We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in no man's land - just over the bridge, and worth the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not in no man's land - just over the bridge, and worth the trip”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Adressing some prior issues cited in reviews: This hotel is not in Manhattan, granted, but it is just off the access to the Queensboro Bridge on the Long Island City end, and less that two blocks from the subway. The lobby, rooms and whole property are up to date and clean, with a modern feel and while the breakfast was crowded, the staff kept up.

It is hard to find owing to surrounding one way streets - the hotel will give you specifics if you call, but even these can be bit confusing. It's a straight two blocks from the Queens Plaza subway and about that to the 39th Street stop (Queensboro Plaza stop is further away).

It was the closest level 5 Marriott to downtown, with 10-15 minutes subway rides to midtown stops.

And from the looks of construction (across the street, though no noise on a long holiday weekend) the area may be on the verge of gentrification, at least in terms of businesses).

Room Tip: If the construction is still going on, you might want to ask for an upper floor or to face away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    205
    61
    20
    20
See reviews for
177
155
34
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is the place you end up when you try to redeem a Marriott reward night - Marriott has put all Manhattan properties, no matter what quality level, off limits to its card holders for the annual reward night.
The new Fairfield Inn has comfortable rooms but its desolate location is a distinct drawback. It is close to the 39th Avenue N and Q station (you can hear the trains rumble from your room). While breakfast is included, don't bother and take the train up to Jackson Height/Elmhurst for lots of great options. The hotel had a sign that showed the "waiting time" for different breakfast hours - a green/orange/red scale that was as off-putting as it was insulting (only the very early hours promised a non-wait breakfast). Why not work on improving the situation instead of posting such a stupid sign? In any case, if you like your morning meal, better not to bother at all.
The good staff is prompt and courteous and there is nothing wrong with the rooms: a comfortable bed, good shower, nice TV.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epices6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarence G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful 4 day visit! I read previous reviews before deciding to book this hotel and I'm very happy with my decision. I was with 6 other family members and they were happy as well! This hotel is a $15 taxi ride or $2.75 subway ride(1block away from hotel) to Midtown Manhattan. Subway is very easy... Take E train to Penn Station, Soho, World Trade Center & more!

The hotel is located in an area just over Queensboro bridge. Not much going on, (reason for 3 on location) but it looks like an upcoming area. It's CLEAN and offers a continental breakfast of Bagels, Muffins, Toast, Fruit, Yogurt, Cereal, & Make-it-yourself Waffles. Coffee/Tea/Hot Chocolate avail 24/7. This was fine for me as I ventured out to other areas for brunch and finer dining anyway.

The front desk and staff throughout the hotel were very warm & friendly. There is a small bar in lobby area, the bartender Terrence offers outstanding 4 star customer service!!! He's very informative goes above and beyond to provide quality service. This hotel is very lucky to have him in my opinion. Thank you!!

Overall, I enjoyed my stay & best part is paying half price of Manhattan hotels!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venus222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Fairfield Inn in Feb 2014. We are happy with our stay there.
Pros:
1. short distance to Manhattan by subway, 5 minutes shuttle ride from Hotel to Subway then 15 minute train ride to Times Square,
2. clean room, clean bathroom with sufficent bathing supplies
3. good breakfasts, lots of food variety, sufficient tables to accomodate guests
4. good shuttle service to and from the 33rd street subway. Shuttle schedule is frequent, runs every 30 minutes
5. helpful staff. Willing to answer questions and show us the way to avoid traffic when we check out
Cons:
1. The hotel is located in an industrial area, with no resturants or retail stores around.
2. Insufficient under-ground parking spaces. There are only parking spaces for 8 to 9 cars, but there are free parkings on the streets nearby

Overall we are very satisfied with our stay in Fairfield Inn at Long Island. The price is good for a hotel which is close to Manhattan. We will certainly return if we come to NYC again.

Room Tip: 7 days unlimited MetroCard costs $30 ppl. We did not buy it. Instead we buy 1 reloadable MetroCard f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The room was clean, the staff was okay. Was supposed to have breakfast there but the "breakfast man" was out that day so they had just oatmeal, plus it wasn't kept tidy. I have never stayed at the Fairfield brand of Marriott and from this experience I'll stick with the Courtyard and Residence Inn brands of Marriott.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tibby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarence G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. We do serve breakfast every morning for our guest. It is our goal to make sure our guest leave the hotel 100% satisfied. Your comments will help up maintain and continue meet our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed at Fairfield Inn as a surprise for Valentines Day. My boyfriend picked the deluxe suite that had a jacuzzi. The jacuzzi added a very romantic touch to the room especially since it was in the bathroom, but there were also windows that lead to clear access to the room. The room was very simple and modern. Flat screen t.v., electronic safe, iron and ironing board. The view could have been better if there wasn't a "Sterling Studios" parking lot and a factory with large cylinders blocking the NYC skyline. Breakfast included: eggs, sausage, turkey sausage, cereal, bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt and coffee (starbucks). I really wished they offered waffles or pancakes. When we called the front desk, the receptionist was very accommodating. The fitness center was very basic, just two treadmills and a simple weight rack. Overall a very good stay. I would come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielledesir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is two blocks from the 39th street station. It's 5 blocks for Queensboro Bridge, so I'm not sure why Marriott decided to advertise this as Queensboro.
There was no visible sign on the outside of the hotel from the subway line or 31st street. I had to call the hotel for directions. Although the room was nice, there was an old humming all night. I don't know if this was because my room was near the elevator or if it was the heater. Okay stay, but I wouldn't stay here again. The only reason I did is that I had a reward certificate and this was one of the only cat 5 hotels in the city. Staff were nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enzfrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarence G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are considered Queensboro, as the hotel is 2 blocks from the Queensboro Bridge. The hotel does have signs in compliance with the City of Long Island City, NY. Again, thank you for your feedback as we take all our guest comments seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 32 in Long Island City
722 reviews
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 32 in Long Island City
1,000 reviews
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#12 of 32 in Long Island City
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,200 reviews
Boro Hotel
#3 of 32 in Long Island City
542 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 466 in New York City
9,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Address: 2927 40th Rd, Long Island City, NY 11101-2801 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge)
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing