We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value close to Manhattan”
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a great option for something close to Manhattan without the cost. It's really close to the 39th Ave stop on the N/Q train. From there it's an easy ride into Manhattan. Getting to the hotel from LaGuardia was a $20 cab ride.
The room was pretty spacious. Bigger than ones I've had at more expensive hotels in NYC. The halls are a little noisy because the floors are concrete, and road noise creeps in from outside. I was happy to have some earplugs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Ryan, Thank you for a wonderful review!

I am so glad to hear that you took advantage of our proximity to LaGuardia and to Manhattan. When our guests are making their way to the hotel from the airport, they are not aware that the cabs are really an affordable and convenient option. I am also delighted to know that you enjoyed the size of the rooms, we appreciate it very much when guests take note of our size compared to hotels in Manhattan, as we have to differentiate our property from properties in the city to make staying outside of Manhattan even more desirable.

We hope that if you decide to visit Manhattan again that you will use us for your accommodations.

Kind Regards,
Brittney Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

to all future guest,when you book up a room at this hotel make sure request high level room,the first floor's room is noisy place people talking laugh early in the morning and the front desk and the elevator are to close to the rooms,window's room close to insecure hotel dark yard, if you are booking double bed room ((don't forget to ask separated beds))I booked up for two persons separated beds, they gave us a king bed.i ask to exchange the room they wanted me to pay extra money.

Room Tip: high level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experiences with TripAdvisor.

I know that you had mentioned that you were staying in a room on the first floor. We know that many of our guests are hoping for a room on a high floor with a view of Manhattan and we do our very best to try to honor everyone's requests. Many time if we cannot honor the request initially when you check-in we do not mind making arrangements to change the guest to a higher floor when a room becomes available. I also know that there may have been some miscommunication about the room type, however we do not offer rooms with King Beds at this property. Our Superior Room featuring, One Queen bed and One Full bed as well as our Deluxe Double room featuring Two Full beds both have separate beds. All other room types in the hotel: Studio, Standard and Condo only feature one bed.

I hope that we were able to offer you great service as well as the comfort and ease of our location while you were here to make your time in New York City that much more enjoyable. We hope that if you stay in NYC again, that you would allow us to accommodate you on a higher floor.

Thank you again for the feedback!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Room was too small n could hear everything from hallway n other rooms. (noisy sound from outside so woke up few times)
Also air con didn't work.
But friendly staff... Overall I didn't enjoy staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank learysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor.

I can see that you found your room somewhat small and noisy. We would like to mention that as of June 1st we have updated our website to feature our newly renovated Studio room type. We are also working on updating the pictures on all of our third party partners, for those who reserved their rooms through an Online Travel Agency such as Expedia, or Booking.com.
It is important to us to make sure that our customers have an opportunity to see an accurate picture of our newly renovated room.

I know that you also mentioned that your air conditioner was a bit noisy. I wish that this would have been brought to our attention while you were here so that we would have had our engineer make adjustments to your unit in your room. Most of the time, these units just need to be periodically reset. If our engineer found that your unit was having a more extensive issue, we could have moved you into a new, more comfortable room.

I am happy to see that our staff offered you great service. Our excellent customer service is definitely one of our strengths and we are delighted that you have taken notice. We hope that if you ever make your way into NYC again that you would give us another opportunity to stay again. We have a great deal of exciting changes happening at the hotel, such as an upgraded continental breakfast menu and additional outdoor seating in our breakfast area.

Sincerely,

Brittney Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Don't go spending your money on hotels on Manhatten. This hotel is max 15 minutes away from center of Manhattan. Situated very close to a subway station, it takes no time to go to Central Park, Times Sq or even Southern Manhattan.
We got advised about dos and don'ts, help finding good activities and amazed by the very friendly persons around the reception desk.
Don't expect too much of the breakfast. It is there, but there is not much space.
If you are sensitive to noise during night, bring ear plugs. You can clearly hear what is going on in the corridor.
In total, a very good option if you don't want to spend all your vacation money on a Manhattan hotel and if you like a great service level.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DK-Dolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review!

You have offered some wonderful insight on the perks of staying at Hotel Vetiver for our savvy travelers. What we offer in terms of value and convenience is second to none and I am happy that you mentioned our proximity to some amazing stops in the city.

I am also glad that you took advantage of the expertise of our staff! We always try to guide our guests on some tips that will save you money and precious time while out sightseeing in the city. I know that you also suggested not to expect too much from our breakfast as well, but I would like to suggest that our guests do keep their expectations high. Because of the feedback from customers like you, we have opted to update our continental breakfast menu as well as to renovate our outdoor patio to provide additional outdoor seating. We are very excited about these updates and it is thanks to customers like you that have left some important suggestions to us to help improve our product.

Thank you kindly, for a wonderful and insightful review. We appreciate the time you have taken to help us improve our property. We hope that you might come and visit us again to let us know what you think of the new changes we are making here.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in May and enjoyed every minute.

The rooms were very well maintained and the beds were very comfortable. Whilst the standard of the rooms are commendable its the staff that require the most praise. So helpful and friendly its as though you were staying with family. We were on vacation and so was our ability to clean up the constant pile up of new shopping bags, but the cleaning crew were nice enough to sort it out every single day and still managed to smile. The guys at reception were always on hand to entertain our needs for extra duvets extra pillows etc, and were great to talk to about what to do, what to eat in NY.

The hotel is very conveniently close to 39th Ave metro station where two different lines can be caught straight into manhattan. Also not too far a walk was access to 3 other metro stations where access to a further four other lines into manhattan can be caught.

Would recommend this hotel very much and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: had a room with two double beds on the top floor and rear of hotel. Although the view from the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEPLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel Vetiver Family!

We cannot thank you enough for the praise of our staff. It is gratifying to know when our customers take notice of our efforts to be helpful and attentive to your needs. It is refreshing to see that you have taken notice of work of our housekeepers. I truly believe that we have some of the most talented, hardworking and friendly housekeepers in the business. They never cut corners and are always willing to do the little things to make sure our guests' quarters are as tidy and comfortable as possible.

I am also delighted that we were also able to give you some insight onto the great eats of NYC! The neighborhood of Queens has been named as the most diverse community in the US so it is no doubt that there is a restaurant to suit anyone tastes right here in Queens. For anyone who is looking for a night out on the town, we are only 10 minutes from some of the most famous and unique restaurants in the world in Manhattan.

We are so thankful for the helpful tips that you have left for future guests and we hope that you will come back to visit us again the future. We have some exciting upgrades to our breakfast menu and facilities taking place at the hotel that I am sure you would enjoy!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

For a hotel that is one metro station away from mid town Manhattan and two away from central park, that offers free internet and free breakfast, Vetiver is better than reasonably priced. It is also located very close to 39th Ave metro station, within 5 min walking distance. Our room was clean and well kept, no issues with the bathroom.

There are some prices to be paid for the conveniences and the low price. It is great to have a room with balcony and a tiny view of Manhattan but it also means you will get an earful of train noise especially in the early morning hours. The rooms are small, not much space or furnishings, just a tiny desk and chair. The air conditioner is so close to the bed we had to turn it off at night due to noise. Breakfast is frugal but adequate. The entire hotel has one elevator and takes several minutes to make an appearance during the morning rush.

If you are planning to spend 12+ hours in NYC and need a place to crash at night with some bagels, orange juice and coffee in the morning this is the place to go. Just don't go there expecting three star comforts. This is not a resort. But the staff is very friendly and cooperative which makes up for all the shortcomings. I would give it a score of 3 1/2 overall.

Final advice - book your own taxi for going to airport. The one front desk arranged for us was a crook and overcharged us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayagreeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

On behalf of the entire Hotel Vetiver staff we thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

You have shared some great points about our hotel location, only one metro station away from mid town Manhattan and two away from central park. You also mentioned our Complimentary WiFi and Continental Breakfast. We thank you adding the details regarding the cleanliness and maintenance of your room.

You have also left us some feedback on some areas to improve on such as the furnishings and noise level in the room. We are exploring how to improve the comfort and functionality of our rooms.

I know that you have also mentioned our adequate breakfast as well. We are in the process of upgrading some breakfast items as well as expanding our breakfast area, to add value to our Continental Breakfast. We know that our continental breakfast is an amenity that is important to many of our guests and we do recognize that this is an area that we are actively working to improve.

Thank you for all of the points that you have made. We are using your suggestions to help take our property to the next level. We thank you for your business and leaving us with an opportunity to improve.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The very high ratings of this property are not justified. At least not yet.

No reading lights in the room. Why not, when other properties put such lights directly on the beds and they work just fine? No chairs in the room. Why not, especially when there's a balcony? A folding chair was provided upon request one day, but could not be provided the day before, because there were none on hand. Elevator is painfully slow to arrive, and they say they can't add another. Area is noisy well into the night, with construction and garbage collection noise, but the hotel devotes insufficient attention to soundproofing. Breakfast room and breakfast meals are good. Nearby subway stop ceases to operate late in the evening due to local construction, so you have to walk back from 15 blocks away in those instances.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

We thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.

I know that you had mentioned some suggestions on specific amenities that that you would have liked to see in the room such as reading lamps and chairs. We have definitely taken these suggestions into consideration. We have also noted your inquiry about our elevator. Unfortunately, the design of the building would not allow for an additional elevator to be added, without demolishing the existing room types.

We are glad that you enjoyed our continental breakfast! We hope that if you are ever in our neighborhood again, that you give us a visit again. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#8 of 33 in Long Island City
1,759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#27 of 33 in Long Island City
1,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 33 in Long Island City
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#7 of 33 in Long Island City
711 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: £82 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver New York/Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing