We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Emmaus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

The hotel is brand new, shiny and clean. The people at the front desk were very helpful, parking an unexpected treat - right across the street, free and in view of our hotel room! Breakfast, altho not free, was good, very reasonable with excellent service in the hotel dining room. The neighborhood was safe enough for us to walk several blocks to the LIC Bar where my son and friends performed that night.

Room Tip: Our northside room had a great view of the Ed Koch bridge - very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyEmmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you so much for you great review. We are delighted you found our location convenient. We are also very big fans of LIC Bar and our neighborhood as well. We hope when you visit your son again you will come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    440
    196
    60
    47
See reviews for
361
318
63
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

For our first visit to NYC, we decided on this hotel after reading other Trip Advisor reviews. If you know UK / Ireland hotels, this place compares with a Jury's Inn or a Premier Inn. We booked 2 rooms; a double with 2 beds and a king - both executive rooms for a 5 night stay. We requested rooms on the same floor as one of the rooms was for our two teenagers (19 and 16). This hotel is pretty good, but let's get the negatives out the way first. Executive rooms are virtually no different from standard rooms. We know this as we had a bit of messing about with rooms on arrival to get 2 rooms close by. Full marks to Lynn on reception for sorting this out and getting us adjacent rooms! We had a rental car when we arrived. The hotel charge $25 plus tax per night for parking. It's free on the street right outside. Note to hotel - behave yourselves and sort this ridiculous charge out! OK, the positives: The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood so we managed 5 good nights sleep - very welcome after a transatlantic flight. We deliberately did not want to stay in the heart of Manhattan due to the traffic and siren noise that goes on all the time so in this respect, the location of the Wyndham did the job. It's a small hotel and the reception and concierge staff are very helpful - well done guys and thanks for looking after us. It's not a full service hotel, the onsite restaurant only caters for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast is reasonably priced and $10 per head will see you well fed, watered and and set-up for the day. There is a shuttle bus to the subway, but we didn't use this. It's only a 5 minute walk to the nearest subway - just turn left out of reception then turn immediately left and walk straight for 3 blocks and the subway is on the left. Easy! One stop on the M line takes you to Lexington at 53rd street in Manhattan - a few minutes stroll to Bloomingdale's. 5th Ave is only 3 stops, so getting to and from Times Square or Central Park is easy. I have read a lot of reviewers commenting (both positive and several negative) on the neighborhood. Well, we went exploring around the hotel on foot and also sampled some local restaurants and bars. LIC it seems is fast becoming a cool place to live. There is some very expensive condo (apartment) developments on the waterfront looking over to downtown Manhattan with new developments underway. With this new gentrification of the neighborhood comes new restaurants, cafes, bars etc. The boardwalk on the waterfront (a 5 minute stroll from the hotel) at night is magical with its gardens, pier and views looking to the Empire State building etc - and its quite peaceful / tranquil (unusual for NYC!). We had dinner at 2 local restaurants on Vernon Boulevard - both excellent. The first one is a local and authentic Italian. It's recommended by the hotel and hotel guests get a free glass of wine or a desert. Ask reception for the voucher. I can't remember the name of the restaurant and we ate there twice - but if you turn left out of reception and walk straight down Vernon for a few minutes, its the first Italian you come to on the left. It also has an authentic bakery and the food is excellent simple rustic Italian. Family run and excellent (not expensive). The other restaurant we tried was an excellent Cuban restaurant and bar called Madera Cuban Grill. This is a popular with the locals. I had an amazing 20oz steak, cooked to perfection on Friday last. There is a couple of other interesting cafes and bars close-by and the area is definitely on the up. To sum up the Wyndham Garden; it's a new built hotel so everything works. The rooms are clean and functional. The bathrooms are a wee bit on the small side, but there is a bath with shower over and the shower in our room was excellent. Rooms have air-conditioning (essential at the moment as NYC was 91F last week) however one slight criticism is the noisy air-conditioner fan / motor. The area is fairly quiet and the neighborhood on Vernon and the waterfront is pretty cool if somewhat quiet - yet the buzz of NYC, Times Sq etc is simple and quick to get at. Rooms cost a lot less here than over the river and as an added bonus, it's possible to sleep here in the City than never sleeps! We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthsiderGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are so glad we were able to sort out your room placement needs. We want to make sure that every guest who visit LIC, NYC has the best visit they possibly can. Unfortunatley, it is just the standard no matter where in NYC that parking in a lot or garage does cost something. On average in NYC a 24 hour parking lot/garage is $40.00 per day. We do only charge $25.00 per day. We also do advise our guests that the street parking is free and safe as well, but after 5pm when the companies in the area close for business for the day.

We again sincerely thank you for you wonderful review and hope to see you on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

When you first arrive, you may think - Oh Boy, what did I just do booking this location, but honestly, you couldn't find a better location for getting over to Manhattan, Brooklynn, Coney Island, or where ever you need to get to. They have a shuttle to take you to 1 of 3 subway locations, but Court Square which is only a 7 minute walk is the perfect location for accessing all the trains.

Walk over three blocks towards 48th ave on Vernon and you'll find some excellent upscale restaurants and coffee shops. Don't miss the water front promenade at the bottom of 45th - stunning views of Manhattan. Upscale and very clean and safe. 10 minute walk at most from hotel.

We went to the Phantom of the Opera and took the train. 10 minutes from Court Square. Returned home at midnight, walked back to hotel without any issues. This is a real safe area and don't let some of the older buildings put you off. This hole area is being rebuilt and is a cool place to walk around, even at night. We are in our sixties and had no problems finding everyone we spoke with friendly and helpful.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Beds are very comfortable and so were the pillows. Will definitely stay again next time we are going back to New York.

Room Tip: Only issue we found is rooms by the elevator can be a little noisy. Ask for rooms away from elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianwilson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
We really couldn't have put it better ourselves. We are so delighted you shared your LIC experience and hotel experience with everyone. We love our neighborhood and are happy to bring great service to all our guests. We know that LIC has so much to offer as does the hotel and we hope you can come back again soon and bring some friends!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed 4 nights in Room 503 (City View, King Bed).

I. Hotel:

Overall, Wyndham is a good value for $170/night. It's new and clean.
The area is safe (I grew up in NYC so I know a bad area when I see one and LIC is absolutely
fine).
Parking is very easy (even if you have to compete with the taxi drivers: There is a taxi depot across the way from the hotel). While I had a rental, I really didn't need it since LIC is only
1 subway station away from NYC.

I didn't try the restaurant(too many better options in the area) or the facilities.

The last comment I would make is about where the hotel is situated in relation to the subway stations. While there is a hotel operated shuttle service every 30 minutes, I would recommend staying at this hotel during the spring, summer and fall only. If in a rush, the 10 minute walk to the nearest station will be tough during the winter/bad weather.

Overall, I'd stay here again.

Pros
1. Mini-fridge is an available amenity (just ask).
2. You can open a window for fresh air (a huge plus)
3. Plenty of channels available via DirecTV (one issue though: See the Cons)
4. Decent sized room, very clean and new.
5. King bed was comfy

Cons:
1. Microwaves are not a available amenity (It would be nice).

2. The elevator creates a very loud "Ding" sound when it stops on the 5th floor.
Perhaps the management can lower the volume by a few decibels.

3. The A/C Unit gives off a musty smell which isn't unusual considering how humid NY is
during the summer.
-- Management -- Time to clean the A/C filters?

4. Shower Curtains, while pretty, are not functional. They are not water proof so water
will leak onto the floors during the shower. Not a big deal but had to dry the floor at the end
of each shower.

5. As a NY Yankees fan, really disappointed that the YES network was not a
available/subscribed DirecTV channel.
--Management-- Can this be upgraded?

6. Walls between rooms are fairly thin - if your neighbor has the TV on...you'll know.

II. Area/Location:

I love LIC. I currently live abroad (Hong Kong, UK) but if I were to ever move back to NYC, I would choose to live here (LIC). The area is a hidden gem.

Pros:
1. Petey's Burger
Very "In-N-Out" (for those who've had the West Coast burger)

2. There are a number of quality delis near the hotel that are open for breakfast and lunch.

3. Food Cellar: Great market for all your needs (fruit, meals, snacks, beverages, etc).

4. Extremely close to NYC (1 subway station)

Cons:

None.

Room Tip: Pay for the city view...even if you have to crane your neck a bit to see the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatInHKUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We enjoy being a part of the LIC renaissance that is occuring right now and we recognize that satisfying our guests will bring more and more people to this amazing neighborhood just 1 stop from Manhattan and with so much to do and see with in the neighborhood itself.

We sincerely thank you again and hope you come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

My boyfriend and I love Long Island City, with it's great restaurants, beautiful river-side park, and laid-back vibe. We used to frequent another hotel in the area... Oh, I'll just say it - it was the Z Hotel - which I favorably reviewed on TripAdvisor in the past. The last time we stayed there, however, we were surprised when they didn't clean our room. I could have gotten over that misstep, had they not simply shrugged in response to my inquiry as to why that happened, and stated "Nothing we can do about that". No apology, no gesture, nothing. A note was left on our bed requesting that any complaints not be written on TripAdvisor, but rather addressed directly to the owner. So I did just that; I wrote to the owner... who responded saying that he'd investigated my complaint, and determined that I was lying.

So.... #1. Screw that not-complaining-on-TripAdvisor-thing: Don't stay at the Z Hotel!!!
#2. We needed to find a new hotel.

We'd noticed the Wyndham Garden on our previous visits, as it was being built, so we thought we'd give it a try. We're so glad we did. While I would say in general that chain hotels are not our thing, the Wyndham won us over. They just did everything right. The room was modern and nice, (cheesy curtains, but really - who cares?), the bed was huge and comfortable, the bed linens were great, it was quiet, and the air conditioning worked really well. The bathroom was
nicer than we've found in any of the boutique hotels we've patronized. It had a spa-like decor, a beautiful basin sink (that is actually in the bathroom - which doesn't seem to happen very much in NYC), and plentiful towels and washcloths. There was no mini-fridge, but we made out just fine with the big ice bucket they provided.

The front desk staff was universally kind and helpful. The gym is VERY small, but the equipment is brand new and works well. There is a hotel shuttle running every half hour that will deliver you to a subway station, or pick you up.

HOWEVER, what really sealed the deal for me was this: We were celebrating our anniversary, so let's just say we spent a lot of time in our room. On the second day of our stay, a note was slipped under our door stating that as of 1pm, housekeeping reported that our "Do Not Disturb" sign was still on the door. However, if we wanted our room cleaned, we simply had to call the front desk any time before 8pm and they would give our room complete housekeeping service. Wow. They did, indeed, clean it the moment we asked, and even turned down our bed. Note to Z Hotel: THIS IS HOW YOU DO IT!

There are a million reasons why we love staying in Long Island City. Here are a few that you will probably love too:
1. Proximity to Manhattan - just a few minutes in a taxi, or a few stops on the subway, puts you right in midtown. Oh, and the price of a hotel room is a fraction of what you'd pay for a lesser room in Manhattan.
2. Restaurants - the food is great, and you can actually get a table on a Friday or Saturday night. We love El Ay Si, Testaccio, and the Corner Bistro (yep, the legendary West Village burger mecca is now also in LIC)
3. Gantry State Park - extremely cool "park-itecture", with hammocks, a playground straight from the future, awesome water features, built-in lounge chairs, a fishing dock with a working fish-cleaning station and more. It has a spectacularly surreal view of Manhattan, and - you didn't hear this from me but - no one seems to mind if you discreetly imbibe an cocktail or two while lounging around on a summery afternoon.
4. Last but not least, The Wyndham Garden. See above review.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubytuesday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Your title made us proud to know we satisfied yet another guest of our hotel. We really do want everyone who steps through our doors to have the best experience ever when visting NYC and we hope to see you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

The Cons: The only thing missing from the room was a mini fridge but since they were only 2+ months in; I totally understand there are additions to be placed in the future. No biggy.

The Pros: On our arrival the hotel was gorgeous, fresh, modern and clean. The Front desk staff was warm and friendly. Shining stars go out to William and Dante. Very knowledgeable of the immediate area and great things that await us in (Mia Famiglia LIC Restaurant) and around the Hotel.

My room was perfect. The large windows allowed us to enjoy the Manhattan view. The pristine clean room was so refreshing. The decor of the room was spot on. I felt the room is exactly what I didn't know I wanted but expected. Because of the excellent decor we did a little photo shoot in the room.

One particular front desk staff member Dante gave us a great lesson on how the METRO systems works, which allowed us to navigate the city of NYC saving us time and MONEY. We were very appreciative that.
The timely shuttle bus to and from subway was an added bonus, although we liked to walk the strip and take in the quiet streets at Night or busy friendly streets during the day.

The restaurant in Hotel (Mia Famiglia LIC Restaurant) served us a very special Breakfast and Lunch. I loved how fresh our food was and the fact that everything was made from scratch. The Naples burger with polenta fries was a Great Kickstart to my New York adventure. I appreciate all that was done for us and I definitely would recommend this restaurant as Front Desk staff William had pointed us in their direction!

On our last day, I had numerous hours after check-out before we left NYC and our bags were held while we went out on the town. They took great care of us. PERIOD.

Room Tip: Just ask for a Manhattan view or hope that it's not busy season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigSterzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
We cannot express our deepest appreciation for your wonderful review of our brand new hotel. We consistenly do our best to make every guest feel as you did and we are delighted we succeed in enhancing your NYC experience. We would like you and other guests to know we do have upgrade rooms available at a cost that feature mini-fridges. We are very sorry we did not advise you of that.

We truly hope you make another trip to NYC soon and we will be sure to welcome you back with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, oh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with my family (one teenager and a ten year old). The hotel was very nice. The room that we had was bigger than most new york hotel rooms and very accomodating. The staff was helpful when checking in. The area was very nice. Not in the city, but nonetheless, was very well worth the cost of the room. There are a lot of restaurants in the area and we were able to park our car at the hotel. We drove to the movies one night and it wasn't very far away at all. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wifey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience with everyone. We strive everyday to make everyone happy and hope that on your next visit to NYC you come stay with us again. We wish you the very best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Z NYC Hotel
Z NYC Hotel
#10 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#3 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#4 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View

Property: Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Address: 4429 9th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-7002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from New York City’s midtown, the Wyndham Garden LIC Manhattan View hotel offers guests the perfect proximity to the Big Apple without the hassle or expense of a Manhattan address.This newly built hotel is located in an eclectic neighborhood of Long Island City with views of the city skyline, the East River and the Queensboro Bridge, allowing guests to take a step back and take in the city’s true beauty.Business travelers will appreciate the convenience of the 24-hour Business Center along with free Wi-Fi and copy and fax services. Those who find themselves exploring the Long Island City area can take advantage of the hotel’s complimentary local shuttle, available to take you to the nearby subway. The Wyndham Garden LIC hotel also has an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour fitness center, providing guests the conveniences needed for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing