We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good property without Manhattan hotel rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good property without Manhattan hotel rates”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a solid choice if you don't want to pay Manhattan hotel prices and don't mind taking the subway. This hotel in Queens, just two subway stops from Manhattan. It's located in Long Island City, a gritty, post-industrial neighborhood that only recently has become more residential, so it's a little gritty. The N train overpass is right next to the hotel, but rooms are quiet (we stayed on the 12th floor). The rooms somewhat nondescript, but clean and comfortable. Complimentary WiFi offers a strong signal. The complimentary breakfast is okay, only offering basics—you're better off heading into Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    209
    62
    20
    20
See reviews for
180
158
35
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting NYC.
The hotel is conveniently located just outside Manhattan but near multiple subway stations (within 5-10mins walking). It never took us more than 20 mins to get to Times Square or thereabout.

The staff is very friendly & professional while still being very young :)

Location of the hotel is in a one-way street next to the above ground subway. You have some noise from it (alongside the typical city noise of cars honking and police sirens). We stayed on the top floor and never lost any sleep for the noise. So for us this was not an issue at all.

Free breakfast is the usual US continental stuff with some pieces fo fruit added (fruit salad, apples, bananas).

The hotel offers a car service to the ariports which come out cheaper than the taxi fare (for us at least to JFK). The also were more than willing to keep our luggage the last day until 4pm while we still visited the city.

All in all, we really enjoyed this place and would definitely come back here next time we are in NYC.

Room Tip: From the higher rooms on the streetside you have a view on the NYC skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This review is based on a two night stay to attend a wedding in Queens and to visit friends in Midtown Manhattan.

This is a new hotel in an "up and coming" part of queens. There is nothing in the vicinity of the hotel but you are within a 5 min walk of several subway lines. I took the 7 train to get into Manhattan. The area near the hotel felt safe (I feel safe everywhere in NYC), but it is a little desolate, especially late at night.

Room was perfect and the free breakfast was fairfield standard (actually very good). Breakfast room/hotel lobby is very nice with ample power points.

Overall a very good value option if you are okay getting the subway into Manhattan or to your destination in the city and want to avoid the super high Manhattan hotel prices.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MR_Gold_IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed in the Fairfield Inn and Suites for 19 days this past February 2014 to help our son and his girlfriend. The staff there is amazing--especially Jasmine at the Front Desk!! They/she made me feel right at home and helped with anything I needed while I was there! They had a great free breakfast and a nice evening restaurant/bar!! The weather was terrible, but the staff really made my stay THE BEST ever!! The location is wonderful, too--right over the Queensboro bridge is mid-town Manhattan!! Will definitely stay there on my next visit to NYC!!

Room Tip: High floors are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naplesnurse74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for around a month in March 2014 and it was a pleasant experience. The property is new and well maintained. The breakfast spread was wholesome with courteous staff around. Good wifi and other amenities. All in all a good setup. If you are travelling to Long Island or queens ... Try this place. Well connected by trains too.

Only suggestion I have is that the place is highly under marketed. Please put up dorm big boards on top for it to be visible from far. Not easy to spot it.

Thanks

Room Tip: Single king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaurmayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here last week at the back end of a business trip before flying out of LaGuardia. It is about a 10 minute cab ride from LGA, but it is only a block from the subway station. I took the subway into Manhattan for the afternoon.
The hotel was good, but the staff was amazing. Both the afternoon staff and morning staff went above and beyond to make my staff perfect. In fact, one of the guys even gave me a phone charger after I mentioned i left mine in the last hotel.
I will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveinidah0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a short visit here after our flight from LaGuardia was cancelled.
The overall quality is good and what you would expect from somewhere backed by the Marriott brand. We were pretty tired when we arrived but found the beer cold and the food menu although limited was perfectly OK for bar food. At the bar we ended up talking to the hotel management team who were great company and clearly passionate about the hotel. We paid well over the odds for our room but that is what you expect when flights are cancelled with hotels close to the airport - that said the day to day rate for the hotel looks very competitive for what you get. As for the room this was very spacious and clean - you also get free wifi! The breakfast in the morning was excellent - with a wide variety of hot and cold food and I especially enjoyed making my own waffle.
I am not sure about the location but if you want a friendly hotel with good sized rooms and a decent price (though not when your flight has been cancelled!) then this is one well worth considering.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
735 reviews
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,025 reviews
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#11 of 33 in Long Island City
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,347 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Address: 2927 40th Rd, Long Island City, NY 11101-2801 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge)
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Marriott, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing