We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel at a Great Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
TORONTO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel at a Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very impressed. Staff is just excellent in providing customer service both at front reception & serving breakfast. Sultana was especially accommodating at breakfast and such a pleasure to greet each morning with her cheery disposition and big smile, a great start to our day . Our room was large and exceptionally clean and very comfortable. No hesitation in recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LORNA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    806
    271
    60
    47
See reviews for
527
543
111
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights.

Overall, its a good choice if you are solo/ business traveller, looking for cheaper accommodation as compared to Manhatten, yet with quick subway access to Manhatten.

Rooms were spacious & clean. I had a room on the back side of the hotel, which was very quiet & private.

Complimentary breakfast was good enough, though it was exact same menu every morning. It might be good idea to throw in some variation there.

Front desk staff was very helpful & polite and eager to give a personal touch, which I found pleasing.

With MTA 'F' line station just round the corner, the location turned out to be very convenient.

The only downside was locality, which is not amongst the best. It does not feel too unsafe exactly, but somehow I felt like rushing to the room, without roaming around in the area after 8 or 9 pm.

I would definitely stay here again if I am travelling alone. If I am with family, I would prefer another location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niraj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Have stayed here multiple times in last few years. Manager and staff know how to treat people well. Hotel is two blocks from subway convenient to Manhattan. This time, they seriously improved their former mediocre breakfast items and increased space to avoid breakfast time traffic jams. A good move. Will return again next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank stpeterusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel was decent for the NY price. The best part is that it is right across the street from the subway. Very Convenient! The hotel itself is as expected for the price, but it is livable for a short stay. It was clean and had a complimentary continental breakfast. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crimson4cream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

... kumar was probably the most accommodating, friendly, and helpful hotel employee I've come across so far, which says a lot because I travel and stay overnight in many hotels on a regular basis for my job. Definitely dedicated to helping others..I was shocked with how willing he was to actually work hard while on the job...very motivating.

Thanks Kumar, i hope your superiors recognize your hard work on a regular basis.. promote him

Room Tip: king size bed for sure, 1st floor for gym if you like working out, 4th floor for ice if you love ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our 10 day visit to NYC. Although the hotel is fine, I am not a great fan of papers plates and this was what was on offer for us for breakfast. Everything was paper, the plates, cups, plastic spoons, forks etc. I wouldn't have thought it would have been that much extra to supply "proper" dishes. The price of this hotel was not much cheaper than the one we stayed in in Manhattan. Also on our last day we had to pay a dollar each case for this to be left until we were heading for the airport. Was this left in a secure room - no. Was there someone watching over the cases - no. Left on the floor at reception - why are you charging for this???? Although there are two lifts you seemed to spend a lot of time waiting on them. We did take the stairs but on our last day with luggage this was a bit difficult to had to wait a long time to gain access to the lifts. I also found some of the staff rude and standoffish.

Room Tip: Although the hotel itself was fine, I didn't like having to commute. My next trip and my advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PADDYMSCOTLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is conveniently less then 100 yards from the subway which goes into the heart of New York, travel to Bryant Park and you will be at the bottom of Times Square next to the Library, it makes life so much easier.

The team at the hotel are very pleasant and helpful, breakfast area is rushed and crowded but let's be honest you want to get out and play in the city asap anyway so why would you want to get comfy

The room was perfect, The bed is massive and very comfy and the phAntom housekeeping team are awesome, thank you. To the team of best western thank you for making my experience a lot easier

Ooh if you get the chance go to the halal food shop and get the chicken burger it is SCRUMMY yum yum

Room Tip: Ask for the view of Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#22 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
Address: 3934 21st St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel New York/Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing