We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel was a Great Gem off the Beaten Path!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The Cons: The only thing missing from the room was a mini fridge but since they were only 2+ months in; I totally understand there are additions to be placed in the future. No biggy.

The Pros: On our arrival the hotel was gorgeous, fresh, modern and clean. The Front desk staff was warm and friendly. Shining stars go out to William and Dante. Very knowledgeable of the immediate area and great things that await us in (Mia Famiglia LIC Restaurant) and around the Hotel.

My room was perfect. The large windows allowed us to enjoy the Manhattan view. The pristine clean room was so refreshing. The decor of the room was spot on. I felt the room is exactly what I didn't know I wanted but expected. Because of the excellent decor we did a little photo shoot in the room.

One particular front desk staff member Dante gave us a great lesson on how the METRO systems works, which allowed us to navigate the city of NYC saving us time and MONEY. We were very appreciative that.
The timely shuttle bus to and from subway was an added bonus, although we liked to walk the strip and take in the quiet streets at Night or busy friendly streets during the day.

The restaurant in Hotel (Mia Famiglia LIC Restaurant) served us a very special Breakfast and Lunch. I loved how fresh our food was and the fact that everything was made from scratch. The Naples burger with polenta fries was a Great Kickstart to my New York adventure. I appreciate all that was done for us and I definitely would recommend this restaurant as Front Desk staff William had pointed us in their direction!

On our last day, I had numerous hours after check-out before we left NYC and our bags were held while we went out on the town. They took great care of us. PERIOD.

Room Tip: Just ask for a Manhattan view or hope that it's not busy season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigSterzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

We cannot express our deepest appreciation for your wonderful review of our brand new hotel. We consistenly do our best to make every guest feel as you did and we are delighted we succeed in enhancing your NYC experience. We would like you and other guests to know we do have upgrade rooms available at a cost that feature mini-fridges. We are very sorry we did not advise you of that.

We truly hope you make another trip to NYC soon and we will be sure to welcome you back with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with my family (one teenager and a ten year old). The hotel was very nice. The room that we had was bigger than most new york hotel rooms and very accomodating. The staff was helpful when checking in. The area was very nice. Not in the city, but nonetheless, was very well worth the cost of the room. There are a lot of restaurants in the area and we were able to park our car at the hotel. We drove to the movies one night and it wasn't very far away at all. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wifey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience with everyone. We strive everyday to make everyone happy and hope that on your next visit to NYC you come stay with us again. We wish you the very best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Functional, yet a bit too small a room. The neighborhood is desolate but close to the Queensboro bridge and good subway connections. The receptionists are welcoming and friendly. Clean and decent hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank TomerBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We would like our guests to know we do provide rooms that are various sizes and would be delighted to upgrade to large rooms at nominal fees. We hope on your next visit back to NYC you choose to try us again and we can show you another room that you can stay in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent a week in NYC, staying on LIC last year and had a blast, so we did it again this year. From this experience, I can only recommend staying somewhere else... We stayed at the Z Hotel last year and the views are outstanding. If you are looking for a view of the city from this Wyndham, there isn't one. Don't pay for the extra "view", you can't see anything, the building across the street blocks everything and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. If you are looking for just a room, stay here, if you want a nicer experience while staying on LIC, stay at the Z. If you have traveled before, the surrounding neighborhood is okay, if not, it can be a little intimidating, but it's fine. It's industrial, no one is around at night, we had no issues all week walking to the subway a night, none. This seems to be a big issue for a lot of people reviewing this hotel, but if you stay in this area, that's what you're going to get. Here's where things get interesting....The day we arrived, there was a parking space in front of the hotel that was open. We parked there. The man that owns a small coffee shop right next to the hotel was outside smoking and walked up to our car, looking at it...I saw this, but thought nothing of it at the time. When we returned that evening, a car had parked in front of ours and because there was so little space between our car and the hotel entrance, that car was on our bumper. We moved our car back to get away from this car, staying inside a white boxed area that was about 4 feet from a fire hydrant. It sat for a day, that night we came back, our car was gone. We didn't know the traffic laws, thinking this white box was the "parking area" YOU MUST BE PARKED 15 FEET FROM A FIRE HYDRANT IN NYC... Our car was towed, the hotel didn't know we were the owners, so there was not way for anyone to contact us. There is no parking on the other side of this hydrant, so it was not a safety issue, it could have been accessed, but we were towed anyway.... We had to pay $185 to get our car out of impound and the another $115 for a ticket. We were told be the judge that cars are RARELY towed for this, but we were!! My theory is that the fine man that owns the cafe called the police and had it towed because we were taking his personal parking spot, evidenced by the fact that he and his employee were parked there the rest of the week and a couple of times he was far closer than 15 FEET from the hydrant. My thing here is, tell your guests not to park there, unless of course you are trying to get them to pay the $25 a night fee to park in your lot, which is ultimately what we ended up doing. If your guests ask about parking, tell them about this parking space and about the hydrants. I would have never known, ignorance is no excuse, but come on already. I truly believe that man deliberately had our car towed and will not believe otherwise, he laughed at us when we said he was parked too close to the hydrant the next day. This could have really ruined our vacation, we had the money for the impound, the next person may not.....I really wish I had stayed at the Z Hotel, I would probably still have my $300 and had a REAL view of NYC as well. That parking space is right in front of the hotel, you can't tell me that everyone working at the Wyndham is not aware of it, I think they just choose to turn a blind eye to it...I know what you'll say Mr. Manager, we apologize that for what happened, you shouldn't have parked by a hydrant, blah blah blah, hind sight is 20/20...

Room Tip: There are no views from this hotel of NYC, only LIC, don't pay extra for this, it's a rip of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

We are sorry you did not feel like our brand new hotel located in the heart of LIC Residential and Business Community was to your liking. We do offer rooms with views and would have been delighted to provide you with a view room on the Manhattan view side should if one have been available. The room provided to this particular situation was of the View side of the hotel that feature the downtown views of LIC and all it's beautiful new hi-rises.

As far as parking we would like to advise our future guests that parking next to fire hydrant rules apply in NYC as they do nationwide. We offer parking in our lot at a very minimal cost of $25.00 per day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

just returned from my first trip to NYC. Had read a lot of poor reviews of hotels and tried this one and was not dissapointed. Lovely room, spotlessly clean with towels changed daily and room cleaned. All amenities were there and if i needed something I only had to pick up the phone. The staff were fantastic so helpful and professional, and the night manager made our stay very special with all his help and understanding. Would recommend this place 100%. The price was very competitive. thank you Wyndham staff for making our first trip to NYC memorable and brilliant.

Room Tip: we were on the fourth floor and had a lovely view of the manhattan bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We love your title as that is how we feel about our hotel located so convenient to Manhattan and in such a great and safe neighborhood. We like to provide our guests with high quality hotel in a real NYC neighborhood. There is no better way to experience NYC then how a real NY'er would and that's by staying in a neighborhood that has both residential and business living in harmony together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This hotel was very good for the price. Its location is a good alternative to those in Manhattan where you pay almost twice. The hotel is closed to the subway station. You need a little walk there but not that bad. Rooms are clean. We traveled with our 1.5 years old baby and staff was very kind in providing us with a small refrigerator in our room to store the milk and other items at no extra charge. We really appreciated that.
As negative points I think the Manhattan view of the rooms is very limited and blocked by some industrial buildings, so the name of the hotel can be misleading. We also asked for a baby crib and they provided us with one but there was no sheets and blankets for that! We had to improvise in order to dress the crib properly. It seems that they do not provide this obvious service or they simply missed that.
Breakfast was reasonable good and priced and the restaurant staff was very kind which compensated their slow service.
In general it was good for the price but if you find a good price in Manhattan, I recommend it more than this hotel because the metro ride takes you at least 1h from you time a day (door to door, both trips) and 1h in NYC is a treasure!

Room Tip: ask for the amenities of your room before arriving there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberto163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are sincerely grateful that you shared your experience with everyone and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Overall I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Things I liked about this hotel were: its a very new hotel, cleanliness, and the amazing bed. Things I disliked with this property: its not the easiest place to find, $25.00/day parking if you utilize their lot or spaces that are secured versus parking on the street, the location of the room I was given (directly across from the elevator), and the knob coming off the shower.

Again overall this stay was great and chances are I would probably stay again. But I would not rule out other hotels around the city mainly because of the location and most important the PRICE.

Room Tip: Make sure you are informed of the parking fee and Request that your room is NOT near an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanisha79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We sincerely appreciate you letting people know about your experience with us an we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 34 in Long Island City
838 reviews
1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#6 of 34 in Long Island City
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island City / New York City
Hyatt Place Long Island City / N...
#12 of 34 in Long Island City
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#7 of 34 in Long Island City
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#3 of 34 in Long Island City
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View

Address: 4429 9th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-7002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: £71 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from New York City’s midtown, the Wyndham Garden LIC Manhattan View hotel offers guests the perfect proximity to the Big Apple without the hassle or expense of a Manhattan address.This newly built hotel is located in an eclectic neighborhood of Long Island City with views of the city skyline, the East River and the Queensboro Bridge, allowing guests to take a step back and take in the city’s true beauty.Business travelers will appreciate the convenience of the 24-hour Business Center along with free Wi-Fi and copy and fax services. Those who find themselves exploring the Long Island City area can take advantage of the hotel’s complimentary local shuttle, available to take you to the nearby subway. The Wyndham Garden LIC hotel also has an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour fitness center, providing guests the conveniences needed for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing