We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing time at Hotel Vetiver!!!!”
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I returned to the hotel with my family.. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. The breakfast was awesome not to mention the gorgeous dinning area. We slept extremely well due to the wonderful mattress
The bathrooms are HUGE! the hotel feels very luxurious!!! Great price!! Great staff!!!!
We loved that we were only a few minutes away from manhattan

Decor is FANTASTIC!!!

My family and I will be returning next year!!!
Can't say enough awesome things about this hotel!

Room Tip: amazing terrace view of manhattan !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atephanieschahds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

Nice hotel for travelers with limited budget.
Good location, 50m walfk from subway (39th), 20 min from Times Square.
Pay attention during weekend nights, could be that subway doesn't stop at 39th and it's needed a 5 min walk.
Great support from the receptionist.
Breakfast OK, in line with the structure.
Room is quite large and clean, with a huge shower.
Be sure to bring an eye-cover and ear-plugs if you need dark and quiet to sleep.
I would come back again for sure, unless I win at lottery. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fra_EleMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Vetiver for 9 nights. We were a group of 15 on a trip to NYC and this was a great location to have as a base. The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and spacious (by NY standards) and you can´t beet the ease of connection to either the City or JFK. The neighborhood felt very safe and it was great to have a deli / corner store just down the block on one end and a nice little Greek diner down the block on the other. BReakfast at the Hotel Vetiver was basic (cereal, juice, bagels, fruit etc.) but it was all fresh and of a high quality. I would definitely recommend Hotel Vetiver for a stay in NY.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My wife and I were in New York celebrating our Honeymoon and we stayed at Hotel Vetiver for 10 nights. We were made to feel at home from the moment we walked through the door. The porters were swiftly on hand to take our luggage to our very large and spacious condo bed room. The shower and wash facilities were excellent. I could have stayed in the shower for hours! The room also contained a small fridge, storage unit for plates and a gas cooker if required. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were divine! The continental breakfast was a great range of bagels, cereal, yoghurts and fruit really that sets you up for the day.
The location is perfect as its only 10-15 mins to Manhattan by the metro. The balcony view in front of us was not great due to building works going on opposite but the Manhattan skyline to the right was fabulous.
The Manager Britney and the rest of her staff helped us a great deal and there was always a local on hand to provide us with the best places to eat, shop and sight see. The area had an abundance of deli's and takeaways so we never went hungry. When difficulties did arise for example when the safe in the bedroom did not work and the glass door in the shower came out of the slots, these were dealt with with great efficiency and speed. Overall, this hotel is excellent and will definitely stay here again if we come back to New York. I would recommend it to anyone.


Describe the service you experienced
Tell us how you liked the room
Talk about the location & amenities
Say what you liked best & least

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Matt, thank you for an excellent review!

I am just delighted that you were made to feel at home from the very moment you arrived! We truly believe the the level of service we offer our guests is second to none. I am so glad that you enjoyed the spacious Condo room. We typically advertise our Condo room to extended stay guests, as it has a kitchenette, with a refrigerator and large walk-in closet which is perfect for any travelers who plan on staying in the city for longer than a few days. This room boasts the comfort and space to accommodate all the clothes and luggage that can be acquired during a long stay.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast as well. We have some exciting upgrades that we will be incorporating to our breakfast area including an added variety of yogurts as well as an expanded outdoor patio area to enjoy your breakfast in. If you enjoyed the breakfast before, you would surely love our updated continental breakfast.

It is so rewarding for our staff to have examples of when we have impressed a guest. We truly appreciate your kind words and I will pass what you have said onto them! Thank you again, you and your wife were just wonderful. You kept us on our toes with your great questions about the area. We would be lucky to have you here again in the future!

Kind Regards and Congratulations Again!

Brittney Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We booked 2 superior rooms for 6 nights. The rooms were very spacious, well furnished, very clean and were even equipped with a cooker and fridge. The beds were very comfortable and large enough for 3 adults. What was missing was a reading light at the desk. The split unit air conditioner was a little noisy whenever the compressor kicked in.

Enough had been said about its excellent location close to the subway (less than 5 minuts walk). What's not mentioned is that it's about 10-15 minutes walk to the Queens Plaza subway station which has the E- express line taking you straight to JFK airport. There's an elevator which saves you lugging the luggage down the stairs. You alight at Sutphin Blvd and take the airtrain which is linked to all the airport's terminals for US$5 per person . If we had taken a taxi, it would have cost us about US$45.

I should also mention the hotel reception staff who were extremely helpful and friendly.

For food, I'd recommend the cafe at the Holiday Inn which is just across the street. The food was of excellent quality and the prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face the subway track will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_lee12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Paul, thank you for an Excellent review!

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences with Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor. I am so glad that you shared the information about the E train. Many guests do not realize that taking the train from the hotel to the airport is easy and affordable if you are not traveling with a lot of luggage. It is a short walk to Queens Plaza Station from the hotel and will end up saving you quite a bit of money.

I am glad that you found your room to be very spacious and comfortable! The Superior rooms are an excellent choice for parties of 2-4 people. I am also glad that you have mentioned you would have liked a reading lamp at your desk. We have actually received this feedback from other guests that have stayed with us and we have made plans to add lamps to every desk. I think this is a well warranted suggestion and we here are always working to try to improve the functionality of our guest rooms.

I thank you for mentioning the helpfulness of our staff. I am glad that they mentioned some of the excellent and convenient choices right in our neighborhood.

We hope to have you back soon and thank you again for thinking of our property to mention on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My boyfriend and I always stay in Long Island City when visiting NYC because you get so much more for your money. We stayed at Hotel Vetiver for 6 nights and have absolutely no complaints about the place.

The staff were more than willing to help us out with whatever we asked them and the room was unbelievably spacious and clean.

The location was brilliant, about a 2 minute walk to the subway with a direct line to Times Square. We bought a metro card to last us the week which cost us about $30. There wasn't a lot to do around the actual hotel but there were a few cafes which were very friendly and affordable

Would definitely recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a veiw of the Manhatten sky line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LottieLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with Hotel Vetiver,

You have mentioned some excellent points, which I am glad you are sharing with the travel community! Long Island City is considered one of New York City's most upcoming neighborhoods. Many travelers have discovered just how close and affordable an option LIC is when staying in NYC. I am glad the the staff was able to assist you with all of your inquiries.

Next time when you are in the area, you will have to check out some of what Astoria has to offer as well. You will find some excellent restaurants, especially if you are looking for some diverse ethnic dishes, as well as museums art galleries and shopping.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you back here soon! We have some exciting upgrades that we are making at our property that we would love you to see.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had a nice room overlooking LIC with all of the basic amenities of a typical hotel room. The service was very professional. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast although I did not have a chance to try it. It is in a good location close to the Queensboro Plaza and 39th Ave subway stops as well as the Museum of the Moving Image. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VioletteClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for an excellent review Violet!

I am so glad that you enjoyed the amenities of your room. We strive to make sure that our guest rooms are equipped and suited to the comfort of our guests. I am glad that you found our service to be professional. We have an excellent staff here and I truly believe that they are some of the most talented professionals in the business. The next time you are here, you must make use of the complimentary breakfast. We are in the process of adding some an additional outdoor patio area that I am sure you would enjoy.

I thank you again for thinking of Hotel Vetiver while on TripAdvisor. We rely on customers like you to help us get the word out about how great Hotel Vetiver is.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#8 of 33 in Long Island City
1,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#27 of 33 in Long Island City
1,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 33 in Long Island City
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#7 of 33 in Long Island City
711 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-2712
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: £82 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver New York/Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing