for pleasure trips, not too expensive. Internet connection too bad. If you want to connect to internet, it would be better to use your personal devices (e.g. cellphone) instead of trying with the hotel connection. Employees in the breakfast area need to be more careful at handling with food items. They also need to be more careful with their own personal care.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Hector R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Great NYC access and very nice accomodations at an extremely attractive price. Staff was very professional, knowledgeable and helpful. Terrific view of NYC. Subway to Times Square 1 block away from door, Will stay here next time for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Excellent Hotel, Great Customer Service and convenient location. Less than 2 blocks to the F train, cheap parking garage on-site. Awesome breakfast. Clean rooms. Have stayed here several times before, and will be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Samantha/ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#14 of 34 in Long Island City
1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
County Inn and Suites Long Island City
County Inn and Suites Long Islan...
#28 of 34 in Long Island City
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#3 of 34 in Long Island City
345 reviews
0 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#9 of 34 in Long Island City
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 34 in Long Island City
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: £57 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel New York/Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing