We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option for NYC.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
elderslie .scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good option for NYC.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with wife and kids last week whilst touring East coast. I understand why some might say it's not the best area, but we were out most nights and never felt threatened. We even had to walk a good few blocks on the first night as the nearest subway was closed for a night. It's perfect for just jumping on the metro and being in Times Square after around 5 stops or 20 mins. Good breakfast, decent size rooms but parking is a bit pricey at $25 per night and garage is super tight. All in all but, I would use here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank j.k.r.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    469
    121
    24
    20
See reviews for
274
331
65
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barquisimeto, Venezuela
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel para estancia corta en NYC. Excelente atención y ubicación, a pocos minutos de la linea F que lleva a Manhattan en 10 min. Tiene vista espectacular desde sus habitaciones... Queensbrigde y el skyline de la ciudad es parte de lo que ves ¡Recomendado! A hotel for a short stay in NYC. Excellent service y location, just a few minutes to Metro F line to Manhattan and 10 minutes aprox in the subway. It has an amazing view from the room... You can see Queensbrigde and NYC Skyline ¡Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jorge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Its best features are the excellent location (a few minutes walking distance from the subway station or a great walk over the Queensborough Bridge :)), clean and spacious rooms (we had the one with the view of Manhattan so ask for those rooms), quite a good breakfast selection and a corner shop and Subway right around the corner. The one negative experience we had in the hotel is the cleaning lady throwing away our empty shopping bags (not placed near the trash can) but luckily nothing important was lost forever :). Also, the pictures of the rooms are just like on their website and the staff was mostly helpful and polite. As far as I can rememeber, it seemed quite favourable in comparison with other Long Island hotels and with the best location. In terms of safety, we had no problems whatsover during our 12-day stay but I can see why the neighbourhood can cause concern for some people. Have a great trip!

Room Tip: Ask for the one overlooking Manhattan
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownsug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review, we hope that future guests find it very helpful in their search for a comfortable hotel. We would like to apologize for your unfortunate experience with our housekeeping staff, it is very regretful that such a mishap had occurred. We have reviewed this matter with our housekeeping section in order to make sure that this event does not repeat itself.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again, so we can provide an exceptional stay on your future stay.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very clean rooms, comfortable beds, great assortment of breakfast items, (but no healthy choices). Very close to subway 2 blocks. Looks like a low income area, but we were fine. Employees were very friendly and helpful with our questions. Would stay here again, nice quiet area with excellent price and short subway to the city.

Room Tip: We faced the city could see the lights at night. Room was small, 1 queen size bed for daughter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaMcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your pleasing review. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and had a very comfortable stay. We hope that future guests will feel the same with their stay and that we continue to provide our best of services.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very friendly staff, away from the hustle of the city. Subway was walking distance. Breakfast was good. I would recommend staying here vs staying in the city. Front desk was helpful and knowledgeable about local attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KD9081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time out to write a kind review. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed our stay at our hotel, and found everything comfortable and convenient. We hope to provide the same great services to all our guest.

Come see us again!

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

great for the price the room are good size just for sleep clean clean and ready every day and that is so pleasant when you walk all day bathroom with all towels enough shampoo conditioner soap really good breakfast with egg sausages bagels yogurt fruit milk coffee excellent location near subway good if you spend the nigh i recommended :)

Room Tip: to the bridge :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alekymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad that you had such a pleasant stay and enjoyed all of our services and amenities. We hope that we continue providing our best of services to all our guests so they can enjoy their stay as much as you did.

Come visit us again!

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great employees, clean, fresh rooms, hot breakfast and a nice view of Manhattan at a good price. Located a quik walk from the F line subway. Elevators are a bit slow. Don't be afraid to take the stairs. Breakfast is good. I recommend the cheese danish and fresh fruit. Eat early as it can get crowded near the end of breakfast hours. We will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our services. We hope that you will come back again soon and that we may keep up with your great expectations.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 33 in Long Island City
1,696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Property: Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Address: 3871 13th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing