We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ADK family spot”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Long Lake and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Motel Long Lake is a gem. Meticulously maintained, attention to detail, and beautiful location. Really nice beach and swimming dock for adults and children. Free canoe and kayak use. Motel rooms are large, cozy and spotless. View from screened porch is a bonus. Short canoe trip across lake to public beach with diving board and small water slide dock. Town is quaint, few restaurants and shops, etc. Owner operated family on site makes folks feel welcomed. A+ rating in my book.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

This summer was our third trip to Motel Long Lake. We first visited 7 years a go. It is a wonderful place for a family, a couple or a big group (we usually travel with 12 to 15 people). The newly renovated cabins are great, clean, bright and inviting. Most cabins have a lake view and a few sit right on the water. Cabins come with a grill and some typr of outdoor patio or porch. I loved that the cabin had a dishwasher, coffee pot, and stove so we could cook often at home. The beach area is always well kept. Chairs are provided as well as a few fire pits for night time campfires. There are canoes and kayaks on site and all you have to do is sign them out, no rental cost!!! There is a small grassy area with a swing set that is great for smaller children. The owners are wonderful. I saw the entire staff working round the clock on the grounds. If you need clean towels or other items such as garbage bags or toilet paper you can simply stop at the front desk and they will give it to you. Each cabin has a parking space very close so unpacking all f your stuff is easy!

Things to think about...
Bring beach towels, bath towels are provided.

The Refridgerators are not full size so dont bring too much frozen or cold items.

Grills require small propane canisters.

If you are planning on havring a few cocktails during your vacation, it's better to bring it with you. The few stores that have beer or alcohol are expensive.

There are limited restaurants in town, but The Cellar is excellent, great pizza as well as other items!

It gets cool at night, some times VERY cool so pack a pair of long pants and a sweatshirt!

We will definetly be back soon!

Room Tip: The Sunset and the Haven are a good size for a family of 4 and are right near the water. The Owls n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at this place many times through the years - over a span of 17 years and this past visit was the best by far. The amenities, accomodations, services (now including Internet service), cleanliness, etc. are ALL really excellent now and you can tell that the new owners really have made a difference and are very nice people. I felt like at home for the first time in the past 17 years of staying here - the new owners have taken this place light years beyond where it used to be and now, as opposed to be a "I might stay here again" type of place - it has catapulted into a "MUST STAY HERE AGAIN" type of place. WOW - I was sooooo pleasantly surprised. Another nice thing about this place is that you can walk to town - Stewarts, Long Lake Diner, Adirondack Hotel, beach, etc. It is deceiving and seems far from here, but you can be to any of those places in 10-15 minutes walking - good exercise, fresh air and no worries about having a cocktail or wine and then driving (and no worries about bears - too close to town and too many lights for them).

Room Tip: Get a Cabin for the extra $$ of get the room on the very end near the beach - well worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank STEBAY711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I want to thank the owner and her family for their wonderful hospitality. We really felt welcomed here.

We stayed in cabin #21. We were only staying a few days and we were happy to have been given the opportunity to stay in a cabin which are normally rented for the entire week. I could go into details about the cabin but it's easier for you to just look at the web site. Everything was exactly as you see it - except for the TV which has been replaced with a flat screen with DVD player. http://motellonglake.com/contentpage.php?page=cottages_bunkhouse

The grounds are well kept and maintained. The beach area is big and there are lots of chairs. One really nice feature is the canoe and kayaks which are available to use for free.

Also, I really appreciated the free wi-fi. Cell phone service is pretty marginal throughout the entire area so plan ahead if you need to have a working smartphone during your trip.

We would definitely stay here again if we're in the area. You should not hesitate to stay here as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jjoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Great location. Perfect place to bring our young children - there was plenty for them to do. The cabins are small but have been recently updated, are comfortable, and clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westvalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Once you see the panoramic views as you drive in, you are hooked! Friendly owners greet you and make sure your stay is comforable. We stayed at one of the renovated cottages and loved
every minute of it. Clean, charming with all the amenities needed to enjoy your visit. Kayaks and
canoes are available for paddling on Long Lake.....no charge! Hammocks, beach and lounge chairs bekon you to relax and soak up the sun. We have already booked for next year...a slice of nirvana!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We have vacationed up at Long lake for the past 3 years. The people are always very friendly and accomodating!! With a toddler and a 7 year old its nice to be able to keep them busy and with a fishing dock, kayaks, playground, pavillion and soccer area, its easy to do! The employees at the local business' are always helpful and friendly too!! We look forward to going again this summer!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissastrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Lake
24.3 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
174 reviews
24 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
75 reviews
2.5 mi away
Long View Lodge
Long View Lodge
#4 of 5 in Long Lake
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Long Lake and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Long Lake and Cottages

Address: 51 Dock Lane, PO Box 675, Long Lake, NY 12847
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Price Range: £62 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide a quiet, relaxing atmosphere filled with beautiful scenery, fun the whole family can enjoy. We are located directly on the shore of Long Lake and offer 8 motel rooms, 15 cottages, a private beach, fire pits, two docks, free canoes and kayaks for our guests, a gazebo with games, and immediate access to the great outdoors of the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Long Lake And Cottages Hotel Long Lake
Hotel Long Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing