We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Reviewed 12 May 2014

First have to thank Andre for facilitating my brother in law and I when we visited NYC for the NFL draft last week. We had a queen bed reservation and had been asked to have a room with two beds. When one came available after we checked in, Andre came and moved us to the new room. That right there made our stay.

Aside from that, the hotel is decent and great value for the money. I would stay here again as it is close to the Queensboro subway station. We only used it for sleep, since NYC has so much to do.

Room Tip: Try and stay off Floor #1 - Its ground level and a bit dingy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for seven nights. Conveniently situated to take the subway to Manhattan(5 minutes on foot). Much cheaper than the hotels in the downtown and it's the main reason that i chose this hotel. Quite satisfying choice. Breakfast was also nice and the staff were friendly and helpful to make reservations at restaurants and concerts. ★★★★

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kyoungeunh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights and had a great time. Helpful and friendly staff every day. The rooms were a good size and cleaned each day very well. The breakfast in the morning was simple but had everything you need. The best aspect to the hotel is the location, it's within seconds walking distance of Queensboro Plaza subway station which has the 7 line and NQR (both within a few stops of Grand Central and Times Square). Definitely brilliant value for money (especially in comparison to what you can get in Manhattan for the same price) and great to stay somewhere with quality and so close to Manhattan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel room was small but clean with HD TV. They came around every day with new towels, toiletries and made our beds. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good and ended up saving us money--I'm not a picky eater. There is only one elevator that is pretty busy during the breakfast time. Once we arrived at the Queensbourgh subway stop, I was a little concerned about the area. The hotel staff assured us that it was safe and sure enough it was. We felt fine about the area and walked around in the evening with no issues. There is a grocery store half a block from the hotel called Cranberry that carried organic food items. There is also a subway stop down the street by Citi bank that has an elevator incase you can't handle all the steps. There is a food court on the ground level floor of the Citi bank building that was pretty good. We took the subway into the NYC every day and was glad to come back to this hotel as it was less congested with people. You are able to come out of the hotel without melding into a mass of people and transportation. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: We were in room 508 and could see the Empire State building from our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our flight home was cancelled for 4 days due to weather and so we managed to fine a room at this hotel. We were given a king sized bed room and allowed to extend our per day, in case we could get earlier flights. Firstly may I say we were welcomed and our situation understood. The room in total came to $530 for the 2 of us which is €360. A steal for 4 night B&B. The water was hot the room a good size and the bed comfy. TV had good array of channels. You could get the train into Manhattan very easily as you are beside the track, and no you don't hear the trains much. You can also walk across the bridge which will bring you into Manhattan around E60th a few blocks east of Central Park. Breakfast is an interesting array of foods, self service. You get apple or orange juice, tea or coffee. Then the hot plate has egg patty and sausage patty. There is a waffle maker and batter provided. Fresh fruit, yogurts, toast, pastries, it's all there. It's a small area and be sure check what time breakfast finishes they clean up fast!!
In the room, towels are provided as well as toiletries. If you are there in winter as we were, the room is a tad cold and the heater fan take a little bit to get going, when it does it's good but the air is dry so drink water and moisturise!! Cleaners in the morning are eager to clean so put up that do not disturb sign till you go out. There is tea and coffee in the room.

If you are hungry in the evening can I recommend the deli literally across the road on the corner on the left... They are mighty it place is so clean and food is amazing as well as the menu!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keara-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnlic, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Hello Keara-Rose,

Thank You so much for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad we were able to take good care of you while your flight was cancelled.

I am sure travellers from different parts of the world visiting NYC will appreciate reading about our hotel prior to their visit.

We have made a note of any small inconveniences that you shared and will be sure to make the rooms more comfortable for all our future guests.

Thank You once again for the review and we hope you stay with us again on your next trip to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

So close to Manhattan for so little per night!
Staff was super accommodating. Hotel was clean, quiet and well located.
Right near subway/bus. Small but fab for being out all day and crashing at night.
Great deal!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeeZeeOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Comfort Guaranteed

During our tour of the East coast of America in Nov/Dec 2013, we had the pleasure on two separate occasions to check into a Comfort Inn Hotel.

Once in Jefferson, New York and once in Charleston, Georgia and I can honestly say that on both occasions, the booking was made simple and dealt with easily by an efficient friendly reception staff.

Firstly, the hotel rates were extremely competitive and fair, and secondly, the rooms on offer were clean, comfortable, smoke free which is a major priority for us the lovely fresh clean room with 2 different choices of pillows was just what we required after a long day travelling!

The hotels were also well situated next to all amenities required to make your stay a memorable one and to crown it all off was the excellent variety of hot and continental food available and included in your costs, within the breakfasting lounge in the morning, well presented for all guests to basically help yourself, with fresh fruit also readily available.

A thoroughly enjoyable experience at very competitive hotel rates awaits the 'last minute' traveller booking a room like myself. And the even have the confidence in their service and product on offer to provide a money back offer if you are not satisfied, however, having stayed at two of their many hotels, I would doubt very much if anyone is not impressed with such value for money that is provided.

I would have to say I had absolutely no complaints and totally enjoyed my stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel group to all tourists/travellers like myself.

Excellent hotels with a polite, informative and attentive staff!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#32 of 34 in Long Island City
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
County Inn and Suites Long Island City
County Inn and Suites Long Islan...
#28 of 34 in Long Island City
1,889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#6 of 34 in Long Island City
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#14 of 34 in Long Island City
1,161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 34 in Long Island City
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#17 of 34 in Long Island City
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City

Address: 42-24 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range: £64 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Inn & Suites - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing