We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Pros: The staff is very friendly, the room clean, near to subway( 5 min), I had a great view of the city form our room (Qeensbridge, empire state building and sky scrapers), easy to visit city form this location, ok neighbourhood.
Cons: not many choices at breakfast and poor-medium quality. Compared to other hotels we searched, at least this hotel had breakfast included, so is 1/2 bad :).
Overall: I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from where you can se Manhattan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrei M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your detailed review of your stay at Sleep Inn - LIC. It is always a pleasure to know that our services provided a satisfactory visit to our guests. Your review is very important to us, and we will keep in mind to improve our breakfast selection. We hope that you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were 6 motorcycles… One of us took the last parking place. (you need more). They managed to place 3 bikes in the spot… BUT. 3 bikes were left outside. The manager told us to park in the handicapped zone,,but one of the housekeeping guy thought it wasn't too good. He found us a just enough places for our 3 remaining bikes.. THIS IS CUSTOMER SERVICE.
2 metro lines nearby. 1 is one block from the Hotel and the other one about 4blocks.
Good corner restaurant for breakfast.
Localisation is good, not too far from highway.
ROOM WAS SUPER NICE!!!!

Room Tip: just get there. pricing is right at like 20minutes from manhattan by metro.. more expensive in Jerse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guest,

We extremely joyful that you were fully attended to and had a great experience at our hotel. We hope to keep up our services to provide the same exceptional visit to all of our guest. Hope you come visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our family of 4 was in town for a long weekend and found the room to be very nicely clean and up to date. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful including directions for the subways and dining advice. The price was great, as was our view. The area between the subway station and hotel is a bit rough looking, but we never saw any trouble. Our only problem was construction on the subway line over the weekend which made the route a bit trickier. Also, the breakfast area was out of fruit for one day and had only apples another. We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guest,

It is our great pleasure that you were able to find our hotel comfortable and enjoy your stay. We understand the hesitation towards the neighborhood and hope that with the on going development you will find your next stay even better. Our goal is to provide exceptional service to each of our guests and make sure everyone enjoys the same valued service as you have.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

With very good service and comfortable rooms, the experience was over expected, we returned to the hotel past midnight for ten days with no problem. Next time surely we'll stay at this hotel. The 21th queenbridge subway station is only two blocks far to the hotel. You have others options for subway like Queens Plaza, eight blocks far to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with manhattan's view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pachicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is our extreme pleasure that we were able to provide an exceptional stay. We aim to meet all of our guest expectations to the best of our ability and make sure that guests feel comfortable and stress free. Hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I booked this hotel as I couldn't justify the 400+ on Manhattan and furthermore the 55+ USD per night for parking. After reading the reviews about the dodgy area, I called the hotel in advance to ask them about parking for my rental 2014 Mustang. The guy said they had a garage for parking, great.

I arrived quite late, around 10.30pm and it is accurate what the other reviewers say about the area - it doesn't feel the safest and is poorly lit. When I went to check in, I was informed there were no spots left in the garage - the idea of leaving this sports car in this area didn't appeal at all. I have to commend the receptionist, who called the other hotel (Best Western) which shares the garage and managed to find me a place. Kudos to her, it was very much appreciated.

Getting to the room I found that the bedside light didn't work as the switch had been pushed down into the light enclosure. The lack of light was annoying seeing I wanted to read. I called the reception who sent someone up. This guy who was meant to be the maintenance personnel had no tools, and poked around inside of the LIVE light with the complimentary room pen until I told him to unplug it. No kudos there. In the end (30 mins of him poking around) I told him to forget it, and took the light from the desk instead.

The shower, while the temperature was ok, the pressure was a little weak. Getting the water to flow through the shower was not obvious either.
Beds were very comfortable and felt clean. The area *is* noisy, but was so tired that this wasn't an issue for me.

Breakfast the next morning … well, it was awful. If you are staying here to visit Manhattan you are better off grabbing a piece of fruit and skipping the rest. Stodgy looking meat patties, eggs in the fridge, stale cereal, tight cramped and crowded dining quarters .. If this hotel was based on the breakfast alone then it would be one star.

I had only booked one night, and booked another night. The reception (on my request) gave me the second night for the same rate as the first, as compensation for the faulty light. This was good as the rate i would have payed was marginally worth it. I needed to change rooms, so left my luggage and didn't return from Manhattan until 1.30am where it did *not* feel safe walking from the F-metro to the hotel. The second room had no problems with the lights, but the A/C would not turn off until I unplugged it. Again, bed felt clean and comfortable.

On checkout I planned to goto Manhattan for a few more hours and the hotel were good enough to let me leave my car in the carpark until 3pm. Due to metro delays, it was closer to 4.30pm before I collected the car, and they were OK with this.

So to summarise:
+ Reasonable rates (compared to Manhattan)
+ Good location in terms of Metro
+ Reception staff were helpful and dealt with my complaints

- Breakfast is the pits
- Neighborhood does not feel very safe
- Some rooms have some faults

Would I stay here again? Probably not, but I have no reason not to recommend it.

Room Tip: High floor has less noise and a view of Manhattan skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m_prebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay. Your review is very helpful to our hotel as well as future guests who will be visiting us for the first time. We are glad that we were able to help resolve the issues you found and will assure you that certain measures have been taken to fix the matters. Hope that on your next visit you will find a completely hassle free and more enjoyable stay with us.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location is very good if you want to save and stay out of Manhattan. It's only 5 minute walk from the metro station that will take you to Rockefeller station (next to the Rockefeller Tower) in 10 -15 minutes. The area is a bit dodgy, but I didn't get into any trouble even though was alone.
I had a nice view on Manhattan (apart from rather ugly roofs, but it's ok). The wifi in the room wan't good, but the the lobby it was ok. The breakfast was no good. The personnel was friendly and helpful. No city maps at the reception, had to buy one in a souvenir shop in Manhattan.
The hotel is just to spend a night in and spend a day on Manhattan.

Room Tip: I guess the Manhattan view made me feel much better about the whole thing (even though I've seen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is very important to us that we provide an exceptional service to all of our guests and provide a great visit to the best of our ability. Hope that future guests find your review very helpful in choosing their next budgeted stay. Come visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at this location. Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Had no issues with our room. We arrive very early and front desk staff tried to find a room so we can check in early. The free breakfast was good, but was very congested and couldn't find a table to sit. This location was very close to the subway system. Hotel's location is not best but felt very safe to get to the subway. We had a late departing flight, we were allowed to leave our bags with the front desk for $1 per bag. Getting to and from JFK Airport was easy due to it's location to the subway. F train to E train to Airtrain, simple.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raymond916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#6 of 34 in Long Island City
1,837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 34 in Long Island City
880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#13 of 34 in Long Island City
1,157 reviews
0.3 mi away
County Inn and Suites Long Island City
County Inn and Suites Long Islan...
#28 of 34 in Long Island City
1,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#31 of 34 in Long Island City
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 3871 13th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: £63 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing