We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 AM and wide awake”
Review of The Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lyons Falls
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 AM and wide awake”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel is very nice and clean, and the staff is friendly, but I was blasted awake at 2 AM by the person above me making noise. I've complained twice, and the front desk person says she's talked to the person, but to no avail. Apparently, a bunch of workmen are temporarily living here, and, until the work is done, I would avoid booking room 119.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    72
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
120
58
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed here for a week while working at a plant in the area. No issues, friendly staff and the rooms were clean and quiet. Boondocks restaurant and pub is walking distance from hotel and the food is reasonably priced and good. I would come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufusthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights and were in room 104, next to the ice and vending machines on the 1st (ground) floor. All was well, until the first night someone started filling a bustbin with ice, at 11.30am. This is dispite the "Quiet time at 10pm" notice on the back of our bedroom door, maybe they should have some on the vending machines!! They started filling more ice dustbins again at 7.30am the next morning.

The noise was so bad we changed rooms the next day; they were very good about it and helps with our stuff.

Aside from the ice machine, it was pretty good all in all. The car park was just a rocky waste land in front of the building, which looks a bit rubbish, but does the job. THe Boondocks bar is next door to the hotel and was good. Friendly with nice-ish food, got seated quickly and no real issues at all.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near an ice machine!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

The Edge Hotel was an awesome place to stay. The rooms were extremely clean, the staff were very personable, friendly, and helpful, and the Internet connection was very good. My manager recommended this hotel when I was on a business trip. I also like that the hotel has a small gift shop that showcases items that are made locally in the area. The staff recommended the Croghan Candy Kitchen, which was a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pxax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We just got back from spending one night at The Edge Hotel while our dog underwent a medical procedure in Lowville. We had been driving since 4am and the staff was kind enough to let us check into our room right after we dropped our dog off at 8am despite the fact that check in isn't until 3pm. Needless to say we were EXHAUSTED and thrilled to be able to just go to sleep.

The place was quiet and clean and staff was very, very friendly. Great little breakfast included and the restaurant on the property (Boondocks) was also very quaint and delicious. Overall, it's no Marriot or Hilton or anything of the like, but given the small town location and very few other hotels in the area, we couldn't ask for much more than the great service we got here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8Pawprints479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The Edge Hotel is top notch in cleanliness, service and atmosphere. Definitely far and above the area competition. Have stayed there many times and will continue to reserve in the future. Boondocks is a nice addition for convenience but River Valley Inn just down the road has the best food in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Loved the hotel!!! The service was great. The price was very affordable and included great accommodations. Having a great new restaurant right (Boondocks) was just the icing on the cake! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah3322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyons Falls
9.3 mi away
The Lodge at Headwaters
The Lodge at Headwaters
#1 of 1 in Boonville
133 reviews
19.7 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#9 of 12 in Old Forge
185 reviews
21.0 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices

Been to The Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edge Hotel

Property: The Edge Hotel
Address: 3952 State Route 12, Lyons Falls, NY 13368-1919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lyons Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lyons Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beautiful Adirondack and Tug Hill regions is The Edge Hotel, one of Lewis County’s greatest treasures.Whether you are looking for an exciting weekend with the family or just a simple getaway for you and that special someone, this one of a kind retreat offers many unique characteristics that are sure to provide you with an experience unlike anything you have ever encountered. The charming Adirondack décor enhances the inviting atmosphere that instantly imparts a feeling of rest and relaxation, while the endless amenities and services offered put your mind at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edge Hotel Lyons Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing