We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Paper Factory Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham Garden Long Island City(Long Island City)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Z NYC Hotel(Long Island City)(Great Value!)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Vetiver(Long Island City)(Great Value!)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View(Long Island City)(Great Value!)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel(Long Island City)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge(Long Island City)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
333
258
112
43
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
258
112
43
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunique hotelnew yorkfun hotelcool hotelmoving imageindustrial looksubway entranceshower curtainsuper closehotel restaurantaverage hotelbagelslaguardia airportstreet noiseindustrial areanyc areaice machine
Filter
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Actually the hotel's interior design is "cool" and trendy. It used to be a paper factory which they've converted into a hotel. A mix of industrial and minimalist design - but not one particular theme. They have an old Vespa in the lobby which I didn't quite understand what it was doing in a paper factory.

They also have a cool covered patio though. The view is nothing at all, but the feel and design is nice.

And that's what you pay for. Granted, it's in NYC so you won't be paying less than $100/night.

Rooms are decent size, with hardwood floors - which squeak at times. Shower was completely separated from the rest of the bathroom - which is a good feature. But that means it's a really small stand-in shower, and the other part of the bathroom is narrow. But the worst part about the bathroom is lack of a fan! And with no window either, you can imagine the unpleasant situation.

And another part of trying to be trendy and upscale is their choice of shampoo as well. But instead of providing a soap bar, they have a tiny bottle of shower gel. I don't know about others but the only way I can properly wash my body with shower gel is by using a loofah. Which, thankfully, they didn't have.

We turned the A/C on for a while and had to turn it off again cause it got too cold and it was blowing air right at us when sleeping. There's no way of adjusting the temperature.

It has been a while I haven't been to a hotel which had no coffee in the room. All they provide was two mini bottles of water and two small cookies. If you want coffee, you'll have to buy it from their small coffee shop in the lobby.

The area is eh, so -so. It's right on the border of an industrial area of Queens and a working class residential one. If you're going there by car, you'll have to find parking yourself. Good thing though it's close to subway stations which take you into Manhattan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shqipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Shqipo,

Thank you for reviewing our property and for showcasing some of your experiences at the Paper Factory Hotel. We take every comment from our guest's very seriously and have done the same with yours.
The air conditioning in the room certainly can be adjusted both with the fan speed, temperature and especially the blowing direction of the vents, which I think would have made your stay more comfortable.
We as a team have decided to go with a more expensive and sanitary option for our guest's when it came to the bathroom amenities (shampoos, bath gels, etc.) At the same time I thank you for the suggestion.
In closing, I want to thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope that some of the challenges you experienced do not deter you from visiting us again and allowing us to service you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Old paper factory nicely converted into antique but modern taste boutique type hotel. Equipped with everything necessary for any business traveler. Surrounding is a bit noisy. High ceiling is nice, but there's a room for improving dining facilities, currently only one coffee stand is running, as far as I see.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Eiji O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Eiji,

Thank you for your most recent comment and survey of the Paper Factory Hotel Long Island City. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are a looking forward to your next stay.

You mentioned the cafe and I want you to be aware that our restaurant, Bar and Lounge are weeks away from opening and I hope that you come back to experience the next level of service we are providing.

Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and i went for a quick vacation to NYC and after looking at many options we decided on this hotel.
Plus: the hotel has a lot of character, is new and really comfortable, good size rooms and the location is very convenient, out of the city but right in front of the sub entrance.
Minus: the cleanness is really poor. I was cold and wanted to use a blanket, but it was full of hairs and smelled awful! The next day, you could tell that they really didn't clean the bathroom. The last day of our visit, we had a problem with the lock of our luggage, and even though we asked, no one helped us; thank God the crew of the airline where we were flying did.

If you decide to stay here, please do not buy the rate that includes breakfast. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant and the breakfast is served on their coffee stand. They offer only juice, tea and very limited options of pastries.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Ana,

Thank you much for your most recent survey and comments on the Paper Factory Hotel In Long Island City. We take every survey very seriously and act upon each and every comment our guest's have made.
It is unacceptable for the lack of cleanliness service you've experienced and we are looking into this matter with a microscope because this is the essence of our business and from what I'm hearing we have not met your expectations or even came close.
The Food and Beverage in the building is growing with a Restaurant, Lounge and Bar which will change your dinning experience. We are weeks away from this to be opened.

Average is certainly not us and we are doing everything in our power to ensure that we are well above average and your home away from home when travelling to NYC.

Thank you again and we hope to be of service in the near future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here 4 nights after seeing the good reviews and photos online. It was our 4th visit to NY but the first with a car so we needed somewhere outside Manhattan where we could park (easy roadside parking near hotel for free) and The Paper Factory was perfect. The interior is as other reviewers have described...funky and cool. We loved the leather sofas in the lobby area and the table football. There are two lifts so we had no problems as other reviewers have described. Noise does carry though especially in the corridors but that was probably due to some inconsiderate guests leaving at 3am and shouting along the corridor...must have woken everyone up. We complained about the noise and were promptly given another room at the end of a corridor and much quieter. The staff were polite, friendly and very helpful. The subway for 36th street is virtually opposite the hotel and only 3 stops to 5th Avenue...perfect..easy and quick. The area around the hotel felt safe to us and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends and family. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank traveller67Chorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Chorley,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about the Paper Factory Hotel, Long Island CIty.

We at the property welcome all comments and thank you again for your time. I am glad that our staff was courteous, service oriented and accommodating, we take pride in servicing our guest's to the highest levels.

Thank you again for surveying your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had my wedding in LIC and my family and friends stayed at the hotel. The staff (especially Rinat) were extremely accommodating and friendly. The hotel has a really unique feel, extremely clean, and spacious.Cannot say enough good things about the hotel and staff. My husband and I will surely be back for another stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EmyR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest and Newlywed,

We are so happy that you got to enjoy your first days as newlyweds at the Paper Factory Hotel and that we are part of your everlasting memories. We are also glad that Rinat assisted you to the fullest and that she made the difference in your stay.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us (perhaps your 1 Year anniversary). Congratulations again and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews