We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very very good Indian food”
Review of Rani Mahal

Rani Mahal
Ranked #22 of 83 Restaurants in Mamaroneck
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very very good Indian food”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Myself , Hubby & 5 yr old daughter loves their food. Their buffet is amazing, and not your typical fare either. they include quite a few number of top shelf food that you would normally only get on special occasions. Briyanni is constantly on the menu and shrimp! We have never had a bad meal here. The price is average. when you add drinks it does go up, other than that it is very affordable. Teh bathrooms are clean,and decor in teh restaurant is pretty. My little one loves the naan.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamaitaly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT INDIAN IN MAMARONECK,NY”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Rani is an excellent Indian restaurant in Mamaroneck. But you would never know it exists.
It is a (for the very most part) a destanation place. It is off the parking lot from Mamaroneck Ave.
I have been a customer for about 8 years. I knew good Indian from ok Indian.
The food is always very good, service is very good & they never rush you.
Nothing negative to say.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BILL U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Excellent!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Excellent food, wonderful warm staff. Huge selection of both vegetarian (for me!) and non-vegetarian (my husband) classic Indian foods. They do a great lunch buffet with many choices, all fresh + hot. Definitely one of the better Indian places in the area!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikkiD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian food”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I mostly do take out and everything is delicious. Worth a try. Last time I actually sat in the restaurant (dinner with friends), the service was good, though the place itself does not have the best atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly, comfortable -- love it”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I'm quite surprised to see the less-than-flattering reviews. My wife and I have been going regularly to this restaurant since its inception, we LOVE IT, and we always look forward eagerly to our next visit. This is excellent Indian food -- tasty, fun, and healthy. The service has always been both prompt and friendly, and the decor and atmosphere are peaceful and beautiful. And it has always appeared to us that our views are widely shared: literally everybody there always seems happy and pleased. An additional plus is the parking situation. For most of the Mamaroneck Ave. restaurants, you often have to drive around and around; Rani Mahal has an additional entrance behind the avenue, usually with easy parking. Please try Rani Mahal and judge for yourself. I'm betting you'll be very glad you did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rani Mahal also viewed

Mamaroneck, Westchester County
Larchmont, Westchester County
 
New Rochelle, Westchester County
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
 
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
 

Been to Rani Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing