We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insanely Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Paper Factory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I found this hotel online for a ridiculously affordable amount considering it was in New York. I was sceptical that the price was so good, but boy was i impressed!! The atmosphere just walking into the hotel alone was incredible. The industrial theme was a great choice for decor, the decorations throughout the lobby were impressive and cool. The music in the back ground was a great vibe. Our bedroom was fantastic! If I had to live in a dorm room for school or decorate a guest bedroom in my house, I would model it after the room we stayed in. The shower in the bathroom was a great size, overall the room was clean and tidy and just perfect all around. If you have a family and do not want to be right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of New York, but close enough that transportation does not cost you an arm and a leg, then this is the place to stay. Don't even get me started on the staff, they were absolutely AMAZING!! Specifically one staff member named Maria. She was on top of everything for us, anything we asked, in a blink of an eye she had it for us, she took pictures for or, and was probably the only person who pointed us in the right direction every time we needed to go somewhere. She was welcoming, always had a smile on her face, and overall just a lovely girl!
The only negative thing I have to say is that there is no restaurant in the hotel, but that is only because it is brand new and just opened in december. I did see it being built and it looks as amazing as this hotel. I cannot wait for us to come back and see what the finish product looks like!!!
Thanks for making our trip even that more special The Paper Factory Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor when booking your room so you can have a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nadia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Nadia,

What a wonderful read! You completely felt and experienced exactly what we are offering to all of our guest's on a daily basis- SERVICE.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and please make sure to be on the look out as Mundo; our Restaurant, Bar and lounge will be opening its doors very soon.

Thank you again and looking forward to being of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my daughter and her friend this past Wed-Sat. Her friend was invited last minute but I didn't want to pay for a cot. The 3 of us shared a HUGE, COZY bed. This hotel is just plain cool and the customer service is beyond excellent. It is very creatively decorated. The rooms are huge and full of beautiful light. The outside sounds were very muted. The bathrooms are big, clean and gorgeous. The rooms are decorated in a way that combined my love of all types of art AND recycling. I was basically in hotel heaven. The M and R trains were right across 36th st and an easy trip to the city. My biggest advice is about the subway. If you take the M or R, you can get off at 36th and Northern. Getting off another train (R) you will need to get off at 39th. Be aware that there is a 36th ave aif you are looking at a map. Getting off at the 39 station you must walk towards Northern. Walk down to 36 STREET. We got turned around the first day because we were unfamiliar with the area. Look at your door key. The subway lines and stops you need are on the key, and a map. It was very helpful. There is parking for 13$ per night at 30-30 Northern. They were great as well! Stay here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Dear Khloe,

It was a pleasure reading your review and we are so glad that you, your daughter and her friend enjoyed your stay.
Some of your suggestions were spot on and would certainly help that next guest who needs some assistance.

Thank you again and looking forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I've been a regular visitor from the UK to New York for over twenty years and The Paper Factory is the best value hotel I've ever stayed in there. The 'industrial-chic' makeover of the building is cool and well done, the staff are equally cool but welcoming and friendly. Rooms are spacious and comfortable (in a way that is unheard of Manhattan for this price). The neighbouring area of Astoria is an up-and-coming location and anywhere in Manhattan is easily accessible from a subway station that is only a few yards from the hotel's front door (the late night E train stops there too so you can even get back on the subway late nights). The soon-to-open bar and restaurant will be a great addition (I just hope they won't raise the room price too much!) ... If you need a break from the city buzz, on a sunny afternoon, there's even a sun deck too! (see pic!) If you want to stay somewhere cool, authentic and inexpensive it will be hard to find anywhere better than The Paper Factory.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zabriske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Dear Zabriske,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on the Paper Factory Hotel. Even if I wanted to write a review on the hotel, I'm not sure if I would be able to do a better job then you did.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we wish for you to let us be of service yet again in the near future.

Thank you again and nice picture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Newyorkcitytrippers have definitely given this hotel their stamp of approval! Wow, wow, wow, what a great place! Friendly staff, good location (subwaystation right across the street), nice bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood. Glad we decided to check out Queens. We very much enjoyed it. Follow us for things to go see and do when visiting New York City!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYCT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Valued guest,

It was a real pleasure having you stay with us and we want to thank you for the wonderful review of the Hotel not only on Tripadvisor but also on newyorkcitytrippers.

We are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to servicing you again in the near future.

Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I could go on and on about how much I loved staying at this hotel. We got married and had set up rooms for us and our family members to stay here after the ceremony. We met up here before hand to get dressed and ready. There wasn't enough time to take pictures in Manhattan before the nuptials but the backdrop of this hotel was better than anywhere in the city. The staff was so accommodating and let us go all over to get some great shots. The space is absolutely amazing and every detail is there! The rooms are spacious and so comfortable. We stayed in one of the king executive sweets and it was more than accommodating. I especially loved the HUGE shower. The staff was super friendly and helped us out with anything we needed, and even left a beautiful bottle of champagne in our room for when we got back. They pretty much rolled out the red carpet for us and it was so appreciated!!! Staying there was honestly the highlight of the wedding and I kept saying all weekend how much I loved it there!!! They are currently setting up for a bar and restaurant there and I can't wait to go check it out seeing as I only live about two miles away. I also am planning on going back to spend our one year anniversary. I highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to NYC. Its a block away from a main subway and about 5 min from Manhattan, its a very decent price for what you get and the best staff you could ever ask for! They also have great coffee in the main lobby!
Thank you Paper Factory Hotel for everything you did to make our wedding day so magical!!!
We will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Good day Erin,

I hope that this message finds you and your husband well.
It was a pleasure having you and your wonderful family stay with us, (please send them our love).

The pictures our staff took were memorable for us and will stay in our hearts forever. My ultimate favorite were on the scooter and the old telephone booth.

We can't wait for you to return for your one year anniversary, but I have a feeling we will see you guys before that one year mark.

Thank you once again for leaving a memory in our hearts that will last a lifetime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Paper Factory is a classy hotel without the snobbishness of many big hotels. They have converted an old paper factory and kept many of the old features of the building. The interior design touches are nice and our room was large with very high ceilings. Bring some "white noise" such as the White Noise app, because there is no carpeting and no sound-deadening in the rooms. The restaurant was not open yet but there is a coffee stand that has coffees, bagels, and pastries. We will be back when we visit our daughter in Astoria again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Infreque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello Dear future return guest,

It was a pleasure servicing you at the Paper Factory hotel and thank you for all the kind words. Please be aware that we are tackling the noise issue in some of our rooms with specially made acoustic panels which will reduce the noise dramatically.
Mundo restaurant, Bar and Lounge will open it's doors in the first days of August and like yourself we are excited and looking forward to offering an amazing experience.

Thank you again and looking forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Paper Factory hotel is just that, a renovated and repurposed factory building in Queens. It's right across the street from the M and R subway lines which will get you to downtown in minutes (even for the neophyte subway traveler).

The staff is attentive and helpful.

The rooms are well done, roomy (especially for NYC) and nicely appointed. There are many good restaurants within walking distance and the word is that a gourmet joint is moving into the building.

Oh, and for those adventurous enough to drive into NYC, the neighborhood is such that on street parking is easy to find and reasonably secure.

We'll definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face Northern Boulevard. They have done a good job with sound proofi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter9872014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Peter,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and our decor. As you now know and see we did not spare anything when it came to our decor.

We are looking forward to your next stay and by then our restaurant "Mundo" will be in operation so it will be a new unique experience same as you've experienced with the hotel but now with Food and Beverage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#4 of 34 in Long Island City
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 34 in Long Island City
1,101 reviews
1 mi away
Z NYC Hotel
Z NYC Hotel
#10 of 34 in Long Island City
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 34 in Long Island City
805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ravel Hotel
Ravel Hotel
#21 of 34 in Long Island City
758 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#6 of 34 in Long Island City
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paper Factory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paper Factory Hotel

Address: 3706 36th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-1604
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range: £104 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paper Factory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paper Factory Hotel is a boutique hotel. A former paper factory that was transformed into a luxurious building manifesting a sophisticated style at great value. Only 10 minutes away from midtown Manhattan. Our event spaces cater to whatever you desire, from conference rooms to celebrations. We take pride in redefining the ultimate Guest Experience as you know it and making the Impossible-Possible! We look forward to Inspire and be Inspired! We Live, We Love, We Inspire, We Travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Paper Factory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paper Factory Hotel New York/Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing