We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not bad at all!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in Septmeber. I was nervous about staying here based on many of the not so great reviews, but my bridezilla sister in law insisted we stay here. I have to admit, it was not that bad! When we arrived (before check in time started) our room was not ready, however they let us leave our bags at the front desk and we got some lunch. When we returned, our room was ready. we were in a corner room with 2 queen beds. The room was tight, but very manageable once we put all of our belongings away. If you are a slob, you will find this (and probably any room) too small. The room was very clean. The carpet was fine ( several reviews complained about the carpet) however I never walk barefoot in any hotel room. The bathroom was also very clean. Again, not a lot of counterspace, but if you keep just the essentials out that you need, there is more than enough room to function. The bathroom did have three very bright lights that you could turn on that made the room appear not so confined, I liked that a lot. The hotel is really less than 2 blocks from the #7 subway station. The location of this place really could not have been any better. They do have breakfast in the morning, not a grand spread, but cereal and bagels and juice- several complaints about this, but seriously, what else is there to eat for breakfast? If you're looking for something bigger there is a Pete's diner a block away. We went there once, I thought it was kinda dirty, but people rave about it. Several people commented about the coffee not being good, and that is the truth. So have some juice and grab a coffee at the McDonalds (open 24 hrs by the way)next door on your way to the subway. We did take advantage of the free parking. It's true, it is a small lot in the back of the building and it is first come first serve. Fortunately, we always got a spot. There is some street parking as well. You dont need a car in NYC, please utilize the subway, however, we were in town for a wedding, and my in laws had theirs. There is one small slow elevator, but how many elevators are fast?!?!? it was working, and got us from floor to floor. Our room was right by the stair well, and the door does slam shut, however, not many people used it, so it was not a problem. The front desk staff were ok. Didnt deal with them a lot, but i did notice that most times there was no one at the front desk. There was a computer room with 2 computers and one that prints for free, so that helped when we had to print some tickets! So honestly, it was not that bad. I wasn't expecting to be treated like I was at The Ritz. We were out and about most of the time and had a nice clean room to come home to. Oh, the beds were super comfortable! The maid came every day. The furnace/air conditioner worked well, we were adjustung it as needed. It is nothing glamorous, but it's a decent solid clean place to stay after a busy day in NYC. We also felt safe at night walking home from the subway. There is a CVS down the street as well. I must admit, Im eating crow for not wanting to stay here, but it turned out well.

Room Tip: We faced the back overlooking the parking lot. The subway is in front of the building, so I would im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellyann89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    332
    194
    78
    76
See reviews for
261
243
57
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I've stayed here on 3 occasions and have been happy overall with my stay. Staff are friendly and it is very close to subway, which goes into Times Square. You can also get the Q60 bus outside down to the Queens mall which has some excellant shops.

The only gripes I have is the noise, the ground floor room I was in was very bad, I think the fact that the airconditioner was mounted through the window was the problem - it just let too much noise in. And the ice cube machine in the hallway makes a lot of noise for no reason.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMcDonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

With the La Quinta name stamped on it, hopefully you won't expect this to be a cater-to-your-every-whim fluffy-pillowed hidden diamond in Queens.

If you do, you'll be disappointed. If not, it's a comfortable, safe location just a couple blocks from the local 7 subway line (to be pedantic: out here, the subway is actually an elevated train). One direction takes you straight into Mets-Willets Point station, which gets you to Citi Field (Mets) or the Billie Jean King tennis center (tennis, obviously). If you go one stop further to the end of the line in Flushing, there is a shopping center with a Target, Best Buy, and several places to eat (handy if you get tired of buying $10 burgers). The other direction on the 7 line takes you all the way in to Times Square/42nd Street.

We stayed here for the US Open and found it to be perfectly located. There are a couple options for food; though nothing spectacular. A 24 hour McDonalds is right next door if you're in a pinch or check in at some ungodly hour - but be warned that the service there sucks. Many of the local places deliver. I highly recommend checking out Pete's Diner down the street; they're open 24 hours and have quite the extensive menu.

Cosmetically, the facility shows some wear and tear. A (unnecessary) towel ring was half-torn off our wall in the bathroom. The bathroom itself is small but nice, with granite tile and countertop. The shower has plenty of pressure and hot water, though turning it to shower mode is somewhat bizarre--pull the gold faucet ring where the water comes out to switch to showering. It's also worth noting that there are no handles/grab bars in the shower/tub. The tub floor is textured, but if you don't have sure footing the tile floor could be a bit treacherous, as could tub entry or exit.

Breakfast is included with your stay and has a reasonable variety of choices if you're the grab-and-go sort or the typical person who eats a bowl of cereal at home. Muffins, juice, that sort of thing - but hey, it's free. On the other hand, if you are accustomed to $30 made-to-order breakfasts you should probably look elsewhere.

We didn't need to park a car, but I spoke to more than one of the other guests that mentioned the parking sucks. Not enough spaces, it seems. In addition, we had to get our keys reset four times during our 8-night stay...tremendously annoying since we were on the top floor (and no, we didn't keep the keys next to phones or other cards, which can cause that to happen).

In the room itself, the bed was comfortable, you get a bunch of tiny pillows, and the A/C is a wall unit that seems incapable of keeping the room at just the perfect temperature. However, though it seems to be either too hot or too cold, it does stay consistent - so keeping it a bit cool and using blankets worked for us. Like most other low-rise places in NYC, you can hear street noise at night. Asking for a high floor (5 is as high as it goes) near the back mitigates this a little bit as far as the trains go, but you can still hear anyone than honks or sirens that fly by. Fortunately, both of those noises seem to be less common here than in downtown Manhattan. Despite being a no-smoking facility, our room had a faint cigarette odor, and a cigarette burn in the quilt.

The ice machine on the fifth floor had a couple bugs frozen in the ice on the first day, making me question how safe it was to drink the water. On the last day, it wasn't working altogether. No ice machine on the 4th floor, but the 3rd floor machine works great.

If you like to sleep in, take a pass on this one; you can hear doors slamming and kids running up and down the hall as people start to get up.

Overall - a decent place to crash if you'll be busy. If you'll be spending a lot of time in your room, though, you get what you pay for in NYC.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room on the south/back side of the hotel. Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WalkingBrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

The hotel is very nearby to the metro station and there are lots of eateries nearby . Rooms are comfortable and spacious . My place to stay whenever I travel to new york .
Breakfast is small , but is ok .

Location also seems to be ok . So faced no problems .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights Labor Day weekend with my husband. We had tickets to the U.S. Open tennis on the Sunday so we wanted to stay in the area to be close to the tennis stadium and also to avoid typical high hotel prices in Manhattan. La Quinta is about 30 minutes from the tennis stadium on public transportation so it suited us location wise. We spent Saturday in Manhattan/Brooklyn and again they're really easy to get to on the 7 train which you can pick up only a couple of blocks from the hotel. The hotel itself is basic (no frills here!) but it was perfectly adequate for all our needs. Free parking, a little free breakfast in the morning which was a nice touch(cereal, muffins, juices etc), the rooms were relatively spacious and clean, A/C, ice machine, little fridge and coffee maker in the room. This is the kind of place you stay when you're on a trip for other reasons! For example, you're sightseeing all the time, or you're going to the Open like we were. The hotel is definitely not a destination on its own but a good place to sleep! There's no restaurant in the hotel which is a little unusual but....once you're aware of that you can plan accordingly. There are a lot of places to eat nearby some of which also deliver and if you get really desperate, McDonald's is next door! The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and overall I was satisfied with my experience here. I wouldn't be staying here again unless maybe we were going to the Open again. But this hotel is fine and functional for a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GotTravelBug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our previous stay in New York (Brooklyn) was a little scary. It was a brand new hotel. However, it was in an area that was less than ideal. We made sure we were inside before dark. This time I did a lot of research before picking a hotel. The La Quinta in Queens was indeed the right choice. It was clean, everything worked, it was only 2 blocks to the subway, and had a decent choice of restaurants nearby. We felt safe on the streets outside and at the subway stops near the hotel. The price was good too. Pete's dinner nearby was convienent, however there are better places not too far. Take the bus right outside the front door, and in about 10 minutes, get off at Grand. There is a mall and in it an Outback Steak House and a Red Lobster. We ate at both. The 7 and the M or R subway will also get you there. I felt very happy with our stay here, and I know you will too. Oh, and by the way, to operate the shower pull the little ring around the nossle in the tub down. We didn't see it and had to ask.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
4 Thank MikeSharby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

4 of us stayed here for 7 nights and had a fab time, just across the road from the metro straight into the centre of NY. Plenty of bars and restaurants within 2 mins walking distance of hotel. Check out Pete's Grill it has a very extensive menu, there really is something for everyone.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast great. The rooms were spacious and very clean, I woud go back to this hotel and definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#26 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#24 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#23 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City
#30 of 31 in Long Island City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
Fairfield Inn New York Long Isla...
#16 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Property: La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
Address: 3718 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101-1726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing