We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect Place”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel may seem a little scary but, the people in the neighbourhood are beyond friendly.

Moving on to the hotel, it was just perfect. The room was a nice size, bathroom very clean, good sized television and also an ironing board with an iron. The breakfast was nice, your average breakfast. We were there for about 5 days and we did spill a few things here and there but the hotel management took care of it as soon as they had the chance. The receptionists were very helpful with directions to and from places like Times Square and Chinatown (also had maps).

The only downfall is having to pay for parking. I chose to just find a spot on the street instead and i was fine. Another minor issue i faced was with the internet. It disconnected a few times but was perfect later on.

All in all for the price, this hotel is worth it. I work for a hotel myself and i can te you that this hotel is a wonderful place to be staying at.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KingOfDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you have taken the time out to write such a wonderful review. Our goal is to maintain a great level of customer satisfaction for all our guests. Your review is very helpful to us to allow us to identify issues we need to work at and practices we should maintain. Hope you will visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    468
    121
    24
    19
See reviews for
274
330
65
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked this on Priceline and spent two nights here as our base for sight-seeing in New York. It's a great place and I doubt you would get any other place at this price which is also so conveniently situated. The service was excellent. We asked for a room on the upper floors and though there is a 20$ charge for rooms with a view, (which we were even considering paying but decided against it), they said they would see what they could do and try to give us a room on the sixth floor. They ultimately gave us a room on the eighth floor with a fabulous view of Manhattan and the Brooklyn bridge. The room was clean, very comfortable, and even had an iron with an ironing board which was a really nice touch. The breakfast was pretty good, with very warm and hospitable staff and though the dining area is a bit small, we carried our breakfast up to our room on the second day so it was fine. The subway station is very close, and not at all far from downtown manhattan so we could reach 5th avenue in just about 15 minutes. They really make an effort to make you comfortable so we were very promptly given toothpaste sachets when we asked and the entire check-in and check-out process was quick, efficient and friendly. Though there were some reviews about it being in a run-down area and not a great location, we didn't have any problem with it at all, and returned to our rooms late in the night traveling on the subway with no issue at all. I would highly recommend this place and would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, the staff is very helpful and will try to accommodate your requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svm795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write about your wonderful experience. It is our pleasure that our hotel accommodations were of full satisfaction during your stay. We hope to maintain the same great quality among all of our guests. Please come visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Andre, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent 5 nights in this hotel and was very nice. The room size is good and very clean. Hospitable staff. Close to subway station (3 station from central park). The price is very good comparing to other hotels in Manhattan Island.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeferson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jed
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked two rooms as a family from the 3rd of Aug to the 7th .The Indian front desk was helpful and nice . the hotel is clean and good . The price was too much.you need to pay 25 dollars for parking .King rooms are small for more than two persons so try to book twin room. breakfast was average american one but I think it was enough to start the day.The braekfast room was small but the young lady working there was helpful and trying all the time to serve the guests. I think the worst thing in this hotel is the location...the loction it is in the middle of no where.around it car repairs and taxi cars parking .All the time you feel that you are unsafe but as I experenced it was safe for me and my family.The second problem is that the nearest metro sation is closed after 10 so you either take a taxi ( that will be very expensive in New York) or walk for 30 minutes from ( Queens Station ) at night. Next time I will take the hotel near ( queens Plaza metro dtation) in long island.Also ,there is a public car park for only 11 dollars. I will com again for every thing but the location no.

Room Tip: King rooms are small for more than two persons so try to book twin room if you are more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OUDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are glad that our hotel accommodations were satisfactory. We understand your hesitation on our location and hope that with upcoming additions to our neighborhood you will find our hotel an even better place to stay.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is new-ish, and as such, is far more comfortable than anything you'll find in NYC (at anything approaching the price). The room size is good, and everything is comfortable and in good condition...and very clean.

The staff honored a request to check in somewhat earlier than the posted check in time, which was greatly appreciated after a red eye flight.

Didn't do the b'fast, but it appeared to be very busy and popular.

The only minor annoyance was that the closest subway line/station (F train) was closed that weekend for construction....but there are a lot of alternatives. I would recommend that the hotel be more pro-active to assist customers when that happens (maybe a map/flyer at the front desk).

I had read some cautionary advice on Tripadvisor re the neighborhood....that was appreciated, and due caution was exercised. That said, I experienced no issues. As with any urban area, be aware of your surroundings and you'll likely be fine. Keep in mind this hotel is not on 5th Avenue or Central Park....but certainly posed no problems either.

Nice to see the area is improving. This is one of several big new modern hotels in that location; the proximity of Manhattan (just one stop over the bridge) made the commute easy and brief.

My only criticism is that the wifi signal in my room was weak.....so perhaps a booster is in order. I stepped into the hallway and it improved significantly. That said, I wasn't there to work, so it didn't present a major problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrz518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent 4 nights there and everything was perfect. The price was very appropriate and the room was nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable, everything in the room (fridge, dryer, TV, shower, clock, lamps, etc.) was in good working condition. It is definitely not upscale luxury but it is ideal for an economical stay in an expensive city. The metro station is just 2 blocks away and this line F runs very often 24/7. Although the area wasn't the best, we felt safe as there were always other tourists walking to and from the hotel (and the other 2 hotels nearby). Breakfast was just as expected, the usual warm and cold options, so nothing outstanding but very decent, the ladies working there were very friendly and kept it well stocked and if you asked they would fill up your water bottle, etc. The hotel staff in general was knowledgeable, friendly and polite. Overall a very pleasant experience. If I were to go back, I would definitely check this place first. Ah, it is also relatively near to LaGuardia, yet far enough not to hear the air traffic.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Teresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petach Tikva
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My good impression started even before I reached the hotel. My GPS got a bit befuddled in Queens so I phoned the hotel and the lady at the reception desk "talked me in"! Her directions were excellent. She was also polite and accurate. The room was good,the shower excellent and the air-conditioners worked well. The breakfasts were excellent and the kitchen staff kept topping up where necessary. The the guys and dolls at the reception desk were extremely helpful.
OK - so the area was a bit run down - but not seriously and definitely not at all dangerous. All this goes to prove that you don't have to go to a big expensive hotel in Manhattan to stay at a good hotel...go to the Sleep Inn in Queens. Anyone who says otherwise is just plain SPOILT!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#7 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#20 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#27 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Property: Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Address: 3871 13th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-6119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing