We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great find”
Review of The Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lyons Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Great find”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Great place to stay while snowmobiling. centrally located great bar and restaurant out front. Best place around for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodfella999z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    72
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
117
57
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Super clean. What a lovely place. I went here to see Memarie Gayle and Chris Calleja play at the Boondocks Restaurant and Bar (directly in front of the hotel) so the obvious choice to stay was The Edge Hotel. I read the reviews beforehand which eased my mind. And now I am so pleased, I have to write one too.

The place is very nice. It looks like a nice lodge someplace in the Adirondacks. The lobby has an inviting fireplace and has a "gift shop". Actually the gifts are for sale and placed all over the lobby. It is very tastefully decorated. Check in was a breeze and the staff was very friendly. The place was clean!

We requested a quiet room (mainly away from the ice machines). The halls, the rooms all were immaculate. We traveled with friends and she said she believes this was the cleanest hotel she ever stayed in. The rooms were roomy. Bathrooms stocked nicely with the basics - soap and hairdryer. it has a packet of makeup removing facial wipes. In the shower is two dispensers for shampoo and body wash. My husband and I both thought the shower was good with plenty of hot water. I read previously that the beds were too hard. Nope. They are firm, but still comfortable. Everyone in our party agreed on this.

The only thing that was not the best was you can hear your neighbor's television if you have the doors between the rooms that make the rooms adjoining rooms. Our neighbors were quite early risers (5 am) and had the TV on early. After a late night at Boondocks, this bugged me a little. My husband was oblivious to this, but I did easily get back to sleep.

We ended up speaking with one of the owners during our stay just to chat. What a nice person. Very enjoyable conversation. She told us during snowmobile season the place is hopping. They are right on the Edge of a main snowmobile trail. Thursday - Sunday the place is booked solid. The Boondocks Restaurant and Bar is packed with snowmobile riders seeking good food and a great time there. They have entertainment there very often - so they will find the good time and good company. They even have pegs up on the beams. When we asked what they are there for - the reply was "snowmobile helmets!"

My friend we were with - he's a funny guy. He asked in The Edge Hotel "When does the shuttle leave for Boondocks Bar/Restaurant?" That got a good laugh because they are so close to each other. She said you just cross the parking lot and up the small incline and you are there. When he asked how will we get back to the hotel and the answer was "just roll down the hill". Hahaha. Well, they must have heard this many times before, because when we were in the bar he asked the bartender this same question and again got "just roll down the hill". Hahaha. Here we thought we were so original. This just shows how welcoming and friendly the people who work here (and live here in Lyons Falls) are.

Breakfast in the morning was good. The coffee was good and they have adequate size 12 ounce cups. There are choice of toasts, danish, English muffins, bagel with cream cheese, p-nut butter, jellies etc. There are cold and hot cereals. Fruit. And those flippy things that you can make your own waffles. Not a lot of protein, but with the cream cheese and p-nut butter - that works just fine. It's certainly enough to get your day going in the morning.

Now i know why this place is so clean. While we were leaving (checkout at 1100) they have a good number of people cleaning the rooms. That is why they are spotless. Everyone we ran into were very friendly.

If you stay at The Edge, you can't go wrong with Boondocks Restaurant and Bar. You just walk across the parking lot and you are there. New as of last year (2010) it is another beautiful and inviting building with a rustic feel. There is a bar side and a restaurant side. The restaurant has a running creek right through the middle. Very nice. The bathrooms - again with these owners - immaculate. Even the guys we were with reported clean bathrooms. Helpful and friendly staff also. We stayed on the bar side and ate dinner there. I had the Over The Edge Chicken sandwich. My husband had their Tangled Philly. Our friends split a quesadilla and salad (LARGE is the salad). We all had absolutely no complaints about the food - very good and tasty - good size portions (my husband's philly was HUGE).

Check out was a breeze.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel is very nice and clean, and the staff is friendly, but I was blasted awake at 2 AM by the person above me making noise. I've complained twice, and the front desk person says she's talked to the person, but to no avail. Apparently, a bunch of workmen are temporarily living here, and, until the work is done, I would avoid booking room 119.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed here for a week while working at a plant in the area. No issues, friendly staff and the rooms were clean and quiet. Boondocks restaurant and pub is walking distance from hotel and the food is reasonably priced and good. I would come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufusthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights and were in room 104, next to the ice and vending machines on the 1st (ground) floor. All was well, until the first night someone started filling a bustbin with ice, at 11.30am. This is dispite the "Quiet time at 10pm" notice on the back of our bedroom door, maybe they should have some on the vending machines!! They started filling more ice dustbins again at 7.30am the next morning.

The noise was so bad we changed rooms the next day; they were very good about it and helps with our stuff.

Aside from the ice machine, it was pretty good all in all. The car park was just a rocky waste land in front of the building, which looks a bit rubbish, but does the job. THe Boondocks bar is next door to the hotel and was good. Friendly with nice-ish food, got seated quickly and no real issues at all.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near an ice machine!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

The Edge Hotel was an awesome place to stay. The rooms were extremely clean, the staff were very personable, friendly, and helpful, and the Internet connection was very good. My manager recommended this hotel when I was on a business trip. I also like that the hotel has a small gift shop that showcases items that are made locally in the area. The staff recommended the Croghan Candy Kitchen, which was a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pxax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We just got back from spending one night at The Edge Hotel while our dog underwent a medical procedure in Lowville. We had been driving since 4am and the staff was kind enough to let us check into our room right after we dropped our dog off at 8am despite the fact that check in isn't until 3pm. Needless to say we were EXHAUSTED and thrilled to be able to just go to sleep.

The place was quiet and clean and staff was very, very friendly. Great little breakfast included and the restaurant on the property (Boondocks) was also very quaint and delicious. Overall, it's no Marriot or Hilton or anything of the like, but given the small town location and very few other hotels in the area, we couldn't ask for much more than the great service we got here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8Pawprints479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyons Falls
9.3 mi away
The Lodge at Headwaters
The Lodge at Headwaters
#1 of 1 in Boonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
21.0 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
19.7 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices

Been to The Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edge Hotel

Property: The Edge Hotel
Address: 3952 State Route 12, Lyons Falls, NY 13368-1919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lyons Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lyons Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beautiful Adirondack and Tug Hill regions is The Edge Hotel, one of Lewis County’s greatest treasures.Whether you are looking for an exciting weekend with the family or just a simple getaway for you and that special someone, this one of a kind retreat offers many unique characteristics that are sure to provide you with an experience unlike anything you have ever encountered. The charming Adirondack décor enhances the inviting atmosphere that instantly imparts a feeling of rest and relaxation, while the endless amenities and services offered put your mind at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edge Hotel Lyons Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing