We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning view of manhattan, friendly staff, modern decor.”
Review of Z NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Z NYC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon and were a little nervous about it's location. We needn't have been though: the free shuttle was fantastic and the views of manhattan from both our room and the rooftop bar were fantastic. Can't recommend highly enough!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langywangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

We decided to stay at the Z Hotel, rather than in Manhatten, as we really liked the thought of the spectacular view from the rooms, as opposed to the normal Manhattan hotel which has a view of some office block or another.
Lets start with all the good things about the Z hotel. The view from the room was fantastic. We had asked to be on a high floor and the hotel arranged this. We were on the 9th floor. The view of the bridge and Manhattan is something special. Go to the roof top bar, it is even better and the bar is really buzzing. As late thirty something's, we didn't feel at all intimidated by the very hospitable staff who worked at the bars.
The breakfast was very good. Always on time and well stocked. Really nice orange juice. Makes all the difference. Again the staff were always very friendly and polite.
The shuttle into Manhattan was really cool. I believe it is a cadillac, which seats eight guests. The driver was again always friendly. I don't think many things will make New Yorkers take a second glance, but every time you got the shuttle, you could see people looking. It really was eye catching and a very pleasant way of getting into town. If you didn't want to get the shuttle, it really was very easy to get the subway, and despite warnings about the area, we felt completely safe and never had any problems. Please don't worry about the area, we found it to be fine. You can also get into Manhattan by getting the subway one stop to Roosevelt Island and then getting a cable car into Manhattan. REALLY COOL and cheap. If you get a Metro Card, it is free. Drops you off about a block from Bloomingdales.
The room was not the biggest we have ever been in, but it was adequate. It was well furnished, well cleaned, etc. Free international calls is a nice touch and it is a genuine offer. Electronic safe was a good size and a real must for me. The shower could have been a little more powerful, but I am just nit picking here. Every room faces Manhattan as the hotel is very slim, so you are guaranteed a view of the city.
OK. Enough of the good stuff, now the bad...
On check in we were greeted pleasantly and check in was quick. We got to our room, using the incredibly slow but really cool lifts, and there was a bottle of champagne, which we thought was from the hotel, as we had let them know it was our anniversary, and we had requested a high up room. There was no note, no champagne glasses and very little ice left in the wine bucket, i.e. the champagne was not cold. So we ended up drinking it from our bathroom glasses. We found out on getting home that my brother had arranged the champagne, with a very personal message which he wanted to pass on to me. This has annoyed me.
During our stay the temperature in the city was around 95F, very hot. On one occasion we were meeting friends in the city and had to be there by 6:00PM. So we decided to get the shuttle in and then the subway downtown. The whole trip would normally take about thirty minutes. We waited outside at 5:00PM after being told by reception that the transport would be there in a few minutes. We decided to wait outside in the sunshine. Twenty five minutes later still no car, even though we had been told a further three times that it was on its way. We ended up walking to the subway and being late meeting our friends. The bridge was jammed up and everything was running really slowly. I understand there is nothing the hotel can do about this, but reception were in contact with the driver and should have passed on to us that he wouldn't be back. I think the hotel should look into an additional car at peak times.
The reception staff! They know very little about the area the hotel is in, Manhattan, or pretty much anything in New York. Any time we asked a question, they just didn't know the answer. They might look good, and I am sure that is why they were hired, but they were the worst part of the hotel. Don't get me wrong, there was only one who was unfriendly, the rest were happy and polite just not informative.
Final bad thing. We booked through Expedia and paid them in advance. On arriving home we discovered that our credit card had been charged by the hotel, and when we phoned to ask why, we were told twice that they would look into it and call back, but they didn't. On the third occasion they again didn't call back, but they did refund us and send an email confirming and apologising. This was a about two weeks later. Really bad end to our Z experience.
We would return, and would actually look forward to it , as we put some of our gripes down to teething problems which any new hotel will have. We met the owner and he was a very pleasant chap, and I wish them all the best with the future. Definitely worth giving it a go, try something a little different than Manhattan.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keithf5680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

fabulous hotel. beautiful view of skyline. staff extremely friendly and helpful. certainly some of the nicest people i met in NYC. accommodations surpassed my expectations! many little things added to the luxury feel such as quality of towels, linens, even the shampoo, soap and other toiletries provided were fabulous. room with queen bed smallish but very nice. bed was extremely comfortable. be aware, no fridge. now for the few downsides. got in late on Saturday. was told to park on street, as with most NYC hotels not parking provided. got $95 parking ticket 2nd day after parking on opposite side of street from hotel main entrance. saw no signs saying i couldn't park there and staff made no mention of places not to park. burned me up a little. all spots directly in front of hotel were taken so moved car to 43rd side of building and was ok. breakfast was good with lot of pastries but more fruit would have been nice. frequently ran out of stuff on the breakfast table and were not quick to replenish. all minor issues though. probably the biggest thing to consider is proximity to subway. my wife and i used it extensively and it was half a mile walk to get to one of 3 close subway entrances. got old after a while. if you are not up for walking you may want to reconsider. of course the hotel did provide free limo service to Manhattan although my wife and i did not avail ourselves of the service. we didn't mind the walk, but it is something to be aware of if you plan on taking the subway around town every day.

overall great hotel. would certainly recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: all rooms have same view of manhattan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lhilgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I think that Z hotel is my best choice in NYC.
Just crossed the Queens bridge it has a faboulos position and a great view of manhattan, don't miss the rooftop bar at night...is absolutely amazing!!!
The rooms are small but with a great view and a lot of cool amenities, the service is perfect and the staff is young and extremely helpful.
Great complimentary shuttle service from and to Manhattan with an old Cadillac Limo.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Even though Z Hotel isn't a cheap hotel, it also isn't expensive for the quality you get. You definately get a lot of value for your money. The hotel is very new and has a nice and fancy, modern style. Most of the visitors were young, just like the (friendly) people that were working in the hotel. Even though it's not located in the city center, by metro (or limo free limo transfer) you're downtown in about 15 minutes. The breakfast is good, for American standards, and Z Hotel also has some other nice free facilities, like the limo transfer, Z Hotel flipflops and a (big) umbrella. All in all we can definately recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryseasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed here for a business trip, but took the hubby with me. It just on the other side of the Queensboro Bridge, but about 1/2 the cost of staying in Midtown. Hotel provides a shuttle into the city, however. As all NYC hotels, rooms are small, but the place was very hip and modern. Restaurant and such was not yet open. Not very convenient to the Subway. I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShortcutShari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I found the hotel via an online discounter for $128/night ("superior queen"), much less than the $189 rate advertised by the hotel itself. This is a brand new hotel (opened last month) just a couple of blocks south of the Queensboro Bridge in Long Island City. All rooms have spectacular views of Manhattan and the Bridge. The hotel provides a free shuttle to and from the city (to 58th and Park) as well as a complimentary continental breakfast (mainly pastries, juice, and coffee). Note that the restaurant hasn't opened yet and local eateries are rather limited. Subway access requires an appr. 10-minute walk (not recommended at night) to the F Line. My room was very clean and comfortable (great a/c!) and featured a bathroom with upscale towels and toiletries and a very large shower. The desk staff and drivers were exceedingly polite and helpful (and no doubt appreciated by the many European patrons). Even at the current advertised rates, this place is unbeatable.

Room Tip: Compare online discounters with hotel's own advertised rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DavidMcTier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#8 of 34 in Long Island City
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#4 of 34 in Long Island City
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravel Hotel
Ravel Hotel
#20 of 34 in Long Island City
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 34 in Long Island City
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#14 of 34 in Long Island City
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z NYC Hotel

Address: 1101 43rd Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-6814
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: £97 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Z NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Z NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z NYC Hotel New York/Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing