We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agood hotel needs to move to good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked two rooms as a family from the 3rd of Aug to the 7th .The Indian front desk was helpful and nice . the hotel is clean and good . The price was too much.you need to pay 25 dollars for parking .King rooms are small for more than two persons so try to book twin room. breakfast was average american one but I think it was enough to start the day.The braekfast room was small but the young lady working there was helpful and trying all the time to serve the guests. I think the worst thing in this hotel is the location...the loction it is in the middle of no where.around it car repairs and taxi cars parking .All the time you feel that you are unsafe but as I experenced it was safe for me and my family.The second problem is that the nearest metro sation is closed after 10 so you either take a taxi ( that will be very expensive in New York) or walk for 30 minutes from ( Queens Station ) at night. Next time I will take the hotel near ( queens Plaza metro dtation) in long island.Also ,there is a public car park for only 11 dollars. I will com again for every thing but the location no.

Room Tip: King rooms are small for more than two persons so try to book twin room if you are more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OUDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are glad that our hotel accommodations were satisfactory. We understand your hesitation on our location and hope that with upcoming additions to our neighborhood you will find our hotel an even better place to stay.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is new-ish, and as such, is far more comfortable than anything you'll find in NYC (at anything approaching the price). The room size is good, and everything is comfortable and in good condition...and very clean.

The staff honored a request to check in somewhat earlier than the posted check in time, which was greatly appreciated after a red eye flight.

Didn't do the b'fast, but it appeared to be very busy and popular.

The only minor annoyance was that the closest subway line/station (F train) was closed that weekend for construction....but there are a lot of alternatives. I would recommend that the hotel be more pro-active to assist customers when that happens (maybe a map/flyer at the front desk).

I had read some cautionary advice on Tripadvisor re the neighborhood....that was appreciated, and due caution was exercised. That said, I experienced no issues. As with any urban area, be aware of your surroundings and you'll likely be fine. Keep in mind this hotel is not on 5th Avenue or Central Park....but certainly posed no problems either.

Nice to see the area is improving. This is one of several big new modern hotels in that location; the proximity of Manhattan (just one stop over the bridge) made the commute easy and brief.

My only criticism is that the wifi signal in my room was weak.....so perhaps a booster is in order. I stepped into the hallway and it improved significantly. That said, I wasn't there to work, so it didn't present a major problem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rrz518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent 4 nights there and everything was perfect. The price was very appropriate and the room was nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable, everything in the room (fridge, dryer, TV, shower, clock, lamps, etc.) was in good working condition. It is definitely not upscale luxury but it is ideal for an economical stay in an expensive city. The metro station is just 2 blocks away and this line F runs very often 24/7. Although the area wasn't the best, we felt safe as there were always other tourists walking to and from the hotel (and the other 2 hotels nearby). Breakfast was just as expected, the usual warm and cold options, so nothing outstanding but very decent, the ladies working there were very friendly and kept it well stocked and if you asked they would fill up your water bottle, etc. The hotel staff in general was knowledgeable, friendly and polite. Overall a very pleasant experience. If I were to go back, I would definitely check this place first. Ah, it is also relatively near to LaGuardia, yet far enough not to hear the air traffic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My good impression started even before I reached the hotel. My GPS got a bit befuddled in Queens so I phoned the hotel and the lady at the reception desk "talked me in"! Her directions were excellent. She was also polite and accurate. The room was good,the shower excellent and the air-conditioners worked well. The breakfasts were excellent and the kitchen staff kept topping up where necessary. The the guys and dolls at the reception desk were extremely helpful.
OK - so the area was a bit run down - but not seriously and definitely not at all dangerous. All this goes to prove that you don't have to go to a big expensive hotel in Manhattan to stay at a good hotel...go to the Sleep Inn in Queens. Anyone who says otherwise is just plain SPOILT!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

They should provide free parking as the neighborhood is not so safe and too much to find a parking . The breakfast food quality can better. At least waffle was expected. Rooms are too small. Rest are good if you are looking for Average hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Aminul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Room smelles, bed covers were dirty, nothing to enjoy except the view from our room over Quensboro bridge and Manhattan. Close to subway too. Noises at 3 am from people returning to their rooms and unable to open the doors.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Antandreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My family and I enjoyed our one night stay. Very clean room. Delicious breakfast. Wonderful city view and very close to the Subway. The staff was efficient, helpful and very cordial. I recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maricarmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#6 of 34 in Long Island City
1,846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 34 in Long Island City
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
County Inn and Suites Long Island City
County Inn and Suites Long Islan...
#28 of 34 in Long Island City
1,888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#14 of 34 in Long Island City
1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City
Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Islan...
#20 of 34 in Long Island City
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 3871 13th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: £66 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing