We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a noisy area and needs some improvement, but is promising”
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In a noisy area and needs some improvement, but is promising”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The very high ratings of this property are not justified. At least not yet.

No reading lights in the room. Why not, when other properties put such lights directly on the beds and they work just fine? No chairs in the room. Why not, especially when there's a balcony? A folding chair was provided upon request one day, but could not be provided the day before, because there were none on hand. Elevator is painfully slow to arrive, and they say they can't add another. Area is noisy well into the night, with construction and garbage collection noise, but the hotel devotes insufficient attention to soundproofing. Breakfast room and breakfast meals are good. Nearby subway stop ceases to operate late in the evening due to local construction, so you have to walk back from 15 blocks away in those instances.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.

I know that you had mentioned some suggestions on specific amenities that that you would have liked to see in the room such as reading lamps and chairs. We have definitely taken these suggestions into consideration. We have also noted your inquiry about our elevator. Unfortunately, the design of the building would not allow for an additional elevator to be added, without demolishing the existing room types.

We are glad that you enjoyed our continental breakfast! We hope that if you are ever in our neighborhood again, that you give us a visit again. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    480
    152
    42
    39
See reviews for
355
332
68
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here on 10th April (2013) for four nights. There is not much to say about this hotel except that it did the job! It was clean and safe and not too far from the train into Manhattan. We had to change our room after the first night due to noise so we went to a higher floor.

Room Tip: Don't chose the bottom floor room as it's noisy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurf-DAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences with Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate that you found our hotel was in a safe neighborhood and easily accessible to Manhattan. I also appreciate that you mentioned that we were able to move you onto a higher floor as well. We do our very best to make sure that we address our guest concerns to help make your stay with us as enjoyable and comfortable as possible.

We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves here and we hope that we may see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Why pay more at a luxury hotel when all facilities are superb at this one?Stayed for a month.Wonderful staff make one feel at home.toiletries,condiment kits,fresh towels,bedsheets n blankets supplied everyday.breakfast is very simple.more variety and hot breakfast would add stars to the service.Will definitely stay again as I visit New York every year for almost a month.

Room Tip: Rooms with kichenette are excellent for long stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noorakhalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Noora, Thank you for such a kind review!

It has been a pleasure having you here at the hotel. We appreciate the kind words and suggestions left by a seasoned traveler such as yourself. We have taken your suggestions about our breakfast into consideration and I am pleased to let you know that we are planning to update our continental breakfast menu as well as renovate our outdoor patio area to add additional seating to our breakfast area.

We are looking forward to having you here again and we will work on getting you the tea that you like!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley


Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Newer accommodations. Extremely nice staff. Very attentive. Short taxi ride or Subway trip to downtown Manhattan and to Laguardia Airport. Great Value. I would recommend for a great get-away weekend. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a good view of the Mahattan skyline. Local grocery store three doors down. One Block to subway N/Q train.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you sincerely for an excellent review on Trip Advisor,

You have mentioned some great highlights about our property! I am glad that you found great value in our location and convenient access to downtown Manhattan as well as LaGuardia Airport. We are situated very nearby to both John F. Kennedy and LaGuardia which can also be access by train as well as taxi. I am so glad that were able to enjoy one of our rooms on the 9th Floor. The view is truly breathtaking.

We hope you might visit us again and I thank you again for taking the time to mention Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here for a week in May 2013. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy. Free wi-fi. Buffet breakfast with juice, coffee, tea, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bagels and croissants. Convenient for central Manhattan - it's just round the corner from 39th St subway station, which is only 2 stops away from Manhattan centre. Excellent view from the balcony of our room. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed there for four days.
Pro:
Good and friendly service. Nice and clean rooms. Perfect connection to Manhattan (Subway close to the Hotel) Free WiFi.

Not so good:
Breakfast is very simple with only sweet bread and some fruits. Coffee was OK... More diversification appreciated.

But all in all we can very recommend this hotel as it has a good price for this standard and really friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in the most basic room. Hotel clerks give wonderful service. All the premises are very clean, they have a small lobbi with lots of seats. The room was very nice, the bed was huge. We needed an extra blanket and a fridge, so we requested those from the front desk and they put that in our room during the day, and rearranged the furniture to accomodate the fridge. The WiFi service works great - one day it didn't work and we complained to the front desk, they called their ISP right away and fixed it by the evening. The elevator really is slow, and the stairs smell wierd, but it's fine with us. The breakfast is very limited, we didn't eat there, but the price is worthwhile even without the breakfast. Subway nearby is super comfortable. A very nice place in NYC!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#12 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Property: Hotel Vetiver
Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver New York/Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing