We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True ADK feeling”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blueberry Hill Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Waddington, New York
1 review
“True ADK feeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have read the other reviews and find them very judgmental. Unless you talked to Mike (the owner) how can you appreciate what he has done in just 2 years! You cannot compare this with other motels that have been in business for years. I have been the owner and sole caretaker of a motel and think Mike has done a great job in renovating this property in such a short time. Remember, he is only open May thru early Oct. We need to support his
dream and keep this true ADK property alive. Mike has made every attempt to provide a safe and comfortable environment for his guests. He is working on making it better and we have
to be patient and understanding. Quality takes time! I found the rooms to be neat and clean and very affordable. Mike is very hospitable and wants your stay to be the 1st of many. We will definitely be back and anxious to see his visions come to pass. Good Luck Mike!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our first parents weekend at Long Lake Camp. This was a very basic motel which to me is as close to camping as I would like to get. The room was very clean and the bed (newly replaced) was fairly comfortable. The shower was tiny but at least the water was hot. There was a TV in the room but it only served as a vehicle for watching movies on the DVD player. There is no cable or satellite TV to watch but we were really only in the room to sleep so that was no big deal. We were told there was WiFi but it was not working for us. Mike, the owner, could not have been friendlier. It was obvious that he took great pride in making sure all of his guests were comfortable and had what they needed. He also provided a nice campfire area each night with Adirondack chairs to relax around the fire.

If you are looking for a clean, basic place to stay in Long Lake and you don't need any amenities, this place fits the bill.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new bed. The owner is in the process of replacing all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hricikp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

So I am probably in between the prior two reviews. It certainly was not horrible but not much better than acceptable either. It is very old and not on the water (most of the other local hotels are) without any easy access to the water. Prices are basically all the same so I personally would much prefer to be on or near the water. No TVs, and at least for me, no DVD player. Room was good sized, with a fan that was adequate in the weather I experienced, road can be noisy during day but not at night. Bed was comfortable, it is just so basic that it can be a little depressing, again clean and bed was fine but otherwise . . . WiFi did not really work but I suspect that is true everywhere up here. This would not be my first choice but if other places were full, it would do.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bostontodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Mike is the essence of a hotelier. The guest is made to feel at home and he does whatever he can including sleeping in the barn, giving up his own bed to accommodate a guest. It is rustic and very basic accommodations, but it is clean and had a new comfy queen bed. However the metal shower is a bit small but functional and Mike says they will be replaced soon. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank donseve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I'm unsure who is writing these reviews, but they either have virtual reality googles or very low standards. This motel is NOT NICE and should be avoided at all costs. In fact, my old half declared it the worst place he has EVER stayed.

The owner was not around when we arrived. (We waited at least 3 hours before he turned up, and we arrived at the agreed time.) The carpets are ratty, the bedspreads suspect, the wifi doesn't work, the televisions only play movies, but the bathroom was the icing on the cake. It contained mold, dirt, grime, many "quick fixes" and the door didn't shut.

In short, AVOID.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank londongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dansville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Mike is the best motel owner ever. He is very accommodating and personable. He is always there to help with any request. Mike and is place make is all about the journey. Mike and Blueberry Hill make for a great ADK experience.

Room Tip: Everything was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hookmeister15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Baltimore, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here during our recent motorcycle trip. The accommodations were great. Mike, the owner, had a bonfire set up and ready to go. He was there to help us with any request he had. The stay was wonderful and very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirk94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Lake
23.6 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
23.7 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
21.5 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blueberry Hill Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blueberry Hill Motel

Property: Blueberry Hill Motel
Address: 572 Deerland Rd, Rte 28N/30, Long Lake, NY 12847-2311
Region: United States > New York > Long Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing