We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family tradition”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shamrock Motel & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A family tradition”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We've come to the Shamrock for years...my son the toddler who yelled at the chipmunks now watches his own son do the same. It's been great every time...swimming, boats, lawn games, inside game room...a great safe place for kids. Our family has had short motel stays and long cabin stays and never had a complaint. Last week I comfortably used my laptop inside the cabin and on its screen porch without a flicker of a problem. We've added several new family members over the years and all of us coming from two continents look forward to getting together in Long Lake and checking in with the nice owners.
Love the people, the location and the place!

Room Tip: We like the view from the cottages on the hill (especially the sunset!) but the ones by the beach ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    31
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We arrived from Raquette Lake in the dark, so were unprepared for the size of the Shamrock property. Situated on the shores of Long Lake, with its own sandy beach and gentle waters, the Shamrock offers both winterized and summer accommodations. Our immaculately clean motel room was nicely appointed with a small refrigerator, wireless internet, and a TV with more stations than we expected in the North Woods.

When we registered I browsed their bulletin board and found a picture of an elderly couple who looked as though they were in front of a pier on the barrier island where we live. Beate (co-owner) and I connected in the morning and marveled at the fact that her in-laws were in fact on Anna Maria Island. Later we met her husband Tom. They were both so nice and promised to look us up when they come to Florida.

As we were expected at Lake Champlain for lunch, we didn't have a lot of time to enjoy the numerous outdoor amenities, but Beate gave us a golf-cart tour of the property and private beach. The grounds are as well cared for as the rooms. They have great pride in the Shamrock and it shows.

I hope to return to the Shamrock and stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a motel-type room, which was perfect for one night. However, for a longer stay, I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CBaker34217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I have traveled all over the Adirondacks. We found Shamrock on the internet
it is far better than we expected to see. The room was updated, not like some of the other motels in town. The property is quite large with plenty of activities to enjoy. We especially enjoyed the view from our room overlooking the sunset and the call of the loons. The hosts were ever so friendly and informative on what the area has to offer. We especially loved just relaxing on
their large well groomed beach. It was just what we wanted for our Adirondack vacation.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Great choice for a vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lori b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a wonderful four-night stay at the Shamrock. The property is beautiful and full of kid-friendly activities. We enjoyed the game room, outdoor sporting equipment and swing set, and a fantastic half-day canoeing on the lake. Our motel room was large enough to be comfortable for a family of four. We'd definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The family that has run the property for three generations does a great job. We are considering a week stay next time in a cottage. Motel rooms are small, only accommodating a single and double bed, and bathrooms really tiny, with pocket doors only. But they are clean and in good condition. Otherwise the place deserves a 5 star rating. The beach, dock, boats, outdoor fireplace, playground and game area are nicely kept up, with rules only to ensure some quiet hours for everyone to sleep. The outdoor areas encourage chatting with other guests, who were as nice as the owners. Location is beautiful, and a short walk takes you to the village of Long Lake. Expect it to be busy in the summer months, and book ahead.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week. We especially enjoyed the long beach to sunbathe, swim and fish. The room was meticulous, comfortable, and had all amenities! The owners really
know how to treat their guests. They offer so much fun on the property with a game room,
boats, and shuffle board. We had a fun relaxing time. Great for couples or families. We hope to go back to rent a cottage in the fall. I would recommended this spot as a great getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Shamrock Motel for two nights in late June. This is an old fashioned motel along the road going south out of Long Lake. The same family has owned it for 3 generations and has done a complete remodeling job. Rooms in the motel, particularly the bath, are small but very clean; the shower was tiled and spic and span. The wife was born in Germany and is very nice to deal with and, I believe, has the German characteristic to keep things neat and clean. There is no AC, which surprised us, but the proprietor was correct when she said we would not need it. Open windows and the ceiling fan made for very comfortable sleeping. The location is great to be able to drive south to the Adirondack Museum in Blue Mt. Lake and Great Sagamore Camp at Raquette Lake and to drive north to The Wild Center in Tupper Lake. Good breakfast at The Diner and dinner at the Adirondack Hotel both right in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lwkempka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Lake
23.7 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
45 reviews
24.7 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
161 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
The Point
The Point
#3 of 9 in Saranac Lake
82 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Motel & Cottages

Property: Shamrock Motel & Cottages
Address: 1055 Deerland Rd, PO Box 205, Long Lake, NY 12847-1803
Region: United States > New York > Long Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family business since 1928. All units renovated within the last few years. Spacious grounds, pristine sunset views, and a private sandy beach just outside cottages, motel, or efficiency units. Amenities include safe swimming, docks, boats for rent, satellite TV, WIFI, firepit, picnic tables, barbecues, Laundromat, Game/Great room, and lawn games (volleyball, horseshoes, shuffleboard). Centrally located on the Adirondack Trail Scenic Byway. 500 feet to Mt Sabattis Recreation area (tennis, playground, special events). A few hundred feet further to village shops, churches, restaurants, and municipal buildings. We speak English, German, & French. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Motel & Cottages Hotel Long Lake
Shamrock Motel And Cottages
Shamrock Hotel Long Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing