We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Il Castello

Il Castello
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Castello is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 83 Restaurants in Mamaroneck
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Waverly Ave
Transit: Metro north
Description: Authentic Italian fine Dining. We offer gourmet Italian cuisine in a nice atmosphere. Everything we serve is homemade and made to order. Our seafood is purchased fresh daily. We offer an extensive wine list to compliment our cuisine. Il Castello is a restaurant where savory dishes arrive at your table and are prepared with love and passion like the true Italian tradition. Quality and freshness are brought to a superior level and you can be assured that you have not only a wonderful meal, but an unforgettable experience. You may choose from a wide variety of American and Italian fine wines while enjoying a full bar setting. At Il Castello we handle all private dining needs for your parties, cocktail receptions, business meetings, anniversaries, intimate weddings, and rehearsal dinners. In addition, we can arrange all the "extras" that make an event successful: We invite you to stop by for lunch or dinner and come to experience the true Italian tradition of hospitality.
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We ate at Il Castello on Christmas Day for dinner. It's a lovely restaurant in a quaint town and is one not to be missed. Everything was wonderful from the food to the service. They aim to please and they certainly did that with us. They also have valet parking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank apinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

When you walk in the door you feel like home . People greet you and welcome you . It's warm and cozy . Everything looks amazing Attentive service and nice atmosphere ..Would strongly recommend a visit when looking for an upscale northen Italian meal . "

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christinasmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“superb food in a busy environment”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Excellent food prepared from perfect ingredients. Every inch of space is used in this small restaurant filled with tables rather close together. The management and waiters create an atmosphere where every guest is appreciated and taken good care of, no one is forgotten despite the restaurant being completely full. Excellent staff training and high morale pays off! We loved the food, clams on the half shell, bronzino, sole, veal scaloppini, artichokes, every dish was perfect. Only issue: is that with so much activity around you it's hard to carry on the gentle art of conversation. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank upintheairglobally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

It was the first time for us at this restaurant. We had been at a theater show nearby and this restaurant was a convenient place to have dinner. We were nicely welcomed by the host and who gave us the menu and told us about some specials for the the day. We ordered from the specials as appetizer clams with mussels in wine sauce which were very flavorful. For entree we had veal valdostano and grilled halibut. Both of the entrees were nicely done. A red Montepulciano d'Abruzzo de Zaccagnini wine complimented beautifully our meal. For dessert we I had canoli artistically presented along with capuccino. The decor was very italian with nice paintings on the walls. A gentle music played on the backround. The service was very good and attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reeldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fine Italian dining!”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Consistent warm and friendly service, as well as superb food and great atmosphere is what keeps us coming back to this fabulous Italian restaurant.

Everything they do at this place is with a touch of "family." From the first friendly greeting at the door to the bus person asking you if they may clear the table.

Best part of our last visit was witnessing one of the staff walk an elderly person out to her car, in the snow, and then returning to work as if it was part of the daily routine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank New_York_Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Castello also viewed

Mamaroneck, Westchester County
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
 
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
Larchmont, Westchester County
 

Been to Il Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing