We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding review”
Review of Z NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Z NYC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wedding review”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Last weekend we used the Z for our base of operations for our daughter's wedding in Long Island City. Basically, we all agreed that the hotel is an excellent choice for tourists; but, could be better for wedding operations. For example, king rooms are necessities for wedding party changing, ect.; but, the hotel only offers one king room in wedding blocks. So, parents need to reserve king rooms at the higher rate. Parking is an issue during work day hours; with the closest parking building 4 blocks away. Otherwise, people are on their own finding scarce street parking closer. (Weekends and evenings are better in that regard). And, there is no room service for breakfast other than coffee for everyone dressing in the morning in the rooms. The rooftop is good for hotel pictures; but, if the weather doesn't cooperate, there are very limited indoor picture locations. In fairness to the Z, we aren't sure if the other hotels in the area are better for catering to wedding parties; but, we are sure that there is a need for a good wedding hotel in Long Island City.

Room Tip: Higher is better as long as there are no noisy rooftop parties at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    528
    162
    74
    50
See reviews for
172
718
60
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Regarding location, some might find the surrounding industry/depot businesses disturbing, but you cannot beat the stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, you have from all rooms and the rooftop-terrace. The area is quiet at night - aldo if you walk home to your hotel in the evening. Convenient with the complimentary hotel shuttlebus, but you could also easily walk to the subway station Queensboro Plaza 7 blocks from the hotel (8 min walk). In the morning there might be a bit of noice from trucks unloading stuff in the area, but you get usted to it. The rooms are very nice - staff is eager to assist you in the Best possibilistisk way with all questions you might have. The restaurant downstairs is worthwhile trying - we had dinner and breakfast there once - bóthar were great!!! All-in-all, super hotel, good value, excellent quality, convenient location and an unbeatable view of the City - highly recommended to other future guests.

Room Tip: I Think all rooms have the stunning City-view, so you cannot go wrong there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertil-Brinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We chose this hotel based on the view it offered of the New York skyline. We were not disappointed.
We spent all day in New York and wanted to stay just outside the city and were looking for a reasonably priced hotel with a view. this hotel offered both of those. The view from our room was amazing.
Yes, it is in and industrial area as it does state. But if a view is what you desire then you won't be disappointed.
We had a nice stay at this hotel. And our bed was very comfortable.
We did go up to the rooftop bar and it appeared to be closed. We were here on Labor Day Monday and maybe it is only open on week-ends.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a view, but I would imagine, the higher up, the better. We were on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandBsALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

I'm a local, and recently stayed here with my husband for an overnight away from home.
The gorgeous NYC skyline view from our room was just incredible. We certainly don't get that from our apartment.
The rooftop bar and downstairs lounge were like a W Hotel. It made for a fun night out.
They offered a very nice breakfast in a beautifully furnished lounge, and a fun free limo shuttle across the bridge. It was about 7 mins and we were already in the Upper East Side of the city.
Super easy, and super pretty. A great time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I suppose we may owe an apology to hotel guests, but we had to 'crash' the hotel's rooftop bar for what is perhaps THE best nighttime view of Manhattan. The drinks were reasonable and there was adequate seating, but all of that is secondary to the sprawling skyline that you view from 'eye level.' Be sure to bring your iphone for the ultimate panoramic photo of NYC!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The view from the rooftop, or the rooms is simply stunning. At any time of day you will love looking out at Manhattan and the Queensboro bridge. I had a room on the 10th floor away from the lifts. Although not large, it was spacious enough with a king sized bed, desk and armchair. The bathroom is small, but the shower itself is large with decent water pressure. The sink is outside of the bathroom by the door, but works well and makes good use of the space. I've certainly stayed in much smaller rooms in New York. The aircon, as others have mentioned, is noisy (one of my pet hates in hotels) and I couldn't sleep with it running, but the windows can be opened, so it was OK for me during my stay as it wasn't excessively hot.

Breakfast in the restaurant was a buffet and was pretty good value at $10 (plus tip). There were breads, pastries, cereals, fruit as well as bacon and scrambled eggs. Tea, coffee and orange juice weren't self service which was a little annoying and staff were sometimes a little slow in offering these. I also had a burger one lunchtime which was OK (not fantastic), but again, was decent value for the price.

Others have mentioned noise from the roof bar, and I did hear some bass noise one evening, but for me it wasn't a problem and didn't seem to go on very late. There were some non-hotel events at the roof bar during my stay, so as a hotel guest and not part of these, it was a little awkward when the lift door opens and you find yourself in the middle of somebody else's party - it wasn't really made clear when the roof bar was open and if hotel guest were always welcome to go - I did anyway.

Free wifi was pretty good with a reliable fairly fast conmection.

This isn't a super-luxe hotel - the fixtures and fittings aren't quite luxury standard, lifts are slow, the room access corridors are semi-open, but you are not paying luxury prices and I think this is a great value place, and the view is million-dollar. I would certainly stay again.

The neighbourhood may seem a little daunting or even scary at first glance (have a look on Google Street View), but don't be put off. The immediate blocks are light industial units; a bakery, taxi repair shops etc. But that means it's pretty quiet at night and I didn't feel unsafe at all. It's actually in a great location for subway lines with several stations within a 5 minute walk and a very quick journey to midtown Manhattan as well as JFK via the Airtrain. It's a lot better from that point of view than places I've stayed in Manhattan.

The hotel runs a free shuttle every hour to and from 59th street which is great if you don't want to use the subway or get a cab.

Walk a few blocks south (Vernon Blvd) and there are a good selection of bars and restaurants which looked so much nicer than the more tourist oriented places in Midtown - again, an advantage of the Queens location. There is also a very nice riverside park (Gantry Plaza) where you can enjoy those views and also catch the East River Ferry down to Brooklyn and Downtown which is a great trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
978 reviews
0.2 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravel Hotel
Ravel Hotel
#20 of 31 in Long Island City
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z NYC Hotel

Property: Z NYC Hotel
Address: 1101 43rd Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101-6814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Z NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Z NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z NYC Hotel New York/Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing