We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two nights here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Turin, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“two nights here”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

quite good, bathroom not fantastic very small . Not the same level as the room that was good
Very close to downtown only three / four metro station far.

Attention when you book that price has to be charged with tax

Room Tip: breakfast area is very crowded
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ivopreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It is our great displeasure that you did not enjoy our hotel services and amenities. At Sleep Inn - LIC we strive to make each of our guests comfortable and satisfied. We hope that further improvements in our day to day tasks will help create a better environment so that you may feel better staying at our hotel and recommend us as well.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    469
    121
    24
    19
See reviews for
273
331
65
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

During the week-long stay in New York for sightseeing with my wife and my daughter, we stayed at this hotel. We enjoyed the hospitality in terms of friendliness of the staff, room size and facilities available including the abundance of food at breakfast.
These conditions, combined with a fair price, compensate the distance from Manhattan, which, however, is easily accessible by Subway stop which is a short distance away.

Room Tip: My rating of the bedrooms is based on a single experience, I have to assume that all the rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We strive to make our guests feel comfortable and satisfied, and we hope that your review will find future guests who are looking for a great accommodation for their trip.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mars, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

For the price of this hotel, I cannot imagine a better option. Under $150 a night on the weekend. Do not be put off by the location. Yes, its quiet. Yes, its dark. Yes, its near the projects. We used the subway daily and never returned to our room until Midnight. We used the local convenience store and saw no trouble and were never concerned with the people in the area. During the day, the subway stop is full with a mixture of tourists and locals. Much quieter at night, but we were never alone. The hotel rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was just ok, but good enough. Staff was friendly. Same hotel in Manhattan would be $400+ a night. Stay here instead and you can still be in Times Square in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to write such a pleasing review. It is a great reward to know that our services were of satisfaction to you. Your review is very important for us and for future guests, as many guests are visiting the hotel for the first time your review can be very assuring. Hope that you will come visit us again!

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

(We stayed 3 nights in April 2014).
Friendly and helpful staff.
Fast and efficient check-in check-out.
Room with two beds good enough for 4 people.
Dining room a bit crowded during breakfast.
Easy access to Manhattan by subway or a cab.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: A room on the east side have a nice view over Manhattan and Empire State.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank etomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your wonderful review, and are so glad you have enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Our goal is to maintain our best services and amenities to assure all of our guests can enjoy a nice and comfortable stay with us. Thank you once again for choosing Sleep Inn - LIC, we hope that you will come stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was amazed when I stepped into this hotel. I was expecting very little and got a lot in return! I work in the area and needed to stay overnight for an early meeting. I know there are a few swanky hotels closer to my office for at least twice the price. Some colleagues stayed at the Z Hotel and it was nice-looking but twice the price, food was awful, no breakfast included and their service was mediocre. At the Sleep Inn you compromise having a "nice" neighborhood BUT the room was large, beds were so comfortable, service was impeccable, breakfast was great and included. The train is about 2 blocks away. The view of the 59th St Bridge was amazing...what a sight to wake up to. Room was incredibly clean. I strongly recommend staying here if you are willing to explore out of the typical tourist trap of midtown. NYC is so much more!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view of the NYC skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosierules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a remarkable review. We are so pleased that you found our hotel services and amenities to your full satisfaction. Such a wonderfully detailed review helps us and future guests to be able to find the best accommodation for their stay. Hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and our best friend stayed here for 5 nights in April. We had an excellent stay. This was all of our first trips to NYC and we were aware before arriving that the area in Queens/Long Island City might be a little sketchy, but let me set your mind at ease. We never were the least bit uncomfortable walking to and from the subway (which is just down the block, a walk you can make in under 5 minutes) even later at night. The hotel itself was clean, modern, and well equipped at this price point and the staff was great and friendly. Our room was much larger than expected and the three of us had ample room for our stay. We chose a city view room and were on the top floor with gorgeous panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline. The free breakfast saved us money and was very adequate, although the area for eating was always full and not really large enough (a very minor issue). Two subway stops take you right into the city and the F line has access to many of the areas tourists will want to see. We wouldn't hesitate to choose this location again.

Room Tip: We chose a city view room on the top floor and had beautiful views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are so glad your stay was of five point satisfaction. We strive to make all our guest feel like they have had the best stay possible. We hope that your review helps prospective guests to feel more comfortable staying at our hotel. Hope that you will come back to enjoy many more stays with us.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 32 in Long Island City
1,674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 32 in Long Island City
1,005 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 32 in Long Island City
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 32 in Long Island City
1,124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 32 in Long Island City
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 32 in Long Island City
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Property: Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Address: 3871 13th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing