We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay great property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect welcoming staff , comfy room not a bad breakfast could improve... Beside that the price was excellent transportation near the hotel to anywhere in nyc we would definitely come back

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1kkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Only 2 stops of subway (F) from Manhattan, walkable distance from MoMA PS1, nice and clean rooms with beautiful views on Manhattan (our room was on floor 8). Our only criticism is for the breakfast: not a lot of choice and mediocre food quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Stephane E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Good stay this August. Thank you former tripadvidor members for honest, on point reviews, made my choice of hotel is good one.
Easy check it, small one, expected for ny standards, ac did have a smell but we let it run for hours and the smell was gone. Clean room, comfortable sleep, quite sleep too. No for breakfast. We did DD, walking distance.
We drove half the time and walked half the time felt safe but was not out past 10pm.
Parking is costly but remember it is 24 hrs so time your checking in wisely i did. stay 4 days and payed for 2 days.
The front desk employeee at second shift so kind, polite and professional. Never a question he did not answer or seemed bothered by them.
I would stay again but not a kingr room, bigger.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iimannii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed at Sleep Inn for a couple of days recently and was pretty pleased with the experience. It's located in Long Island just on the other side of East River and takes approximately 20 mins to reach Times Square while costing half of any Manhattan hotels.
Our rooms were nice and clean - although a bit small and felt cramped. Unfortunately we stayed on second floor but as other reviewers wrote - if you are on a higher floor you can get a fantastic view of the Manhattan skyline. Everything in the room worked, the wi-fi was reasonable. The complimentary breakfast was wholesome but the breakfast area was very cramped - so you might have to take your food outside. The staff were helpful and friendly. They agreed to keep our luggage for 2hrs after we checked out for a dollar per bag.
The hotel is located in a back - alley behind 21st st - so might be a little difficult to find (there are no large shiny neon lights in front of it as well) - but just remember that it is right behind Best Western Plaza. This also makes the area very quite - so you are guaranteed a good night's sleep. Queensbridge subway station is a 3 mins walk - but it is served only by the F train. That would take you to Manhattan and Jamaica - but you might have problems if there's a change in train schedule (we had). Court St subway station is a 10 min walk.
There are a couple of eateries near the hotel - including a Bangladeshi restaurant that serves pretty good Indian cuisine.

This is a great hotel for budget travelers who want to stay as close to Manhattan as possible without paying a king's ransom. I'd definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try for rooms on higher floor so that you get a glimpse of the Manhattan skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smonda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Well, it all depends on what you expect and what do you need a hotel for. I was looking for a place to stay for a couple of NIGHTS. So this hotel met my expectations: comfortable bed in a clean, quiet, tidy and air conditioned room with view of the Manhattan skyline. In addition to that price is very reasonable, the hotel staff is friendly and helpful, complimentary breakfast, and the subway station is one block away.
Yes, there is nothing super luxury, no restaurant, Wi-Fi is good only in the lobby area but overall I had a good impression of the hotel. But again, it all depends on your expectations and needs. I would definitely stay in the hotel again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popiel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#8 of 33 in Long Island City
1,756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 3871 13th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: £93 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing