We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I traveled alone with 4 teens to explore NYC. We were budget minded and selected this Best Western based on price and accessibility to public transit to gain access to NYC.
Pros: It was located close to the subway so it was a very short walk. The room was very clean, service was great, and staff was very helpful. We were located by the elevator but never heard it. The hotel was full but you didn't hear your neighbors.
Cons: Internet was slow, limited (but safe) parking, neighborhood a little intiminating but it was fine. Missed having a pool or hot tub but understood the location wasn't able to fit that luxury into their setting.
It was our first time to visit NYC and have plans to return. We will be booking our stay here again and again. Would highly recommend this location to anyone seeking a budget friendly stay without feeling like you were on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 1,837 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

The place is clean and well appointed, the staff attentive and it's just a few blocks from the train that gets you right into the City. All this for a fraction of the price of a Manhattan hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We booked this hotel as we generally trust in chain hotels! Being professionals in the hotel industry we know that they have to meet certain standards in order to keep the name.
I am afraid but this hotel is not meeting any of those standards and should loose its franchise licence straight away!!! We know that it's difficult to find a good located hotel in NYC for a reasonable price, however the price for the lack of service here is definitely arguable! They are just capitalising their location!
We read the reviews here and thought: ok the area might be dangerous but it can be everywhere. And as well when people complaint about breakfast we thought: what can you expect from an american breakfast ( bagels & cream cheese) and a breakfast room never fits all guest at the same time.....
But now our experience:
1.having your bags stored in the lobby( not secured at all!!!) , paying 1 $ per bag and then being told, there is always someone watching them- whereas we were waiting for 10 min for someone to serve us is ridiculous! They have enough space behind the reception but they declined to store them there.
2. The general cleanliness: there was a delivery ( loads of carton boxes in the lobby!!!) when we arrived, the public toilet seems to be shabbier then in some train stations and the room...
3. has been cleaned.. yes, what they did was making up the bed: the floor has not been wiped the entire stay nor the marble (sticky and disgusting), no toilet paper has been refreshed, we used coffee facilities.. after "cleaning" the room they were still dirty!!!! So basically the maid made up the bed and refreshed the towels ( although they were not lying on the floor..) even after complaining they did not provide the proper service you can expect even from a 1 star hotel - That is the least you expect from a hotel: a CLEAN room!!!
4. the breakfast was really a shame!!! I don't care about plastic cutlery etc. but I care about staff members standing around with a bored attitude !!(in fact only one person) not able to keep the buffet & the room clean - I have never seen such a mess!!!!! And the end he was fend up with everything - he just placed the milk can (with labels where bought) on the buffet instead of decanting it into the pitcher which was (of course) not removed but left over empty! I think bfs was supposed to finished at around 9.30am.. but one day we passed the room at around 12 and it looked as if a bomb exploded! Crumbs, cereals and plastic rubbish all over- good reflection about the entire attitude: we give a s***!
And the cherry on top of it: We left a letter stating our miserable experience in order for the management to get back to us: no reply!
Any questions?????

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sobl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I travel all aroun US due my work.
I leave in Hotels, this Hotel is not the Mandarin or the Aria in Las Vegas but if you are looking for a very proportioned price /quality place this is perfect.
Rooms are clean, staff very nice, I have been in two different rooms and booth with Manhattan view , the bed is comfortable and Manhattan is very very close, two stops by train where the train station is right 1 min walk from the Hotel.
Wath do you espect a paradise beach with a swimming pool and mojitos!?, you are in Manhattan and trast me this Hotel is very good comparing with others of the same category.
Enjoy !!

Marco Italy

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoNYC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

If you know, or are comfortable with the NYC mass transit system, this hotel offers a slightly out of the way location, but easy access to the center of Manhattan via subway or bus. Stops are within a block or less from the hotel. Services are basic, but if you come to NYC and plan to saty in your hotel room during the visit, then you probably should choose another city to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaycube075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

This hotel is in a great location if you are on a budget. It is a three minute walk from the subway station (you can see the hotel from the subway but there are no elevators or escalators that I could find). I went to a weekend conference and took the subway every day to Grand Central. The price was half that of those in downtown Manhattan. The rooms were nice. We had a king sized bed with a view of the skyline (attractive at night). The beds and pillows were comfortable. Our room had a shower/tub combo. There was an Asian place to eat next door. It was easy to get to JFK from this terminal, as we only had to go down the first stairway. From there, we could change trains underground or use escalators or elevators to get to the airport. This is a plus with luggage.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yobei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

For the discounted price of a room per night, this hotel was pretty nice. The hallways and lobby was a bit dingy but the room was very clean and up to date. There was a 32" plasma tv in the room, along with a King sized bed. The hotel's gym had up to date functional treadmills and weight machine. The parking lot is pretty small, able to hold roughly 10 cars so if you're unable to find parking in the lot, you'll have to park on the street but parking on the street is scarce. The continental breakfast wasn't very good.. There was just donuts, cereal, bagels, and orange juice or milk. I was looking forward to eggs or pancakes! Overall, for the money, the hotel is a decent place to stay and the staff is helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
County Inn and Suites Long Island City
County Inn and Suites Long Islan...
#28 of 34 in Long Island City
1,884 reviews
0.5 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#3 of 34 in Long Island City
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#13 of 34 in Long Island City
1,157 reviews
0 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#9 of 34 in Long Island City
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#31 of 34 in Long Island City
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: £56 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel New York/Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing