We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paris in LIC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tournesol

Tournesol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$50
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional French Bistro from south west of France.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Paris in LIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I have been here many times and each is a memorable visit. The food is consistently delicious, authentically and carefully prepared. Monday to Wednesday they have a great prix-fixe that includes some of their specialties. Weekend brunch is excellent. Friendly staff always accommodating and knowledgeable, their food and wine recommendations have been excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vidalarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    52
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Läufelfingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Taste of France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife & I recently moved to New York from Europe and Tournesol is the closest we've come to some of our favorite French/German restaurants.

Located just 1 block from the Vernon-Jackson 7 Train stop Tournesol is easily accessible from Manhattan, Brooklyn or further out in Queens.

If you're going on a Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday, be sure to take advantage of the $25.00 fixed menu. A 3 course meal for $25.00 is hard to beat.

This is a great place for anyone looking for a high quality dinner without paying Manhattan prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jordan_p_hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Little piece of Paris in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

This place was amazing! From the food to the stage to the atmosphere! It feels like you've been transported to a small cafe in Paris! The other patrons were speaking French, the waitstaff were speaking French, the food reminds me of a small cafe near the Tour Eiffel!
If you want a great place for French Food! This is the place! Most authentic I've had in my 12 years in NYC!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYC_Leasure_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“home made french food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is not one of the molecular gastronomy places. If you line home made french food inspired by peasant french dishes, you should definitely visit Tournesol. I hope you will enjoy it :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I love on this restaurant every weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I have been coming here nearly every weekend since this restaurant opened primarily for brunch, but also an occasional dinner. Hands down this is the most reasonably priced menu in all of NYC, and also extremely charming. Family run and all French, some have posted the staff aren't friendly - not in my experience at all. I find the entire staff friendly and accommodating. While I would like to see a little variety on their menu, I still keep coming back and haven't been bored yet. I've tasted nearly everything and their gazpacho soup is to kill for - it's amazing. If you ask super nicely, sometimes they will whip up escargot for brunch even though it isn't on the menu. I'll be there for brunch tomorrow too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tournesol also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to Tournesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing